We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #52 of 108 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“lovely place”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

we stayed at the Hippo for a few days a couple of weeks ago and had a great time.

The room was large and clean. Nice bathroom.

It was quiet and the staff was helpful.

the only bad thing would be the pool area.. it could do with some improvement.

we tried one of the restaurants downstairs, GREEN and it was great, some amazing pizzas.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicago_Ludwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    133
    43
    4
    4
See reviews for
26
199
25
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

There isn't much else I can add to what the others reviewers had to say - the location is very central, the rooms are large and well appointed, the staff very friendly and helpful. Loved having a coffee maker,small refrigerator and computer in the room! We also loved having the choice of restaurants on our doorstep but please note that they are very popular and noisy so if this is an issue I would suggest booking a room on the back side of the hotel. Our room was right above Green's and every evening near midnight they brought in all the outside furniture and every morning around 7:00 they put it back out...this served as our wake-up call each morning.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank binkybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

What a lovely olace to have a stay. It has 4/5 restaurants literally on it's doorstep, Mexican, Japanese, Pizzeria, mainstream and Ricks American cafe with Moroccan food as well.
The rooms are light, large are beautifully appointed.You have access to your own in room PC as well as a satellite TV and music centre.
You are 30 mins from the airport, 10 mins by car from Table Mountain, and a 35 minute walk to the V and A Waterfront with all it's shpos and attractions.Long Street with it's bars and eatiers is only a 10 minute stroll away.
We found the staff to be friendly, Irish charm, and full of information on Cape Towns attractions.
Oh there is very secure under cover car parking.
We enjoyed our visit to the hotel and would certainly rebook when next in Cape Town

Room Tip: all the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finian29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed at hippo for a couple days and had a great stay! staff is very nice and helpful!
Rooms and spacious and clean! Location was very good, you can easily walk into the city bowl but there are also a few nice bars, restaurants and breakfast spots around the corner.
Would def go back!

Room Tip: Maybe a room at the end of the hallway. Our was close to reception and a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I stayed at the hippo while on a business trip. The room was very modern and spacious with the largest most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. It's located close to plenty of bars and restaurants. The room had wifi and tea making facilities. It was extremely clean and well kept. The room was turned down every day and tided up.

My only complaint was that the wardrobe doors are sliding and extremely heavy and hard to push and pull. My colleagues also staying at the hippo were disturbed every night by the noise of what they thought was either the bins being collected right outside their windows or the sound of a large gate opening.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pink_Sparkle_No7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Nice spacious rooms. The hotel is in a busy part of the city so when the bars close late at night it can get quite noisy. Everything was very clean. There lots of shops and restaurants nearby. Free wifi was a plus. I loved the minimalist decor of the rooms which were simple yet comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frieda6325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed at the Hippo over New years and the setting was pefect. It's in a fun neighbohood where there are shops and restaurants all around. Service was vey good and the hotel was very nice. Spacious rooms and nice decor. Very clean hotel! The food at the restaurant was vey good... We would go back anytime. Pefect for a couple who likes boutique hotels and tendy places.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anik17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Thank you so much for the great review and rememebring your experience with us from months back. We are delighted to know we made such a good impression on you.

We strive to keep up the good service and promise to stay in the same location for you to come back and enjoy! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Antrim Villa
#24 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#38 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#36 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
City Bowl
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
#47 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Boutique Hotel

Property: Hippo Boutique Hotel
Address: 5-9 Park Road Gardens | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hippo Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the hub of Cape Town's trendy cafe culture when staying at Hippo Boutique Hotel. This popular hotel boasts 20 standard rooms and 5 exclusive lofts - all spacious air-conditioned rooms are equipped with King sized beds, designer furniture, stainless steel kitchenettes, complimentary parking on the premises as well as 24hour wireless internet access keeping you connected 24 hours a day!On the ground floor you'll find a choice of 3 excellent restaurants catering to every palette, from the best burgers at Jerry's to authentic Thai cuisine at Simply Asia finishing with a Mexican fiesta at Fat Cactus. Hippo is conveniently situated close to the centre of town - an ideal base from where you can explore all Cape Town has to offer you! Our team is well known for their exceptional customer service and are always ready with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hippo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Boutique Cape Town
Hippo Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing