We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a pleasant stay”
Review of Fountains Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fountains Hotel
Ranked #88 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently spent four nights into this hotel. From the reception the hotel looks quite nice, but as we open the room we were greeted by an horrible smell of paint, that remained with us for the whole duration of hour stay. The shower curtain would stick to your body while showering, very annoying!!! Also, we were told by reception that you could not park outside the cableway to table mountain and offered to arrange a taxi service for us, but you have plenty of parking on the road heading up!
Good points about this hotel were the location, and the covered parking.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lallina1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for posting a review about the Fountains Hotel on Tripadvisor. I must apologise for the inconveniences caused during your stay. This is not according to our usual standards at all and will look into the matters personally to ensure issues like these do not happen.

Please contact me directly when you plan your next visit to Cape Town, as I want to prove to you that we have much more to offer.

Kind Regards
Abe Davids
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

On first entering the hotel you maybe disappointed as it appears a bit run down, however the rooms are good and the staff are very friendly and helpful, so I suggest you will enjoy your stay. For those hiring a car there is a multistory carpark within the hotel charged at 220R per day.
But first you have to get there!
This may sound simple until you discover St Georges Mall is a pedestrian precinct.
So leave the air heading to ward Cape Town central on the N2. After seeing Table Top mountain you will see an exit marked Strand. Take this turn passing the castle on your left. After the castle you will see a large grey glass skyscraper on the corner of St Georges Mall but the entrance is blocked being pedestrian only, continue up the Strand to Long street and turn right, at the second traffic light (called robots in South Africa) turn right again onto Riebeeck and go down the hill. The second on the left will be St Georges Mall and in this section you can drive. The fountains hotel is at the end on the right.They allow you to park while you unload the luggage and get your parking permit.
Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff-5151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Geoff

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for the precise directions.

We are pleased to learn that you found the accommodation facilities comfortable and that the staff are friendly and helpful. We will ensure to pass on the kind words describing the service you received during your stay with us.

We look forward in the hope of welcoming you back to the Fountains Hotel in the near future.


Your Sincerely
Abe Davids
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I wanted to express my appreciation for the service I received during my stay at the Fountains Hotel. In particular, Langton, Lynette and house cleaning staff were very helpful and deserve a great deal of praise for their excellent customer service. Kudos to you and your staff for making my stay a great one - I will definitely be staying with the Fountains Hotel again.
Regards,
Londa Small

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Londa

Thank you for your wonderful remarks and review of the Fountains Hotel. I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and that our staff made you feel at home.

We pride ourselves on the friendliness of our staff and the willingness of each and everyone to go the extra mile for our guests. I will ensure to pass on the kind words describing the service to the team with a special mention to Langton and Lynette.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Abe Davids
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had a great time at the Fountains Hotel - The staff is super friendly, and really made us feel welcome and at home. It's a good hotel.
The only thing is the fitness en the pool. Thats so poor. OMG I dont think people want to swim overthere.
And give your guest free wifi, What establishment these days allows itself to exist without free wifi?? You get 100mb a day.
We loved Thys, a very friendly person.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 7th floor are good. Room 704
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linkup2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Link Up

Thank you for your comments. The friendly homely atmosphere is one of the aspects of our property that we pride ourselves in. I'm really happy that you had the chance to experience.

The pool was undergoing routine maintenance during your stay with us, I do apologize for the inconvenience caused.

I will make ensure to pass on your kind words to Thys, Thank You

Kind Regards
Abe Davids
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Definitely good value for money. Fantastic location, great breakfast, and the most unbelievably friendly staff. But don't expect too much from your room. This hotel has no maintenance to speak of. The rooms are clearly not being serviced; bed-side lamp didn't work, bin was missing, mini-bar was empty or had only lonely-looking two cans of coke. Liquid soap in the bathroom ran out and was not filled for the next two days, towels seem to forget to replace themselves. TV only has a few (curiously picked) channels with bad reception on some channels and in some rooms. And the biggest crime - NO FREE WIFI!! What establishment these days allows itself to exist without free wifi?? You get 100mb a day free and after that is downright extortionist prices.

But - if luxury is not your objective and you're after a friendly, welcoming place with great breakfast at a great location - do go there. As for the super friendly staff, a special mention goes to Thys, who really makes one's stay truly memorable.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Thibault Square and not the (noisy) road. Preferably a room where the view from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaayanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments. We will ensure to pass on your kind words describing the service you received during your stay with us, with a special acknowledgment to Thys.

I'm glad to inform you that we've just completed a soft refurbishment of all our hotel rooms to ensure our guest receives clean and comfortable accommodation at an affordable rate. I have reviewed your comments with the housekeeping department to ensure the issues raised are not repeated.

Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back th the Founatins Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Abe Davids
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had a great time at the Fountains Hotel - The staff is super friendly, and really made us feel welcome and at home. I've never met such excellent staff anywhere else in the world. Rooms were spacious and well equipped. We were upgraded to better rooms all thanks to Kimon. Kimon is extremely professional and kind and we would like to thank her for all she had done for us. So were the rest of staff, Amina and the people at the dining room. Where else in the world all the staff including the persons cleaning your room would care about your children if they did not feel well, and ask about her whenever you meet them? I've never met such friendly staff elsewhere. Well done, we will definitely come back again, like my parents stay in this hotel every year they visit Cape Town. Thank you all for making our trip to Cape Town perfect. The Herschkovitsch family, Israel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmirHerschkovitsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Amir Herschkovitsch

Thank you for your wonderful remarks and review of the Fountains Hotel. I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and that our staff made you feel at home.

We pride ourselves on the friendliness of our staff and the willingness of each and everyone to go the extra mile for our guests. I have shared your wonderful remarks to our staff with a special mention to Kimon and Amina.

Once again, thank you for the fantastic comments and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind Regards
Abe Davids
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The bed is only 190cm long and way to short and the breakfast leaves a lot to wish for. The hot water in the bathroom/shower takes forever and when it comes it fluctuates between cold and too hot.

The attitude from the staff is pretentious and can see that the smiles are not honest.

Just not good enough as a business hotel

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoachimH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments

It is unfortunate that you feel the hotel is not what you expected. We feel we provide good,comfortable accommodation and value for money given our location and facilities, and our pricing is comparable to similar properties in and around the area.

We feel we provide good value to our guests, but it seems we fell short in your case. For this I sincerely apologize. All the same we appreciate your feedback and hope you afford us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Fountains to prove to you that we have much more to offer.


Sincerely
Abe Davids

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#55 of 112 in Cape Town Central
710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#46 of 112 in Cape Town Central
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#78 of 112 in Cape Town Central
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#47 of 112 in Cape Town Central
849 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
610 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#76 of 112 in Cape Town Central
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountains Hotel

Address: 1 Saint Georges Mall Street | cnr. Heerengracht & Hans Strydom, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £70 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountains Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Cape Town, within walking distance of the city’s many attractions, the Fountains Hotel offers all the services and facilities you would expect from an inner-city hotel. A gym, pool, bar, buffet restaurant with a terrace and the friendliest staff in town, all contribute to make the Fountains Hotel a luxury home away from home. Do make use of our FREE internet of 100MB daily.The City of Cape Town boasts a wide range of attractions. These include three World Heritage Sites, a diverse mix of cultural, historical and heritage sites, outdoor and leisure activities, entertainment, nature and environment, and of course, luxury wining and dining.But when all the exploration, sight-seeing and shopping have worn you out, the Fountains Hotel will accept you with open arms. The reception at the hotel is a welcoming space, furnished with couches to create a relaxation area. Those who would like to keep an eye on the work side of things, can turn to the hotel’sbusiness centre.Friendly and knowledgeable staff offer a full concierge service and can refer guests to the tourism centre, which is also located in the lobby. This centre is equipped with flyers and information about all the popular tours and destinations in and around Cape Town. The multi-lingual staff can also help with any bookings that need to be made.The Fountains Hotel is a secure establishment. We have qualified staff and a security station at each entry point of the hotel to ensure that our guests remain safe. Three levels of underground parking provide secure parking for our guests.24-hour room service is also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fountains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountains Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Fountains Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing