We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodation Choice”
Review of Acorn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Acorn House
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Accommodation Choice”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed at Acorn House for 5 days in February 2014 and am so glad that I did! The house is beautiful, the gardens are stunning and the service is better than any 5 star hotel. Beate, Stewart, Denise and all the "Acorns" make you feel truly welcome. Upon arrival over the weekend, Beate settled me in with a refreshing glass of water and offers to book day trips, dinner reservations and anything else I wanted to do while in the Mother City. Stewart and Denise continued to make me feel very welcome and helped me by booking tours throughout the week. Every time I walked through the door there was always someone to greet me, inquire about my day and offer to book the next adventure for me. Unlike the impersonal service at a hotel, the people at Acorn House truly care about you and your visit to Cape Town. Highly recommended. I would come back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I stayed in the cozy single room which is great value for a solo traveller. Spotlessly clean with f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanieAJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    33
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
66
284
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

It really fitted the bill. Stewart was enormously helpful and recommended perfect restaurants that really suited us both - a real mixture of Waterfront fun, Sea Point chic and steaks to die for at Nelson's Eye. Our room was a bit noisy but really it was a lovely place to arrive at after a long flight from the UK.

Room Tip: away from the road???!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halftidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here in January this year, and the place is beautiful, it's in a great location to get anywhere in Cape Town, we found that the close proximity to bus stop (once you've got a MyCiti pass, which is also walking distance) was ideal, and there's tonnes nearby within walking distance. Everyone is so helpful, and for people like us that take forever to make a decision, this is a Godsend, every bit of advice was perfect and really helped us out! We'd definitely stay here again on our next trip to Cape Town. We also needed an extra night which was immediately catered for.

Aaron & LauraXxX

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azzinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swoope, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed at the Acorn House for five nights in January. It is beautiful, very clean and very safe. The breakfasts were scrumptious and it is walking distance to the tour bus stops. The best part were the people taking care of our every need. Many thanks to Annali, Stewart and Beate for a wonderful stay. You made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Staff went out of their way to help. Our stay was pleasant and the room was great, even if I found the decor a bit dated. However, it did fit in with the country manor atmoshere of the place. Oranjezicht is a great place to stay, especially with the new MyCiti bus routes. On Saturday mornings there's a great neighbourhoods market in the park across the road

Room Tip: I stayed in the front attic room. It has a great view of Cape Town and a balcony, but it got a bit w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diehond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

After a long journey to Cape Town, Acorn House was a wonderful relief. Thoughtful staff and lovely rooms and excellent breakfasts made our stay in Cape Town the highlight of our trip. We all wished we could have stayed longer, a lot longer!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Superbly located with a backdrop of Table Mountain, it is tastefully furbished, impeccably clean, comfortable with a great welcome and lovely food.
A far superior experience to staying in an impersonal hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emililly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,391 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parker Cottage
#1 of 155 in Cape Town Central
1,016 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 155 in Cape Town Central
239 reviews
Rouge on Rose
#6 of 155 in Cape Town Central
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn House

Property: Acorn House
Address: 1 Montrose Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorn House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Town at its best! Set on the slopes of Table Mountain, Acorn House offers spectacular mountain, city and harbour views and provides convenient access to Cape Town's numerous places of interest. Stroll through the fragrant garden. Indulge in an opulent breakfast around the pool. Browse the well stocked wine cellar. Simply enjoy the charming house, 100 years old and still fresh. Close to popular restaurants. All tours and transfers arranged with pleasure. Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Acorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing