We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could it be better?”
Review of Acorn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Acorn House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The answer to my question is No. From the moment we arrived (early after an overnight from London) we were made to feel special by Stewart & the team. Tea & coffee were served in the lounge while our rooms were prepared, in what was a very short time our friends were shown to their room on the 1st floor, we were then taken out the back to what I can only describe as a small cottage, with bedroom, en-suite & own living room leading to a fully kitted out patio.
The staff are fantastic and so helpful & obliging, Stewart went out of his way to recommend where to go (pre booking us if it was needed) & recommending & booking the most fantastic restaurants for us for the evenings.
I am looking to return to SA & Cape Town again & the first accommodation I will book will be here.
My only gripe is I put on some weight with their marvellous breakfasts, a small price to pay though.
We'll be back!
(Bondy)

Room Tip: If you get the chance take the suite out the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bondy586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

From the moment we arrived at Acorn House we were given a really warm welcome. As we had arrived at 11.00am our room was not quite ready but Michelle brought us some coffee & some delicious biscuits while she introduced us to all the best places to go in Capetown.

Acorn house is ideally situated for trips to the centre and also to Cape Point. Taxis are readily booked if required.

The room was spotless and all credit to Beate, the owner, fot attention to detail. It was beautifully furnished with a really comfortable double bed. Complimentary sherry was provided in the room which was very welcome. The bathroom was again spotless with a lovely big bath and shower over. All in all very comfortable accomodation.

Breakfasts were superb catering for all tastes from full English to a vast array of cold meats and cheeses as well as 'speciality' dishes from Janine in the kitchen.

The staff could not have been more helpful. Stewart was very knowlegeable on local dining and helped us find great dining which he happily booked for us. They had good relations with a local cab company to make sure we paid the correct fares.

We had a most enjoyable stay and would highly recommend this guest house to anyone visiting Capetown, Many thanks to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable. Sadly, the weather wasn't particularly good during our stay but, at least, we had a comfortable haven to come back to.

Room Tip: Acorn House is in a quiet area and I believe all rooms are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LandB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This was our first stop on our honeymoon, and it was amazing!!!
Before we even arrived I had emailed and asked for a recommendation for a place to get a massage upon our arrival. Stewart's response was almost immediate and after another email he had us booked in for a couples massage and had arranged for transport there!! He was just stupendous. Anything we needed he arranged or advised us. We wanted to walk places so he drew out routes for us on the map, and explained the areas. Breakfast was delicious with choices of cold cereal, fruits, cheeses, muffins, breads homemade jams and brownies/scones and fantastic eggs cooked any way you want with a plethora of omelet choices. Their restaurant and activity recommendations were fabulous and the rooms were beautiful with old restored wood floors and attention to detail. There was an honesty bar and a great wood burning fireplace, and from our room there were beautiful views looking out onto the city. It is out of the bustle of the city, but close enough that we walked to the waterfront (an hour walk). Possibly our favorite were the little notes that were left and the turn down service with lavender or chocolates. This is truly a unique place and we would recommend it to everyone!! Stewart was on top of every detail of our trip, and it seemed that he was a mid reader because he anticipated our moves. It was just perfect!!

Room Tip: The two front rooms have a balcony with amazing views of the city below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roamingkatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We arrived off an overnight flight at 09:00 and the room was ready within 30 minutes. It was a nice big comfortable room with a big bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful, offering as much advice as you wanted, reserving tables, taxis etc. Breakfast was very good with an excellent fruit salad, a good range of teas and nice cooked options. The first night, on staff recommendation, we walked to Nelson’s Eye (10 – 15 minutes away) and walked back. Every time we returned, we were offered tea / coffee (no self-serve option). We never made it to the deli a few yards away, which did look like a good option for a simple early evening meal. 15 minutes’ walk from the HOHO bus and the top of Company Gardens, otherwise taxi.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank libelle622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Acorn House for four nights during our honeymoon in Cape Town and had a wonderful time! The guesthouse is very homey, clean, and comfortable. It's also in a great location (within 15 minute walk to the city center). The staff was also very accommodating. They were always willing to book day trips for us, give us restaurant suggestions, and even gave us a free bottle of champagne one night to congratulate us on our wedding. Great price for what you get, would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our first few nights accommodation of our holiday were spent at Acorn House so without spending too much time waxing lyrical about this place here are the facts.
1/ The team, seemingly led by Stewart, cannot do enough for you and they are full of helpful hints on places to visit, restaurants etc etc.
2/ Service - 5 star service in terms of the room being serviced and attention to detail.
3/ The rooms are lovely - well at least mine was. Spacious with en suite bathroom and very nice hand / shower wash / shampoo etc.
4/ Breakfast - first class and most mornings there was a "special".
5/ Location - quiet residential suburb a short taxi ride from town. Taxis are inexpensive if you use the company that Stewart recommends.
6/ Would I stay there again? Without a moments hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a good view over the city but you can hear the occasional car drive by. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aitchhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We spent 2 nights at Acorn House, and it's really quite a nice place. An amazing value for the price. Breakfast spread was phenomenal and we really enjoyed meeting/talking to Stewart. I have 2 minor issues that I know Acorn House cannot do much about BUT this is a good place to mention them. 1- no parking. I know it's Cape Town, and should have expected it, but it was a bit of a bear lugging the baby and his car seat everywhere. The front stairs were also a bit of a challenge since I had so much stuff, and when we happened to arrive, there didn't seem to be anyone available to help shlep bags. It was a minor inconvenience - particularly because it was spritzing a bit, but I got over it. If you don't have a lot of bags and want the workout, you'll do fine! 2 - we happened to have noisy upstairs neighbors who seemed to come in very late, and then left quite early in the morning. I didn't sleep very well, and because of it, was also aware of kitchen sounds early in the morning, since our room was just around the corner. So, I would request an upstairs room next time.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinkfiece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,440 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,042 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
651 reviews
City Bowl
Nine Flowers Guest House
Nine Flowers Guest House
#2 of 156 in Cape Town Central
465 reviews
Welgelegen
#10 of 156 in Cape Town Central
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn House

Address: 1 Montrose Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £66 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorn House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Town at its best! Set on the slopes of Table Mountain, Acorn House offers spectacular mountain, city and harbour views and provides convenient access to Cape Town's numerous places of interest. Stroll through the fragrant garden. Indulge in an opulent breakfast around the pool. Browse the well stocked wine cellar. Simply enjoy the charming house, 100 years old and still fresh. Close to popular restaurants. All tours and transfers arranged with pleasure. Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Acorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing