We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fountains Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fountains Hotel
Ranked #82 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
“Excellent and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had a great time at the Fountains Hotel - The staff is super friendly, and really made us feel welcome and at home. I've never met such excellent staff anywhere else in the world. Rooms were spacious and well equipped. We were upgraded to better rooms all thanks to Kimon. Kimon is extremely professional and kind and we would like to thank her for all she had done for us. So were the rest of staff, Amina and the people at the dining room. Where else in the world all the staff including the persons cleaning your room would care about your children if they did not feel well, and ask about her whenever you meet them? I've never met such friendly staff elsewhere. Well done, we will definitely come back again, like my parents stay in this hotel every year they visit Cape Town. Thank you all for making our trip to Cape Town perfect. The Herschkovitsch family, Israel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmirHerschkovitsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Amir Herschkovitsch

Thank you for your wonderful remarks and review of the Fountains Hotel. I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and that our staff made you feel at home.

We pride ourselves on the friendliness of our staff and the willingness of each and everyone to go the extra mile for our guests. I have shared your wonderful remarks to our staff with a special mention to Kimon and Amina.

Once again, thank you for the fantastic comments and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind Regards
Abe Davids
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    160
    133
    71
    46
See reviews for
55
173
28
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The bed is only 190cm long and way to short and the breakfast leaves a lot to wish for. The hot water in the bathroom/shower takes forever and when it comes it fluctuates between cold and too hot.

The attitude from the staff is pretentious and can see that the smiles are not honest.

Just not good enough as a business hotel

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoachimH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments

It is unfortunate that you feel the hotel is not what you expected. We feel we provide good,comfortable accommodation and value for money given our location and facilities, and our pricing is comparable to similar properties in and around the area.

We feel we provide good value to our guests, but it seems we fell short in your case. For this I sincerely apologize. All the same we appreciate your feedback and hope you afford us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Fountains to prove to you that we have much more to offer.


Sincerely
Abe Davids
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This property isn't all bad. But when comparing the offering with other hotels, it lacks on too many levels.

Staff
Parking attendant and porters were super friendly throughout. Really sincere and professional - creating a very welcoming atmosphere.
Front desk? Surly, unresponsive and quite cold.
Security? I received a warning for crossing through the hotel (from St George through to Adderly street), and was told that I should walk around the building - as it was a hotel lobby, not a street. I was quite taken aback!

Rooms?
Stayed in a horrible room the first night. Shabby furniture. No windows! Noisy lift, could not sleep at all. They changed my rooms for the second night, only after a huge fuss with reception. Second room was better. Still no window. Musty smell. Frayed carpets. Worn furniture.

Considering it is marketed as a four star, this hotel lacks in all aspects. Maybe I got budget rooms - and others are better. However, judging by the fraying carpets in the lift, smudges on the walls and dark dreary hallways I don't think the rest is much better.

Room Tip: Do not take any of the rooms that are close to the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveJozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We take our guests comments seriously and always strive to provide friendly and comfortable accommodations.

We have passed on your kind words to our parking attendants and porters who were very pleased to hear the positive comments.
I am pleased to inform you that we have completed a soft refurbishment of all our hotel rooms to ensure our guests receive, clean and comfortable accommodation.

We hope to welcome you back to the Fountains Hotel in the near future to show you how great our hotel is, please do not hesitate to contact me directly if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more comfortable.

Sincerely
Abe Davids
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We took the mi citi shuttle bus from the airport which stops across the road from this hotel. everyone at the hotel helped make our stay enjoyable. The room was very clean and spacious with view towards Table mountain. The cost of evening meal in the restaurant was very good and breakfast had something for everyone as there was excellent choice including pastries ,fresh fruit
full English.and hot and cold drinks all included with room cost.The staff were wonderful but special mention has to go to Thys who went out of his way to look after us by taking our cases on a trolley across the road to the station and loaded the cases into the train for us. Thank you Thys for all your help. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends. Sheila and Elizabeth. Bristol England U.K.

Room Tip: we were in room 404. avoid rooms near the lifts as noisy area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Sheila

Thank You very much for a superb review and for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor.

We are please to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you made use of the Mi City Bus services which is conveniently situated. I will ensure to pass on your kind words to the entire team, with a special thanks to Thys.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back to the Fountains Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Abe Davids
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

we stayed here on a weekend spent in the city for celebrations, but only for one night. after reading some of the less-great reviews on tripadvisor, i do understand where some people come from, but for me this was a great visit. friendly staff, great value, good view, good sleep, great breakfast. if you can drive a car and you can park, then its not a problem. if you are the type that visit hotels with a magnifying glass you will pick up that the maintenance is a bit shot but the bed and towels were clean so we were happy. its ideally situated so we walked everywhere. great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelakambri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Anjieleke

Thank you for rating us on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and value your feedback, positive or negative as we always strive to provide comfortable and friendly service to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Fountains Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely
Abe Davids
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

The staff have been brilliant; they changed my room at short notice at no extra cost & arranged transport from the airport, and I checked in early. The 1 bed apartment I was in was 'tired' and would benefit from updating with double glazing, as I faced the fountain and the bus station, with road traffic starting at 6 in the morning. But with a central location I guess this is to be expected.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMurLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking time to rate us on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to learn that the staff were brilliant and we will ensure to pass on the compliments describing the service you received during your stay with us.

Also we are happy to announce that our rooms are currently undergoing renovations in order to bring a fresher more modern feel to them, in order to compliment our outstanding customer service.

We hope to welcome you back to the Fountains Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Abe Davids
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Good value for the money, especially with breakfast included (which was fantastic). Thies and Vincent, who both worked in the restaurant, were absolutely fantastic. They both went out of their way to ensure my wife and I were having a pleasant stay - recommendations, advice on where to go (or not)...they were two of the nicest people we met during our time in South Africa.

The room was ok...not terrible, but in a bit of disrepair. Some mold in the shower, a bit small but quiet. Great place to stay if you're trying to get the most for your money, as it's centrally located and walking distance to Long st. and other attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MD0099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guests
We thank you for taking time from your day to rank us on TripAdvisor.

Service excellence is what we are passionate about and strive to maintain and constantly improve upon, and we are glad that you were able to experience this with us. Thies and Vincent are just two of the many staff who we have on staff with the same vibrant ‘can do’ attitude, which helps to make every guests stay with us just as enjoyable as yours.

We regret however that your room was not equally as enjoyable, but can happily say that our rooms are currently undergoing renovations in order to bring a fresher more modern feel to them, in order to compliment our outstanding customer service with the comfortable, quality accommodations that our patrons have come to expect when visiting Cape Town.

We hope to welcome you back soon and that your next stay with us will be even more fantastic than before.

Warm Regards
Abe Davids
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#49 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.1 mi away
AHA Inn on the Square
AHA Inn on the Square
#66 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#50 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Tulbagh Hotel
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#93 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#38 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountains Hotel

Property: Fountains Hotel
Address: 1 Saint Georges Mall Street | cnr. Heerengracht & Hans Strydom, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountains Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Cape Town, within walking distance of the city’s many attractions, the Fountains Hotel offers all the services and facilities you would expect from an inner-city hotel. A gym, pool, bar, buffet restaurant with a terrace and the friendliest staff in town, all contribute to make the Fountains Hotel a luxury home away from home. Do make use of our FREE internet of 100MB daily.The City of Cape Town boasts a wide range of attractions. These include three World Heritage Sites, a diverse mix of cultural, historical and heritage sites, outdoor and leisure activities, entertainment, nature and environment, and of course, luxury wining and dining.But when all the exploration, sight-seeing and shopping have worn you out, the Fountains Hotel will accept you with open arms. The reception at the hotel is a welcoming space, furnished with couches to create a relaxation area. Those who would like to keep an eye on the work side of things, can turn to the hotel’sbusiness centre.Friendly and knowledgeable staff offer a full concierge service and can refer guests to the tourism centre, which is also located in the lobby. This centre is equipped with flyers and information about all the popular tours and destinations in and around Cape Town. The multi-lingual staff can also help with any bookings that need to be made.The Fountains Hotel is a secure establishment. We have qualified staff and a security station at each entry point of the hotel to ensure that our guests remain safe. Three levels of underground parking provide secure parking for our guests.24-hour room service is also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Fountains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountains Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Fountains Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing