We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Welcoming!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountview Spa and Guest House
Ranked #58 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waddington, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So Welcoming!”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This was our first trip to South Africa and we were a little anxious about what to expect. Joe was the first to greet us, warmly welcoming us, dissolving our anxiety. The house and our room were clean and comfortable and location was perfect for walking to the shops, restaurants, and the boardwalk along the ocean. The staff was the best part of our stay, always professional, personable, accommodating, and totally dedicated to making our stay the best it could be. The breakfast that was served was beautifully presented, delicious, and always fresh. We stayed for a few days, traveled away a few days then returned for a few more days. It was an excellent value for the price. I would reccommend this guest house without hesitation.
Appreciatively,
MJ & Peter Doelger
Waddington,NY, USA

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJD713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    30
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
89
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Staying at the Mountview Spa and Guest House was unquestionably one of my best Guest House experiences yet! Everything about this Guest House is just perfect! The Guest House manager, Joe, and the rest of his staff were absolutely lovely; I felt completely welcomed and well taken care of as a guest during my stay with them. The rooms themselves are modern, elegant and spacious, and the staff did an excellent job of ensuring that they were cleaned on a daily basis. The pool and the Jacuzzi are both an absolute treat and are just perfect for the hot summer days in Cape Town. And the cherry on the cake? This Guest House is but a stone-throw away from the hustle and bustle of main Sea Point area as well as the beauty and calmness of the Atlantic ocean. If you are not from Cape Town and looking for a place to stay whilst in Cape Town or if you are a Capetonian (like I am) looking to get away from life in the suburbs, Mountview Spa and Guest House is definitely a place worth checking out.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My husband and I had an excellent 2 night stay. After booking, Joe was quick to email and set up our airport transfer. The room was clean and nice, the location in Sea Point was fantastic. We walked to dinners and felt completely safe (which I can't say about other parts in Cape Town). Joe was very helpful setting up our rental car and provided great suggestions about restaurants, etc. I would completely recommend this great guest house!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttsalinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We were looking for a place to stay in Cape Town close to where our daughter stays in Seapoint - and came across Mountview!! Well that is the place for us!! Greeted by Marius, swopped wonderful salad recipes with Joe - it was like coming home!! The rooms were spotless and i have never slept in a more comfortable bed in any hotel/B&B!! The breakfasts were more than adequate and the staff were charming. The pool and jacuzzi i really enjoyed, and i loved the way this B&B just flowed - even Beaumont, the dog was so laid back!! Very well situated and we will definitely go back, if Joe will have us!!!

Room Tip: we had room with kindg size bed - wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinks53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Fantastic guesthouse, with lovely hosts and staff....not forgetting the beautiful Beaumont :)
Very clean and well looked after, will definately stay here on my next visit to Cape Town. It's a great location, equal distance between Camps Bay and the Waterfront. Missing their breakfasts already :(

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Now_worried84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We all go with friends to stay at Mountview , all very very good and staff very friendly.We go up table mountain, waterfront, robin island, catch bus and eat out at many good resterants you have in Capetown. We love the big pool and stay around it a lot with other friends, Joe to get a car but all hired. We caught tour bus which very good as it takes you all over. Room was very clean and modern and everything you need, we have dirty washing cleaned too as many days in Sud Afrika. Guesthouse is nice and quiet and we love dog! We want to come back some day and will ask Joe for stay at guesthouse please

Room Tip: All room same, very nice and good bed as sleep good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Mountview a few times and we will always go back! We love the home away from home feel, the rooms are fresh and clean and well appointed, and the atmosphere is chilled and relaxing! Marius and Joe are such gracious hosts and nothing is too much trouble!! We cant wait to go back in March 2013!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Antrim Villa
Antrim Villa
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#13 of 155 in Cape Town Central
511 reviews
0.1 mi away
AfricanHome Guesthouse
AfricanHome Guesthouse
#12 of 155 in Cape Town Central
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leeuwenzee Guest House
Leeuwenzee Guest House
#41 of 155 in Cape Town Central
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel
Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel
#45 of 155 in Cape Town Central
288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayflowers Guest House
Bayflowers Guest House
#11 of 155 in Cape Town Central
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountview Spa and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountview Spa and Guest House

Property: Mountview Spa and Guest House
Address: 208 High Level Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountview Spa and Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated 4 star graded guest house centrally situated in Sea Point. Walking distance to beach, shops, restaurants and transport. Close to V&A Waterfront, Camps Bay and Table Mountain. Facilities include pool, jacuzzi, sauna and massage treatments. Rooms are en-suite with satellite TV, hair dryer, coffee and tea facilities, ceiling fans, heaters, refrigerator, beach towels and other small extras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mountview Spa and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountview Spa And Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing