We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd great trip to this little gem !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountview Spa and Guest House
Ranked #60 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2010

This was my 2nd trip ( unplanned this time and they turn out the best!!) to this little piece of paradise, and again it was great in every way!! Great weather, hosts, breakfast, private, lovely pool area and it was all just spot on! Cape town has it all and is one of those magical places to visit time and time again, and the World Cup is going to be mad and the best event to show the rest of world what South Africa is capable of!! Good luck you guys and hope the guesthouse does well!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert2151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2010

I stayed at this guesthouse in the middle of the December madness that happens in Cape Town and I loved it. great personal attention from the owners, sparkling clean rooms and a location that is close to all the action without being in the middle of it. easy to get around - to CT city centre, Camps bay etc etc. Amazing decor, lovely clean pool and jacuzzi - I didnt want to leave! I would wholeheartedly recommend this gueshouse to couples, solo travellers, business travellers.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We were extremely happy with our 3 nights in South Africa here. The location is perfect for day trips and restaurants are just a couple blocks away. We felt very safe here. Joe was the perfect host, answering all our questions and even calling ahead and booking outings for us. We loved Beaumont the dog, as well. Breakfasts were some of the best we had on our trip.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthursmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We are pleased to recommend tje Guest House - thanks to service minded Marius and Joe and also Beaumont (the weimaraner dog)! Overall the athmosphere of the accommodation was cozy.

The location is great with easy access to restaurants of Main Rd, to Beach and even by walking to Waterfront.

We do understand some people may feel it somehow incovinient to have a shower and a toilet at the same open room. For the price this accommodation is still a great value and we´d definately like to be back to Cape town and Mountview Spa & Guesthouse.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkpm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

just returned from my second stay at Mountview this year and will be returning end of Dec/Jan 2010.

very clean guesthouse, secure, fantastic pool, excellent decor and two wonderful hosts who are more than helpful. (In fact they are even organising payment of a parking ticket I got!)

Excellent location, central yet away from the noise/bustle of the Waterfront or Camps Bay.

Personally I don’t think it is a massive problem that some of the rooms have an open plan bathroom although I believe the remaining rooms are all being redesigned this year anyway. In the meantime, for the shyer ones (or those sharing with their Granny), you can always take a book and relax for half hour by the pool or on the big leather couch..................

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamieduchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2009

We had travelled to south africa for our honeymoon and had planned for lovely Cape Town to be our final stop of a three week whirlwind tour.
After driving for 6 hours from Oudtschoorn, my husband and I were exhausted and looking forward to a nice bath and relax at the eagerly anticipated Moutview Spa and Guesthouse, which we had booked to stay at for 5 nights.
After struggling to park and then drag our suitcases, we were shown around the Guesthouse. The pool was nice, however hardly relaxing as it was next to an extremely busy main road. We were then taken into the building which looked clean and modern. We were led to our room by Joe and given the key. Disappointingly, there was no safe in the room so we were going to have to carry our valuables with us everywhere. suffice it to say, we didnt get to have our relaxing bath (as there was no bath available) and the absolute downer was that the toilet was in the bedroom! ok, there was a tiny wall half covering it, but that only blocks out view if the other person is sitting quite far away and it certainly doesnt block out sounds or smells!!!! We were so disappointed that this was the way we were going to spend the last 5 nights of our honeymoon, we actually only ended up staying one night and then checking out as soon as possible and finding somewhere else to spend the end of the holiday. The other hotel we found actually ended up upgrading us to a suite which they decorated with petals and a complementary bottle of champagne- certainly a lot more than we were offered at Mountview Spa and Guesthouse. Oh and on top of this, there was never any staff around to speak to about tourist attractions they would recommend!
Overall, a horrible experience that I would not receommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Renshinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joe6000, Owner at Mountview Spa and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2010

On Arrival all guests are given an intro to Cape Town and a map. We recommend places to visit,location,restaurants etc. We were never informed that the guests were on honeymoon. Our honeymoon guests do get rose petals and champagne if requested.The guests did not inform me that they were not happy with the room as we would have given them another room with an enclosed bathroom.They never requested for a room with a bath when they booked.
The guests informed me that there friends were outside Cape Town and that they wanted to join them. I explained that we would have to fill up the room before I could refund them any money back (standard refund policy as published and accepted by them). They were not happy with this at all as they wanted a full refund.

I felt that they just wanted to move in with their friends and they

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Very nice little guesthouse in Cape Town's Sea Point district that serves as an excellent home base for getting to know the city and its surroundings.
We stayed for 4 nights and Joe our host provided us with lots of information on where to go for dinner, where to shop etc.

There is no separate parking lot or garage but we had no problems. We also felt quite save at night in that area of Cape Town.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tibulski77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Leeuwenzee Guest House
Leeuwenzee Guest House
#47 of 156 in Cape Town Central
95 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#34 of 156 in Cape Town Central
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#12 of 156 in Cape Town Central
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cape Standard
Cape Standard
#13 of 156 in Cape Town Central
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sweet Olive Guesthouse
Sweet Olive Guesthouse
#62 of 156 in Cape Town Central
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Loloho Lodge
Loloho Lodge
#80 of 156 in Cape Town Central
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountview Spa and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountview Spa and Guest House

Address: 208 High Level Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £77 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountview Spa and Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated 4 star graded guest house centrally situated in Sea Point. Walking distance to beach, shops, restaurants and transport. Close to V&A Waterfront, Camps Bay and Table Mountain. Facilities include pool, jacuzzi, sauna and massage treatments. Rooms are en-suite with satellite TV, hair dryer, coffee and tea facilities, ceiling fans, heaters, refrigerator, beach towels and other small extras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Mountview Spa and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountview Spa And Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing