We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Hotel and poor staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #52 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Ballito, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Noisy Hotel and poor staff”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My experience was not great. Firstly the staff forgot to return my drivers licence and credit card when I checked in, causing problems for me later in the day. Secondly the hotel is extremely noisy, and rooms badly designed. I was in room at end of passage far from reception, but could still hear phone ring and door bell go all night.
At 2:15am the night guard was obviously away as for 20minutes some poor guest was stuck outside dining doorbell, shouting, and trying to phone to get in - terrible!!!
When I wanted to check out and make my flight, the receptionist was not there (10am normal check out time?) and the assistant could not log in to the system so had to wait twenty minutes again.
For R1500 a night, there are far better hotels with far faster internet too (max speed 55kb/s)!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    137
    48
    4
    4
See reviews for
31
210
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have stayed at the Hippo many years ago and stayed again in December 2013 due to unforeseen circumstances dictating that we had to.

The positives:
- brilliant position
- lovely and large rooms
- friendly and helpful staff
- secure parking

The problems (and these have existed for a number of years which indicates hotel management's inability to resolve them:
- the noise factor (if you are given a street-facing room) is unbearable as the hotel is above two restaurants and a bar. Over weekends you will not get any sleep
- the wifi is flaky at best and most of the time was so slow that you could not even open e-mail. We resorted to our own mobile connections
- no hairdryer in the room
- the kitchenette allows you to make coffee and eat your take away on plates. It certainly does not allow for any level of self-catering.

Unfortunately these negatives are, in my mind, too significant to rate the hotel anything other than poor.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We really liked our room, the staff, and the free breakfast at the Hippo. Even better is it's location, close for walking to various neighborhoods and sights. They also have free wireless in the room and parking spots if you have a car.

Room Tip: There are bars/restaurants on the street side, so if noise bothers you at night, ask for one of back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huntersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Pros: Good location (in a busy, centrally located area), spacious room with kitchenette (all rooms face the back of the building), clean hardwood floors, friendly and helpful staff, laundry is charged by kilos (not per piece), free breakfast, free internet, free car parking, in-room slippers!

Cons: One night, a hotel staff opened our room door at 11:30PM, because he thought it was empty and he was going to give our room to a new check-in guest. That's not acceptable - 1) their system should show there is already someone in the room, 2) there should always be an internal lock so guests can lock from the inside. The bathroom is very out-of-date and needs a good scrub (the grout between the tiles are all black and disgusting). Each room has its own boiler for the bathroom hot water, so be prepared for cold water if you shower/take a bath longer than 15-20 mins! Hotels should always be able to support/supply unlimited hot water to all its rooms - I've never stayed at a hotel where hot water is something I need to worry about.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed for 6 nights at the Hippo; they gave us a studio with with the bedroom and bathroom in a mezzanine, and a large living room with (basic) cooking facilities. Fortunately we were at the back of the building with a stunning view of Table Mountain and away from what can be a noisy street. The decor is funky and you feel like you are in somebody's flat. They have secure parking which is a great advantage. The staff is very helpful. Only the breakfast at the adjacent Mano a mano is a bit of a let down. On Boxing Day,a s Mano a Mano was closed, we were given vouchers for the nearby Knead Bakery which is much better. The location is excellent as this feels like a residential neighbourhood but with all sort of facilities and very near the city centre.

Room Tip: Choose one in the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sebastian70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had a great stay at the Hippo Boutique Hotel - great room, very friendly staff and perfect location close to most attractions in Cape Town. Highly recommended! Many thanks to the Hippo team for making our stay perfect!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Markus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Afrique du Sud
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Hotel is located inside a residential building with restaurants on the ground level. Unusual set up for an hotel but we get used to. Rooms are very spacious & well equiped. You even have fridge, crockery & owen to cook. A good plan if you want to make a break with the restaurants.
There is no interesting views but private parking is very convenient.
The hotel is located in a good area of Cape Town, nearby you have stores available walking distances plus restaurants, coffee shops & more.
Going to Table mountain, waterfront & convention center is easy.
You have to know that hotel does not propose breakfast, you must go outside but the choice in the area is rich.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vuestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
986 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#38 of 109 in Cape Town Central
208 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 109 in Cape Town Central
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
819 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#39 of 109 in Cape Town Central
580 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Boutique Hotel

Property: Hippo Boutique Hotel
Address: 5-9 Park Road Gardens | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hippo Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the hub of Cape Town's trendy cafe culture when staying at Hippo Boutique Hotel. This popular hotel boasts 20 standard rooms and 5 exclusive lofts - all spacious air-conditioned rooms are equipped with King sized beds, designer furniture, stainless steel kitchenettes, complimentary parking on the premises as well as 24hour wireless internet access keeping you connected 24 hours a day!On the ground floor you'll find a choice of 3 excellent restaurants catering to every palette, from the best burgers at Jerry's to authentic Thai cuisine at Simply Asia finishing with a Mexican fiesta at Fat Cactus. Hippo is conveniently situated close to the centre of town - an ideal base from where you can explore all Cape Town has to offer you! Our team is well known for their exceptional customer service and are always ready with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hippo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Boutique Cape Town
Hippo Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing