We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location excellent”
Review of Fountains Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fountains Hotel
Ranked #81 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location excellent”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Loved the view on the city from our room.Clean and comfortable.Pity that breakfast was not included.We arrived there during the time of the Eurocup and we wanted to watch a game but the tv was not working...someone had to come and fix it after several attempts.Normally I dont mind the tv but for the price one pays you expect something so basic to work?

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    170
    137
    75
    47
See reviews for
58
183
29
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The hotel is in a fantastic location and the staff were really helpful. The rooms were very basic and the whole feel of the hotel was a little unloved; it clearly needed a splash of paint and a bit of TLC.

The food at the hotel was served buffet style but sadly was very poor quality. The bread at both breakfast and dinner was stale, the eggs were cold 3 days in a row and there were no options for vegetarians at dinner.

If you want a hotel to spend time in and relax, I would not recommend. But The Fountains hotel is fine for just a base to drop your bags and explore the city. The rooms are basic but with double bed, bath / shower, tv, aircon are perfectly adequate for the stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2013

i could not believe as a south african that i was in sa upon check-in and for the duration of my stay. forom my interaction with reception/checkin to my conversation to management to the staff i was treated with respect and dignity. and wow the room was fantabulous.

Room Tip: room308 made it wow for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 210969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that you had a" FANTABULOUS" stay with us and that the staff were of excellent service. We pride ourselves on going the extra mile for all our guests.

I trust that you further more enjoyed the complimentary internet that is available for all guests as well as the delicious complimentary water that we offer in the lobby.


Please let us know when you are planning on visiting Cape Town again. We would love to make your stay a memorable one again.

Kind Regards
Abe Davids
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bento Goncalves, RS
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The Hotel is located in a good location near to everything. The staff were really nice and helpfull. The breakfast was perfect enough to make me forget about lunch most of the days.. We really recommend this place for your stay. The thing to improve i can tell is that my mini-bar wast workin and the shower had only some courtine that alowed to wet all the bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregorykozowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Bento Goncalves

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am very happy to learn that you had a great stay at the Fountains Hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I am pleased to read that you found the hotel staff efficient and friendly as we pride ourselves in our level of service and guests satisfaction. I have taken note of all your concerns and I can assure you that we have addressed each one individually to ensure that this does not get repeated.


Once again, thank you for posting a review, and please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit to Cape Town.

Abe Davids
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Apart from helpful service with a smile and decent breakfast, dont expect too much.. Hotel itself is rundown and a bit shabby. Pool area and gym arent actually inviting and the hotels corridors remind you of an old hospital. Rooms are quite noisy both to the corridor and the mainroad going beside the hotel. Room doors are flimsy and dont insulate any sound at all. At night its peaceful enough as the centres office area is deserted, assuming you dont be woken up to a false wakeup call at 330 AM which was to the wrong room (my room).

All in all: a decent budget hotel (which is at most 3stars) in which to crash. Not maybe for a business traveler.

Room Tip: At least 5th floor and facing the fountains. Too low and its too noisy. On th other side the view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rndmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. I am pleased to learn that the staff were of helpful service as we pride our self on going the extra mile for our guests.

I have taken note of all your concerns and I can assure you that we have addressed each one individually to ensure that this does not get repeated.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast you had during your stay with us as well as the free internet we offer our guests during their stay with us.

Once again, thank you for posting a review, and please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind Regards
Abe Davids
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

It is in the heart of downtown Cape Town right next to the long range bus Central.
Was disappointed with the fact that they do not charge to the credit card.
The apartments have a decent size and are equipped with a kitchen in case you'd rather cook than going to eat out everyday which can blow your vacation's budget.
The beds are a disappointment. I'm 1,85 m and my feet very often found themselves out of it. The sheets were equally small and found myself many times uncovered if I rolled in bed.
Definitely not coming back to this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank LeonardodeGonzaga
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I stayed in the hotel part, obviously this is not an upmarket place, but it makes an effort. Unfortunately its just not enough!

The rooms are a decent size but carpets are worn. The furniture has seen better days. They did have tea and coffee making facilities, which is always a plus in my book. Bed was comfortable enough, and there was hot water in the bathroom. Bathroom was abit dingy, clean but just an old feel to it.

A word of warning, if you leave the hotel after dark, I would get a taxi. It doesn't feel too safe. I walked up to Long Street and felt it probably wasn't a great idea. In the day its fine, but come evening I'd recommend a taxi.

The corridors feel like a hospital - very thin and cramped layout. Not as cramped as the car park though, thankfully I had a small hire car, not a 4x4! Very tight in places.

Breakfast was decent, lots of fresh fruit and cooked items, a real variety. I can't remember the name of the gentleman that greeted me at breakfast but he had lots of badges on his waistcoat - a real character!

Would I stay here again? Probably not.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VestanPance123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#52 of 109 in Cape Town Central
652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#73 of 109 in Cape Town Central
455 reviews
0.4 mi away
AHA Inn on the Square
AHA Inn on the Square
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The New Tulbagh Hotel
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#98 of 109 in Cape Town Central
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#49 of 109 in Cape Town Central
797 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 109 in Cape Town Central
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountains Hotel

Property: Fountains Hotel
Address: 1 Saint Georges Mall Street | cnr. Heerengracht & Hans Strydom, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountains Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Cape Town, within walking distance of the city’s many attractions, the Fountains Hotel offers all the services and facilities you would expect from an inner-city hotel. A gym, pool, bar, buffet restaurant with a terrace and the friendliest staff in town, all contribute to make the Fountains Hotel a luxury home away from home. Do make use of our FREE internet of 100MB daily.The City of Cape Town boasts a wide range of attractions. These include three World Heritage Sites, a diverse mix of cultural, historical and heritage sites, outdoor and leisure activities, entertainment, nature and environment, and of course, luxury wining and dining.But when all the exploration, sight-seeing and shopping have worn you out, the Fountains Hotel will accept you with open arms. The reception at the hotel is a welcoming space, furnished with couches to create a relaxation area. Those who would like to keep an eye on the work side of things, can turn to the hotel’sbusiness centre.Friendly and knowledgeable staff offer a full concierge service and can refer guests to the tourism centre, which is also located in the lobby. This centre is equipped with flyers and information about all the popular tours and destinations in and around Cape Town. The multi-lingual staff can also help with any bookings that need to be made.The Fountains Hotel is a secure establishment. We have qualified staff and a security station at each entry point of the hotel to ensure that our guests remain safe. Three levels of underground parking provide secure parking for our guests.24-hour room service is also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fountains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountains Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Fountains Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing