We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and cool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #50 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky and cool”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed here last weeked - what a great evening spent, local bars ( there is a great spot just outside, the fat cactus. FUN! ) after a big night out, its nice to come back to a comfy bed, would definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heatherza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Heatherza,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your recent stay at Hippo Boutique Hotel! The Hippo Team and I are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as the Restaurant, Fat Cactus, on site!

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future to experience another big night out celebrating or if it is just a well deserved lie in on the weekend in our comfy beds!

Kind regards,
Sasha O'Hare
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    135
    43
    4
    4
See reviews for
27
202
26
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We were out with friends in town and didn’t fancy driving back to the house we were staying in for the week so we had one very last minute stay at the Hippo Hotel.
The receptionist was very helpful and it was really useful we could park our car safety underneath.
I popped out and my friend stayed in the car as the buzzer didn’t seems to work, but pretty simple after that.
Although the bar underneath is clearly busy and noisy – we were right near reception and couldn’t here it (wouldn’t want to be right above it though!).
ROOM
Room was big and clean and perfect for what we wanted – shower was also great the next day.
And I wouldn’t stay next to reception again, if it can be helped - although that being said the only noise was from the room next door blaring there TV at 5.30am!
Breakfast
We had a full breakfast included in the cost and headed on our way – very helpful, easy hotel – I’d stay again if I needed a room in town.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back of the hotel - away from the reception area and bar front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Katy W,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel!

My Team and I are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Hippo Boutique Hotel when next your travels take you to Cape Town! We should welcome another opportunity to show you the Hippo Boutique Hotel Hospitality at its best!

Sasha O'Hare
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Great location. Friendly and very helpful staff. Originally just booked for 4 nights stay but was so impressed by the place we extended out stay for 11 nights our full holiday. On arrival we were upgraded to one of there suites which had a view of Table Mountain. Any place we wanted to visit the girls at the front desk sorted it out. From booking a hired car to organising cage diving with the great whites. They constantly provided us with their local knowledge for things like best seafood restaurants and local markets to visit. The restaurants/bars on the same street as the Hippo such as the Fat Cactus have a great vibe and the Thai restaurant has awesome food. Cannot say enough about the Hippo. It was a fantastic find and allowed us to enjoy our visit to Cape Town, Well done team Hippo. Top Marks From Alex & Clair Scotland.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Alex & Clair

I am delighted to read the wonderful comments you have posted on TripAdvisor regarding Hippo Boutique Hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Cape Town! It was an absolute pleasure to accommodate you!

We aim to provide the best guest service and it is wonderful to know that this is being achieved. I will commend the team for their ongoing search for excellence.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to Hippo Boutique Hotel again soon when your travels next bring you to Cape Town!

All the best from the Hippo Boutique Team!

Sasha O'Hare
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had booked a standard room but then found we had been upgraded to the Hippo Suite. :) It was a split level spread over 2 floors, bedroom and bathroom upstairs and open plan living room/kitchenette downstairs, with a refridgerator, microwave and kettle. There was also a desk and computer for internet access, but we preferred using the wifi with our own devices. Perfectly located hotel on Park Rd off Kloof St, near various trendy boutiques and restaurants. Note perhaps this room would not be so good for those with children given the stairs did not have railings, but we liked the spacious modern style and, well, location, location, location. Chris at the front desk was also especially helpful. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back as there is a Tex-Mex restaurant adjoining the hotel, and can get rowdy on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear csy7,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel!

My Team and I are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hippo Boutique Hotel when next your travels take you to Cape Town!

Sasha O'Hare
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is a small affordable clean friendly hotel. Our room had facilities to make light meals. Very close to buzzing boozy Long Street where you can party all night long. There is free parking and breakfast is included. The two restaurants on the ground floor can be a bit noisy in the evening, but it all quietens down before midnight. Yes, the light switches in the rooms can be either frustrating or a conundrum to be solved. They are not labelled, so you just keep flicking until you get it. You are only 20 minutes away from the Waterfront, the heart of the city. The staff are friendly and very helpful. A nice place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chisanga C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gronjngen
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

very good, modern and friendly hotel. good breakfast and friendly staff. For sure we will remember this place!
the location is good if you want to be close to the city center. the rooms are modern an includes all the services for a good stay.


  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jasmijn -
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My experience was not great. Firstly the staff forgot to return my drivers licence and credit card when I checked in, causing problems for me later in the day. Secondly the hotel is extremely noisy, and rooms badly designed. I was in room at end of passage far from reception, but could still hear phone ring and door bell go all night.
At 2:15am the night guard was obviously away as for 20minutes some poor guest was stuck outside dining doorbell, shouting, and trying to phone to get in - terrible!!!
When I wanted to check out and make my flight, the receptionist was not there (10am normal check out time?) and the assistant could not log in to the system so had to wait twenty minutes again.
For R1500 a night, there are far better hotels with far faster internet too (max speed 55kb/s)!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#35 of 109 in Cape Town Central
958 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#37 of 109 in Cape Town Central
576 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,393 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
799 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Boutique Hotel

Property: Hippo Boutique Hotel
Address: 5-9 Park Road Gardens | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hippo Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the hub of Cape Town's trendy cafe culture when staying at Hippo Boutique Hotel. This popular hotel boasts 20 standard rooms and 5 exclusive lofts - all spacious air-conditioned rooms are equipped with King sized beds, designer furniture, stainless steel kitchenettes, complimentary parking on the premises as well as 24hour wireless internet access keeping you connected 24 hours a day!On the ground floor you'll find a choice of 3 excellent restaurants catering to every palette, from the best burgers at Jerry's to authentic Thai cuisine at Simply Asia finishing with a Mexican fiesta at Fat Cactus. Hippo is conveniently situated close to the centre of town - an ideal base from where you can explore all Cape Town has to offer you! Our team is well known for their exceptional customer service and are always ready with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hippo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Boutique Cape Town
Hippo Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing