We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice B&B, we really enjoyed! Thank You”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountview Spa and Guest House
Ranked #62 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The rooms were clean, breakfast was nice and the location also was good! Everyone is really kind and helpful in this B&B. We would definetly come visit capetown in this B&B again.
We really loved the african Style in here. You Need about 10 minutes to the waterfront and 2 oceans aquarium. Table Mountain was about 20 minutes. You can reach everything quickly.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marliilein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

After being disappointed reading the reviews of so many hotels in Cape Town, it was great to spend three nights at a location like Mountain View. The guest house clearly cares about guests from a warm welcome along with a great breakfast to start the day and returning to a modern-looking bedroom and on suite. Also there's the benefit of complimentary wifi. Mountain View is within easy walking distance from many of Cape Town's beaches while there's a bus stop just meters from the front gate. Congratulations and thanks to Joe and his staff in making a first visit to Cape Town so comfortable and reassuring.

Room Tip: Forget some of the 'name' hotels in Cape Town and enjoy the wonderful ambiance at Mountain V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernieMcGuire751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We had a good break with friends and family in South Africa and Cape Town, and we all travelled from Angola. We must recommend the Kruger Park as its worth seeing. Cape Town city has very good sites and so much to do and see. Cape Point you have to go and the penguins. The guesthouse is central and close to the beach, new bus service is outside guesthouse and very reliable, we didn't need a car, good restaurants down the road, its quite busy city with many people. We thank Joe who gave us good advise and guesthouse is very clean and room nice. Staff all reliable and friendly

Room Tip: Our room was quite one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antonieta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We went with friends from Angola to visit lovely South Afrika and Cape Town is amazing city with amazing beaches and people. We had a great time with my partner and the hotel is very nice. We appreciate all advise owner Joe gave us as we did not know your city. Love Beaumont and like a big teddybear. We spend lots of time on the beach as we from Brazil but living in Angola now so this is very important for us. The hotel had a nice big pool to lay in the afternoon and the breakfast was very good, thank you Joe! Say big thank you to your staff who very nice and clean rooms well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jao r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed at Mountview for 6 nights and my experience was very positive. Joe sat down with me for 30 minutes on the first day and explained about the tours, local stores, safety and all other questions I had about Cape Town. The hotel was kept clean at all times and I had no safety troubles as a single female traveller. Also the location of Mountview was quiet and safe but also convenient enough to reach the local stores by foot and had a good access to local transportation. Sea Point neighborhood has a great view of mountains and the ocean breath is just a 5 minutes walk away. I highly recommend Mountview for Cape Town travelers :))

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yukess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here in early November and had a great time. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The place has a very welcoming atmosphere. Joe was a great source of information and knowledge. Our room was a good size and the bathroom very modern and clean. The breakfasts were tasty and wholesome. We used the pool and the jacuzzi which were an added bonus. Seapoint is a great place to base yourself especially now with the new buses from just next door to the guest house into the city and the waterfront. We would stay here again and would recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeevesofnorthlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had a nice time at this place. The only thing that I found challenging was the bathroom - its small and built into a corner of the bedroom and the partition is not a real door, it doesn't go from floor to ceiling. So forget about having any privacy! The sink is also outside this area, basically its right next to the bed. Its not bad, but just be aware of this in advance if you are there for a romantic holiday. :-) Other than that it was fine. Easy walk to the beach. Airport pick up arrangement via a local taxi worked well. Lots of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redskins70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joe6000, Manager at Mountview Spa and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

We are surprised that nothing was mentioned to management about the room. There were other rooms available with completely separate bathrooms. The bathroom in this particular room is totally enclosed in frosted glass from the floor to ceiling giving it a modern look. The door is real but it is made of glass.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#37 of 156 in Cape Town Central
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leeuwenzee Guest House
Leeuwenzee Guest House
#51 of 156 in Cape Town Central
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cape Standard
Cape Standard
#13 of 156 in Cape Town Central
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#12 of 156 in Cape Town Central
523 reviews
0.8 mi away
Point B Guest House
Point B Guest House
#53 of 156 in Cape Town Central
111 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cape Finest Guesthouse
Cape Finest Guesthouse
#44 of 156 in Cape Town Central
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountview Spa and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountview Spa and Guest House

Address: 208 High Level Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £73 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountview Spa and Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated 4 star graded guest house centrally situated in Sea Point. Walking distance to beach, shops, restaurants and transport. Close to V&A Waterfront, Camps Bay and Table Mountain. Facilities include pool, jacuzzi, sauna and massage treatments. Rooms are en-suite with satellite TV, hair dryer, coffee and tea facilities, ceiling fans, heaters, refrigerator, beach towels and other small extras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Mountview Spa and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountview Spa And Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing