We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better.....”
Review of Fountains Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fountains Hotel
Ranked #82 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Louth, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Could do better.....”
Reviewed 30 January 2007

Although this is a relatively new hotel, there are many things that could be improved. On checking in, the reception staff could not find our reservation which confirmed our booking for two rooms. I stood my ground, and the second room was "miraculously" found. No apology offered.

We were given two appartments - a one bed and a two bed on the tenth floor. The one bed was better furnished - it had a safe and hairdryer, something the two bed strangely did not. However there is nowhere to plug hairdryer in by a mirror. Bizarre.Both rooms had air con in living area only - pointless as they did not work adequately to cool the bedrooms. Why locate the air con unit behind a curtain by the window??? We asked for fans at reception and were told some would be sent up. When they didn't arrive by the evening, reception then said they don't supply fans. Why lie? Also the lock broke in one of the appartment doors, reception told us they would send someone up - we had to chase up on this three times.

The lifts are very dodgy and one of the four lifts is usually out of order. We got stuck in one for 40 mins, and began to panic when the emergency button did not work. We were eventually rescued, but again received no apology.

The pool and gym are a joke. Room is not air conditioned and some of the equipment is unsafe as it is held together by screwdrivers and pencils (really!!!) Pool is very very small.

Breakfast is fantastic, loads of choice, but do not dine in the evening - horrible.

Location of hotel - in centre of Capetown, but it is very unsafe to leave the hotel at night - you will have to get a taxi to the Waterfront - cost about 40 Rand.

The only saving grace are the african staff - they really are so sweet and friendly - they should maybe teach the reception staff a thing or two about customer service....

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank ostan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    173
    137
    76
    47
See reviews for
58
186
29
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2007

With views of Table Mountain, we were allocated the Penthouse on arrival. These brand new apartments have huge marble bathrooms, stylish well equipped kitchen, lovely lounge, large balcony and super comfy bedrooms. We ordered room service steak and wine and it was better than most restaurants and inexpensive. Hotel staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. We had a champagne high tea out on the terrace for around £10. I cannot praise this hotel highly enough. Its location is central to Cape Town and is a short drive from the Victoria Waterfront area - there is underground parking. The pool and gym are basic and small and could possibly disappoint. The breakfast is buffet-style all you can eat, and again good value. I really recommend this place! I would definately stay there again.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Fussypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larvik, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2007

The hotel itself was quite ordinary. The rooms felt almost a bit cramped, but everything was fairly new and clean. A bit of noise seaped through the windows, and also through the door from cleaning staff each morning. The pools were a big joke, especially the outside one which acts as a boarder between the hotel restaurant and the sidewalk. One lane - I would just as naturally put on my trunks and have a dip in the nearby fountain.

Breakfast was good (I would say better than average). Don't do the mistake of having dinner there though, if your interested in the food Cape Town has to offer. You could really do better!

BUT: The consierge and his team were fantastic!

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Pools, Cramped sensation in rooms
Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kansas73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South AFrica
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2007

We booked Fountains a few months ago as it was by far the cheapest 4 star hotel we could find in central Capetown. We couldn't say anything bad about this hotel - it surpassed all expectations. The hotel opened in May 2006, and is therefore still very new and pristine. We only paid about 60 pounds a night for 4 nights, and couldn't believe it when we were given an 'apartment' i.e. kitchen, lounge, balcony, bedroom and ensuite. Not sure if we were just lucky, or if all of the rooms are like that, but ask for a room on 7th floor or above as they all seem to have the same layout. The staff were excellent - very friendly and very helpful. The hotel bar and mini bar were amazingly cheap (in comparison to London anyway!). Breakfast was fine - the usual hotel buffet. We were pleasantly surprised by the location - a 10 minute walk to the Waterfront, and we felt safe. It is a 5 minute walk to a few good restaurants on Bree/ Shortmarket street, and is situated at the end of St Georges mall which is a bussling street during the day with a couple of good lunch places (try Crush).

  • Liked — The room - more like a suite
  • Disliked — No outdoor pool
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay on 7th floor or above
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Uvongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2006

Fountains Hotel is a brand new hotel in Cape Town city centre. All furnishings were brand new, rooms attractively decorated. Top rated breakfast, although agree with previous review that the coffee service is terrible. (Note to hotel: please change your coffee service and don't offer terrible coffee already prepared in flasks). Although parts of the hotel are still in construction, would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SepSep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2006

We visited this hotel in April 2006. The hotel is new, the furnishings and decor are modern and attractive. The room had not been dusted but was otherwise clean. The desk service was friendly and efficient. We used the shuttle service from the airport. It was reliable and reasonably priced. The breakfast was enjoyable as far as food and location was concerned. The service was terrible with the exception of the chef preparing hot items. The other staff made a concerted effort to ignore all the guests and the coffee was undrinkable.

Helpful?
5 Thank geduld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
656 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Tulbagh Hotel
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#97 of 109 in Cape Town Central
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 109 in Cape Town Central
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#75 of 109 in Cape Town Central
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#49 of 109 in Cape Town Central
808 reviews
0.4 mi away
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#65 of 109 in Cape Town Central
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountains Hotel

Property: Fountains Hotel
Address: 1 Saint Georges Mall Street | cnr. Heerengracht & Hans Strydom, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountains Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Cape Town, within walking distance of the city’s many attractions, the Fountains Hotel offers all the services and facilities you would expect from an inner-city hotel. A gym, pool, bar, buffet restaurant with a terrace and the friendliest staff in town, all contribute to make the Fountains Hotel a luxury home away from home. Do make use of our FREE internet of 100MB daily.The City of Cape Town boasts a wide range of attractions. These include three World Heritage Sites, a diverse mix of cultural, historical and heritage sites, outdoor and leisure activities, entertainment, nature and environment, and of course, luxury wining and dining.But when all the exploration, sight-seeing and shopping have worn you out, the Fountains Hotel will accept you with open arms. The reception at the hotel is a welcoming space, furnished with couches to create a relaxation area. Those who would like to keep an eye on the work side of things, can turn to the hotel’sbusiness centre.Friendly and knowledgeable staff offer a full concierge service and can refer guests to the tourism centre, which is also located in the lobby. This centre is equipped with flyers and information about all the popular tours and destinations in and around Cape Town. The multi-lingual staff can also help with any bookings that need to be made.The Fountains Hotel is a secure establishment. We have qualified staff and a security station at each entry point of the hotel to ensure that our guests remain safe. Three levels of underground parking provide secure parking for our guests.24-hour room service is also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fountains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountains Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Fountains Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing