We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in lively neighbourhood ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #54 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

The Hippo is hip and hot. Young people at the reception are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are modern, spacious and all different. Under the hotel are 3 restaurants this makes the hotel also very noisy if you have room on the street side! We stayed in the weekend and had some bad nights. The hop on hop off. bus stop is close by and a lot of attractions are close by (long street green street markets, company gardens, district six). To go to the Waterfront take a taxi for apr. 75 rand. The Hippo is also a business hotel with complentary pc in your room and free wifi all around.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank VeraLaura1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
There are newer reviews for Hippo Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

My friend and I had the pleasure of staying for 4 nights at the Hippo Boutique Hotel and loved our experience. The hotel is perfectly located with lots of great restaurants and sights within walking distance and not more than a 10 minute drive to any of the major tourist attractions in town.

Our room was large, attractively decorated and spotlessly clean. It faced the street and was over a popular Mexican restaurant - definitely not for those who must have quiet at all times. The noise didn't disturb us as we're both city girls and the vibe was fun.

The hotel management team was fantastic. They booked us tours, provided great restaurant recommendations and interesting insight. Warda was especially helpful and went out of her way to ensure our visit to South Africa was nothing short of amazing! Thanks to all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Hippo, as it name may imply, is a modern, hip,"minimalist" hotel in Cape Town. If you like unique, stylish, modern boutique hotels, then this is a great place for you to stay. I loved my stay there and cannot say enough about the helpfulness of the staff. I stayed in a king room, which was a very good size with a couch sitting area and a large bathroom. There is no restaurant in the hotel itself but though an arrangement with two adjacent hotels (literally right next to the hotel), you can have your meals there. One is Tex-Mex while the second restaurant is Italian. I ate at both and was completely satisfied. The hotel is not located in the CBD (about a 10-15 min cab ride) so if you are in town for business and the meetings are in the CBD, you may think about another hotel. If, however, you prefer to be in a livelier part of town with restaurants and more charm, then you should definitely consider the Hippo. I did have meetings in the CBD but the staff happily called for cabs, which always arrived within 10 minutes so for me, being out of the downtown area was not a problem at all (I actually specifically opted to be out of the CBD in a more active area). I definitely recommend the Hippo for any traveler who prefers a unique property with charm.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w. j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Great location close to Klouf street and nightlife/bars, in a safer area. Apartments and guest rooms are modern and spacious, but layout of hotel/lodging is a little awkward, layed out more as apartments. No breakfast or bonus amenities. Front desk staff Ryka was awesome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank boileralum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

You can't beat the location of hippo boutique if you're looking for a place to stay in the buzz of cape town. Lovely sushi restaurant next door as well as tons of cafes and shops in the surrounding area. The rooms were pretty average for a 4 star hotel - exactly what I'd expect, definitely nice and clean and comfortable but not anything extraordinary. The staff was pretty helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shubhada H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My sister and I recently spent a night in the hotel (it was the night before her wedding). Both of us stay in Cape Town, very close to the hotel so we know the area really well.

We were looking for something special for the night, and this was PERFECT! We were so surprised by this hotel and loved our stay. The rooms are very spacious. My sister travels for work all the time and couldn't stop saying how much she would enjoy her stays overseas if the rooms were so spacious and the hotel was so central.

It's central in a good way = we are locals, so we can say this! You are right next to some of Cape Town's best hang out spots we're been been for dinner numerous times (Fat Cactus and Rick's Cafe)

Overall, we really enjoyed this stay and I will recommend it to anyone. The staff were also great and very helpful.

Thanks Hippo!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I really enjoyed this modern, clean, friendly, and convenient hotel and will definitely book it again when I return to Cape Town. It was quiet. Rooms are well appointed but simple. Staff are fantastic and go out of their way to help a person with directions/information and to make a person feel at home. Loved the heated floors in the bathroom. The Hippo is within walking distance to lots of good restaurants and if you're feeling energetic, you can walk all the way to the Waterfront. Taxi back from the Waterfront cost around 55 Rand. The Fat Cactus restaurant next door makes a delicious signature dish and traditional margaritas. I can recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globaltraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#35 of 111 in Cape Town Central
995 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#36 of 111 in Cape Town Central
213 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 111 in Cape Town Central
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,413 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 111 in Cape Town Central
525 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#39 of 111 in Cape Town Central
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Boutique Hotel

Address: 5-9 Park Road Gardens | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#50 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £59 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hippo Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the hub of Cape Town's trendy cafe culture when staying at Hippo Boutique Hotel. This popular hotel boasts 20 standard rooms and 5 exclusive lofts - all spacious air-conditioned rooms are equipped with King sized beds, designer furniture, stainless steel kitchenettes, complimentary parking on the premises as well as 24hour wireless internet access keeping you connected 24 hours a day!On the ground floor you'll find a choice of 3 excellent restaurants catering to every palette, from the best burgers at Jerry's to authentic Thai cuisine at Simply Asia finishing with a Mexican fiesta at Fat Cactus. Hippo is conveniently situated close to the centre of town - an ideal base from where you can explore all Cape Town has to offer you! Our team is well known for their exceptional customer service and are always ready with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hippo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Boutique Cape Town
Hippo Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing