We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Fountains Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fountains Hotel
Ranked #86 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Just stayed at this great hotel, great facilities but the best thing about it all has to be the wonderful staff who nothing seemed to much trouble to help and advise. All in all a great experience and already looking forward to going back next year. A big thank you to Owen and all his great staff

Room Tip: Difficult to recommend a room as the weather changes so much and the wind can be a bit noisy against...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
There are newer reviews for Fountains Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

I am a local and had to go for an interview at the hotel. It was my first visit there. I was totally lost as to where to park, etc. And then this angel appeared, Thys. He made us feel so welcome and showed us around. We felt like royalty. This is the kind of people we need in South Africa. Building a nation and showing visitors the wonderful hospitality of our country's citizens. Thank you Thys! I want to commend you. You are the epitome of 'service excellence and a true South African ambassador'!
Thank you, Thys.
Nora Marais

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank noramari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The property is located right in the heart of the city with bus sstop and some banks, offices and restaurants in the nearby. Within walking distance to the Waterfront (ca 20 min). The room was modern and nice decorated with WiFi (100 mb data free), safebox, tea/coffee facilities, clean (however not top modern) bathroom. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, their service was good. The breakfast was included in the rate with quite good choice of warm and cold snacks. Overall nice and safe stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CracowDanang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Good staff, friendly people. The hotel need some works inside but the accomodation is good. The hotel is clean and has a quickly service. The food was but the breakfast is better than the meals. Nice choice to make.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aires B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I didnt stay very long but for the time I was there it made me want to stay longer. Its in a great location to just get out and walk around town and see the locals. Next to any and everything you could want to eat. Even had a barber nearby

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I am giving this review on the third day of our holiday in Cape Town. We arrived early Thursday morning after a long flight from England. We were greeted at reception by friendly helpful staff who put our luggage under lock and key while we had a wonder around the city until we could check in
The hotel is clean it is central for almost everything, all the staff are so friendly, pleasant and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable.
We are up in a morning have breakfast and out for the day, we return for a shower and chill out before we go out again for dinner, this hotel is ideal for our needs and personally I can't praise the hotel and it's lovely staff enough!
We have traveled to many countries and stayed in many hotels in the world, Fountain Hotel is not the poshest hotel we have stayed in but it has still added to our memorable holiday!
When I return home I am sure I will give a review on our visit to South Africa, up to now it as been an amazing experience, what a lovely country! Yesterday we visited Robben Island, this is a must do! So emotional and educating, our guide was an X prisoner, you must go and hear their stories!
We are here for another week, then staying in! Stellenboush for tree days. Having a great time, wish you were here :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

I don't recall ever having given a place a two circle rating before but this was an easy decision.

The bedrooms in the two bedroom apartment we stayed in are so far from the pathetically ineffective air conditioning unit that they are effectively saunas. The bedrooms themselves don't have so much as a ceiling fan, let alone air conditioning. It was no more than 20 degrees celsius outside at night, yet it must have been nearly 30 in the room.

On the first night, I arrived exhausted after having travelled for 30 hours straight, yet couldn't sleep because of the heat. We were also hassled for money directly outside the hotel by street urchins when we arrived, which wasn't ideal.

We were in Cape Town for eight nights with a tour group and, mercifully, after the second night, we were moved to a hotel where we could sleep.

The bedrooms at Fountains are also extremely small and cramped while the tv room area is generously but unnecessarily large - terrible design.

The shower started to fall apart the moment I set foot in it. Everything in the room has the feel of a place that has been allowed to go to pot.

The free wifi data allowance is inadequate and the rates at which additional data are charged are extortionate. Then, having paid R200 for internet access, it slowed to a crawl. But at least we had electricity... Or we did until the second night, when it went off. Credit where credit's due, though, maintenance came shortly after we called and reinstated the power.

As previous reviewers have mentioned, there is no way this is a four star hotel. I would give it two. The only redeeming feature was that the breakfast was adequate, although the made-to-order omelettes (the breakfast highlight) could have benefitted from a choice of more than three ingredients.

The other positive worth mentioning is that one staff member in particular - I believe he may have been a manager but he wasn't wearing a name tag - was incredibly helpful. He helped with the formal requirements to buy a South African SIM card (you need a letter from the hotel attesting to you staying there) and helpful advice on Table Mountain.

In all other respects, I'd avoid Fountains if you possibly can.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashmidalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#52 of 111 in Cape Town Central
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#76 of 111 in Cape Town Central
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Tulbagh Hotel
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#101 of 111 in Cape Town Central
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 111 in Cape Town Central
834 reviews
0.3 mi away
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#90 of 111 in Cape Town Central
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#79 of 111 in Cape Town Central
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountains Hotel

Address: 1 Saint Georges Mall Street | cnr. Heerengracht & Hans Strydom, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £69 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountains Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Cape Town, within walking distance of the city’s many attractions, the Fountains Hotel offers all the services and facilities you would expect from an inner-city hotel. A gym, pool, bar, buffet restaurant with a terrace and the friendliest staff in town, all contribute to make the Fountains Hotel a luxury home away from home. Do make use of our FREE internet of 100MB daily.The City of Cape Town boasts a wide range of attractions. These include three World Heritage Sites, a diverse mix of cultural, historical and heritage sites, outdoor and leisure activities, entertainment, nature and environment, and of course, luxury wining and dining.But when all the exploration, sight-seeing and shopping have worn you out, the Fountains Hotel will accept you with open arms. The reception at the hotel is a welcoming space, furnished with couches to create a relaxation area. Those who would like to keep an eye on the work side of things, can turn to the hotel’sbusiness centre.Friendly and knowledgeable staff offer a full concierge service and can refer guests to the tourism centre, which is also located in the lobby. This centre is equipped with flyers and information about all the popular tours and destinations in and around Cape Town. The multi-lingual staff can also help with any bookings that need to be made.The Fountains Hotel is a secure establishment. We have qualified staff and a security station at each entry point of the hotel to ensure that our guests remain safe. Three levels of underground parking provide secure parking for our guests.24-hour room service is also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fountains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountains Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Fountains Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing