We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toilet in room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountview Spa and Guest House
Ranked #58 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Toilet in room”
Reviewed 22 November 2009

The weather wasn't good for our stay here which meant we couldn't enjoy the lovely outside space, pool or jacuzzi, which is mostly why we had booked this guesthouse. No fault of anyone, but it was a shame. The rooms were nice and I can't speak for all of them, but the one we were in had the whole bathroom inside, with the toilet only shielded by a low wall. You need to be very comfortable with whoever you share with in this room! I would still recommend Mountview, but would advise checking the toilet situation beforehand! Also, there was a lack of complimentary drinks as mentioned on their website. The place was furnished and decorated well, with a nice communal lounge area.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigSoftie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joe6000, Owner at Mountview Spa and Guest House, responded to this review, 9 October 2010
The bathrooms are all enclosed now.There is a complimentary drink on arrival.It does not say complimentary drinks on the website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    30
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
89
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2009

I would recommend this B&B to others. Breakfasts were good. Rooms were clean, comfortable and modern. Good value for your money. The only reason I didn't give this place 5 stars is that parking was a bit of an issue.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gublevart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Joe and Marius were the perfect hosts in this tranquil, beautiful guest house which feels like a home away from home. My boyfriend and I enjoyed a wonderful 10 days here and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The famous Capetonian sights are easy to get to and the Sea is a mere 5 minutes walk away. All the rooms are lush and the breakfast yummy. Book...you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zna79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

My gf and I stayed here for 6 nights in the beginning of February and had a great time - so good we actually got engaged there =). Joe and the staff are very friendly and helpful and you really felt right at home with them. Breakfast was superb and the rooms very good and clean. The thing that made us give it a 5 was all these things and the fact that it's perfecly locationed. Everything is easy to reach and we got to feel some of the authentic Cape town atmosphere (that we thought places like Waterfront lacked - like a disneyland for tourists). We loved going down Main road, going to Greeen Point etc. Hopefully we'll be back in 5/10 years to celebrate our anniversary.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stromstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

We had an amazing 2 week stay at the guest house. It is well located between town and beach. The rooms are well decorated and public areas are all spotlessly clean and welcoming. The continental style breakfast was always great.
There is a very well maintained outdoor small salt water pool and jacuzzi, with a deck to sunbathe on.
The best aspect of the guest house are the owners. Joe and Marius were helpful from the moment we booked and nothing was too much trouble for them. We would definitely recommend the Mountview Spa to any of our friends.
Thanks Guys!

  • Liked — the owners are incredibly friendly- spotlessly clean surroundings!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schemie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2008

We stay at the Mountview Spa for 5 days in August and it was superb.. we felt like we were in our own home it was that comfortable! Joe was superb at organising everything and this made the stay run like clockwork! The breakfasts are wonderful especially the crossiants.. this sets you up for a great day seeing the city! I would recommend it for anyone who is unsure of where to stay and a bit cautious of booking on line.. worry no more! It is also very easy to get to the waterfront and well located for everything.. thanks again guys! Paul, Clair and Mark

  • Liked — Breakfasts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2008

A most enjoyable stay at a well located guest house in the heart of Cape Town (Sea Point). Rooms were modern, clean, comfortable and to a high standard. Our hosts were most welcoming and friendly. We would highly recommend this guest house and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — clean and modern rooms
  • Disliked — no parking
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrottesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Antrim Villa
Antrim Villa
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#13 of 155 in Cape Town Central
511 reviews
0.1 mi away
AfricanHome Guesthouse
AfricanHome Guesthouse
#12 of 155 in Cape Town Central
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leeuwenzee Guest House
Leeuwenzee Guest House
#41 of 155 in Cape Town Central
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel
Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel
#45 of 155 in Cape Town Central
288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayflowers Guest House
Bayflowers Guest House
#11 of 155 in Cape Town Central
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountview Spa and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountview Spa and Guest House

Property: Mountview Spa and Guest House
Address: 208 High Level Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountview Spa and Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated 4 star graded guest house centrally situated in Sea Point. Walking distance to beach, shops, restaurants and transport. Close to V&A Waterfront, Camps Bay and Table Mountain. Facilities include pool, jacuzzi, sauna and massage treatments. Rooms are en-suite with satellite TV, hair dryer, coffee and tea facilities, ceiling fans, heaters, refrigerator, beach towels and other small extras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mountview Spa and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountview Spa And Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing