We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastico!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountview Spa and Guest House
Ranked #56 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Italy
1 review
“Fantastico!!!!!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had a lovely time at Mountview guesthouse. Everybody helpful and place looks very good, staff friendly and close to walk to beach. Breakfast was good and many restaurants down the road with good food and wine. Beautiful guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    30
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
88
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I stayed at Mountview for 12 days - and I have absolutely no complaints, but only good things to say about the management, the service, and the place. Whatever I wanted, the folks at Mountview made it happen for me - with absolute no hassle. Really, they were fantastic.

I was there to do some research and because I love nature, which makes Sea Point (this area of Cape Town) pretty much perfect. You can step outside the guesthouse and walk onto the tracks that take you to Lion's Head (and to Table Mountain if you're really fit). Also, the ocean (with its magnificent waves) are only 5 minutes walk away, as are several restaurants and shops etc.

If you are the kind of person who likes to "visit" nature, but strongly prefer hardcore city life, then I'd recommend staying downtown Cape Town. It takes about 40 minutes to walk downtown from Mountview, and it's a little too quiet in this area for such people, I think. But I was not one of them, but one of those who go to CT to enjoy the amazing nature with city life within relatively easy reach. So, for me, Mountview was simply terrific.

For those who likes nothing more than the ocean is that you cannot see the ocean from the guesthouse. It has a lovely pool etc., but you cannot sit and enjoy the waves outside the window or something. For me, again, this was not a problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank femaleacademic25805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is the second time that I have s
tayed at this guest house and enjoyed it so much that I decided to write a review.The place is exceptionally clean and rooms were warm.Noticed that there were air cons in the rooms too.We were treated as if it was our first time at the guest house again and no request was too much for the staff.Breakfast was more than adequate.There were a few changes to the guest house that we noticed from the last visit,particularly outside.Am always happy to return to Mountview. Well done team.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabbiclaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This was the first time I travelled alone in a while. I was a little scared but left feeling great. Joe made my mini break in Cape Town awesome. All the advice was useful and I felt totally safe. Sea Point is a great area to stay in as it is central to all the toursit spots I visited.My room was spotless and the breakfast was more than adequate. I took the restaurant tips from Joe and was not dissapointed. Hope to be back if not just to see Beaumont...lovely dog. Thanks to the staff too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I only stayed for 1 night, but it was enough to know that I'd come back again if ever in Cape Town. Great value for money. Good location in Sand Point (Cape Town), within walking distance to beach/promenade. Clean (maybe a bit small) room with a good size bathroom. Despite the main street having quite a bit of traffice, room was quiet.

Joe, the owner, is super helful and friendly. He recommended the Posticino Italian restaurant for pizza (one of the few placed open on Sunday) and we weren't dissapointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank en_ruta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We had an extremely enjoyable 5 day stay in Cape Town. Mountview is in a lovely location in Sea Point, a few minutes walk from the sea front and close to some very useful shops and excellent restaurants (just around the corner La Boheme in particular was fantastic - as recommended by Joe). We felt safe at all times in the area.
The rooms were pleasant and clean with gorgeous recently refurbished bathrooms and a very reasonable mini bar. Staff were all friendly and helpful, and Joe in particular went out of his way to find us airport transfers and taxis for day trips, all of which were much more reasonably priced than if we were to hail a taxi in the street etc.
There is a comfortable lounge well stocked with lots of tourist leaflets and maps. Outside, the pool and sunbathing area is small but perfectly formed, and the jacuzzi was a nice bonus! All of this was so quiet, it felt at times like we had our own villa!
The breakfast was also very good with plenty of choice to suit all tastes.
There is also a very sweet dog, Beaumont.
I would highly recommend Mountview for a stay, it was the perfect base from which to explore Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjones8585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Good place in the neighbourhood of all hotspots of capetown.Quiet place in Seapoint with perfect breakfast and good beds.
Small negative point: no airco in room. But a fan.That was a litte warm at night. Overall a stay t come back!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joe6000, Owner at Mountview Spa and Guest House, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for the review. We would like to add that we have now installed air conditioners in all the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Loloho Lodge
Loloho Lodge
#76 of 155 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel
Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel
#46 of 155 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#12 of 155 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apar...
#7 of 155 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Villa Rosa
The Villa Rosa
#18 of 155 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#27 of 155 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountview Spa and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountview Spa and Guest House

Property: Mountview Spa and Guest House
Address: 208 High Level Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountview Spa and Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated 4 star graded guest house centrally situated in Sea Point. Walking distance to beach, shops, restaurants and transport. Close to V&A Waterfront, Camps Bay and Table Mountain. Facilities include pool, jacuzzi, sauna and massage treatments. Rooms are en-suite with satellite TV, hair dryer, coffee and tea facilities, ceiling fans, heaters, refrigerator, beach towels and other small extras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mountview Spa and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountview Spa And Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing