We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fountains Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fountains Hotel
Ranked #81 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just ended a 14 day stay in this hotel, wonderful staff from desk/floor to bar all very helpful, A really good location as you are almost in the city centre but no traffic noise, breakfast is more than ample and I can't see why some people complain about the choice of food as what I witnesses was a large choice at breakfast time.

Large spacious room with flat screen tv and movie channels to watch at no extra cost, I have fell in love with Cape Town and will come back again and my choice of hotel shall be the Fountains again, only one small complaint on my last night early in the evening my Visa card was stolen at a ATM not far from the hotel this was a slick operation by a team of three thieves, they had blocked the machine so my card would not go in and quick as a flash one thieve "assisted me" and quicker still he palmed the card, as I now reliesed that three thieves were next to me I just played along and allowed them to watch me entering an incorrect PIN number,once this was witnesses two of the gang went off and the other one delayed me (this was to allow them time to nip around the corner to the nearest ATM) as it was not far to the hotel I returned there and noticed a large number of guests awaiting to check in, I approached the desk and informed one staff of my situation and immediately he dialled visa for me, my grip was after the call I was was charged for this service, Yes I understand someone has to pay for the call but it would have been a nice gesture if they waivered the cost.(card cancelled and nothing taken...just a reminder about the Emergency Visa Card replacement...would take two days!!! Just glad when I call the fire service in an emergency they don't take the same time)

Enjoy Cape Town and enjoy Fountains Hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasalt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    165
    135
    74
    46
See reviews for
56
179
29
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Siggiewi, Malta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I have never stayed in a Hotel, for 9 days, where all the Staff were so friendly and helpful. I had a very large apartment kept very clean by Mohammed; the Restaurant produces amazingly good food (huge buffets) & the best "Bread & Butter Pudding" I've ever tasted.
Front of House staff all 1st class.
For the price - you won't do better anywhere!
I look forward to my next visit there.

Room Tip: Go for as high a floor as possible. Apartments are great good value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Just stayed at this great hotel, great facilities but the best thing about it all has to be the wonderful staff who nothing seemed to much trouble to help and advise. All in all a great experience and already looking forward to going back next year. A big thank you to Owen and all his great staff

Room Tip: Difficult to recommend a room as the weather changes so much and the wind can be a bit noisy against...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I am a local and had to go for an interview at the hotel. It was my first visit there. I was totally lost as to where to park, etc. And then this angel appeared, Thys. He made us feel so welcome and showed us around. We felt like royalty. This is the kind of people we need in South Africa. Building a nation and showing visitors the wonderful hospitality of our country's citizens. Thank you Thys! I want to commend you. You are the epitome of 'service excellence and a true South African ambassador'!
Thank you, Thys.
Nora Marais

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noramari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cracow
Level Contributor
179 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

The property is located right in the heart of the city with bus sstop and some banks, offices and restaurants in the nearby. Within walking distance to the Waterfront (ca 20 min). The room was modern and nice decorated with WiFi (100 mb data free), safebox, tea/coffee facilities, clean (however not top modern) bathroom. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, their service was good. The breakfast was included in the rate with quite good choice of warm and cold snacks. Overall nice and safe stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CracowDanang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda, Angola
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Good staff, friendly people. The hotel need some works inside but the accomodation is good. The hotel is clean and has a quickly service. The food was but the breakfast is better than the meals. Nice choice to make.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aires B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I didnt stay very long but for the time I was there it made me want to stay longer. Its in a great location to just get out and walk around town and see the locals. Next to any and everything you could want to eat. Even had a barber nearby

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#50 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.3 mi away
AHA Inn on the Square
AHA Inn on the Square
#66 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#73 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Tulbagh Hotel
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#95 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountains Hotel

Property: Fountains Hotel
Address: 1 Saint Georges Mall Street | cnr. Heerengracht & Hans Strydom, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountains Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Cape Town, within walking distance of the city’s many attractions, the Fountains Hotel offers all the services and facilities you would expect from an inner-city hotel. A gym, pool, bar, buffet restaurant with a terrace and the friendliest staff in town, all contribute to make the Fountains Hotel a luxury home away from home. Do make use of our FREE internet of 100MB daily.The City of Cape Town boasts a wide range of attractions. These include three World Heritage Sites, a diverse mix of cultural, historical and heritage sites, outdoor and leisure activities, entertainment, nature and environment, and of course, luxury wining and dining.But when all the exploration, sight-seeing and shopping have worn you out, the Fountains Hotel will accept you with open arms. The reception at the hotel is a welcoming space, furnished with couches to create a relaxation area. Those who would like to keep an eye on the work side of things, can turn to the hotel’sbusiness centre.Friendly and knowledgeable staff offer a full concierge service and can refer guests to the tourism centre, which is also located in the lobby. This centre is equipped with flyers and information about all the popular tours and destinations in and around Cape Town. The multi-lingual staff can also help with any bookings that need to be made.The Fountains Hotel is a secure establishment. We have qualified staff and a security station at each entry point of the hotel to ensure that our guests remain safe. Three levels of underground parking provide secure parking for our guests.24-hour room service is also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fountains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountains Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Fountains Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing