We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #53 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

You can't beat the location of hippo boutique if you're looking for a place to stay in the buzz of cape town. Lovely sushi restaurant next door as well as tons of cafes and shops in the surrounding area. The rooms were pretty average for a 4 star hotel - exactly what I'd expect, definitely nice and clean and comfortable but not anything extraordinary. The staff was pretty helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shubhada H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
There are newer reviews for Hippo Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

My sister and I recently spent a night in the hotel (it was the night before her wedding). Both of us stay in Cape Town, very close to the hotel so we know the area really well.

We were looking for something special for the night, and this was PERFECT! We were so surprised by this hotel and loved our stay. The rooms are very spacious. My sister travels for work all the time and couldn't stop saying how much she would enjoy her stays overseas if the rooms were so spacious and the hotel was so central.

It's central in a good way = we are locals, so we can say this! You are right next to some of Cape Town's best hang out spots we're been been for dinner numerous times (Fat Cactus and Rick's Cafe)

Overall, we really enjoyed this stay and I will recommend it to anyone. The staff were also great and very helpful.

Thanks Hippo!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I really enjoyed this modern, clean, friendly, and convenient hotel and will definitely book it again when I return to Cape Town. It was quiet. Rooms are well appointed but simple. Staff are fantastic and go out of their way to help a person with directions/information and to make a person feel at home. Loved the heated floors in the bathroom. The Hippo is within walking distance to lots of good restaurants and if you're feeling energetic, you can walk all the way to the Waterfront. Taxi back from the Waterfront cost around 55 Rand. The Fat Cactus restaurant next door makes a delicious signature dish and traditional margaritas. I can recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globaltraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

The location was perfect for us...wanted to get away from the touristy waterfront, and this neighborhood was great. Lots and lots of restaurants, bars and cafes within easy walk. Staff was super helpful in organizing tours and taxis. The executive suite loft was well appointed and fun. It's not a five star luxury resort, but if you are looking for a fun and interesting alternative at a reasonable price then this is a good choice.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

Great little place in Cape Town. Terrific location with a great walk down into town. Rooms clean and modern, bed very comfortable, staff friendly and helpful. Thoroughly recommended will certainly stay again

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights, wanting a centrally located hotel with modern amenities.

The Hippo fitted the bill perfectly. Excellent location, free secure parking and free wi-fi. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

A very good option.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John5672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We have just spent 4days at the Hippo and thought it was excellent. It fitted the bill nicely for what we wanted to achieve, not stuffy at all but really high standards where you can taste a bit of the Real Cape Town. It is in a really smart, trendy area - lots of bars, Deli's, restaurants and shops. When we arrived we were upgraded to a suite apartment- the apartments are well appointed and modern. The staff were helpful and friendly even offering us beach towels, sorted car hire and bent over backwards to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I could not recommend this hotel enough and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pennylane1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#35 of 111 in Cape Town Central
994 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#41 of 111 in Cape Town Central
212 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 111 in Cape Town Central
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,413 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#24 of 111 in Cape Town Central
523 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#39 of 111 in Cape Town Central
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Boutique Hotel

Address: 5-9 Park Road Gardens | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £52 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hippo Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the hub of Cape Town's trendy cafe culture when staying at Hippo Boutique Hotel. This popular hotel boasts 20 standard rooms and 5 exclusive lofts - all spacious air-conditioned rooms are equipped with King sized beds, designer furniture, stainless steel kitchenettes, complimentary parking on the premises as well as 24hour wireless internet access keeping you connected 24 hours a day!On the ground floor you'll find a choice of 3 excellent restaurants catering to every palette, from the best burgers at Jerry's to authentic Thai cuisine at Simply Asia finishing with a Mexican fiesta at Fat Cactus. Hippo is conveniently situated close to the centre of town - an ideal base from where you can explore all Cape Town has to offer you! Our team is well known for their exceptional customer service and are always ready with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hippo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Boutique Cape Town
Hippo Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing