We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location... not a 4 star experience though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location... not a 4 star experience though”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We knew we needed to expect lots of noise on this street and that was certainly the case (regardless of the day of the week, it's extremely loud outside at night), but what we weren't expecting was the basic nature of this apparently '4 star' hotel. While the room was a great size and very clean, it was a good 3 star perhaps, with all bar one staff member needing a serious reminder on how to do customer service!

Bizarrely, the hotel was in an argument with its neighbouring restaurant, so we had to walk about 100 yards for breakfast. While this is not really a huge problem, it does remove the ease of being able to 'pop in' for a quick piece of toast or similar, and meant that we only actually had breakfast on one of three days.

The location is great (if you're a good sleeper) and it's definitely clean, but go expecting 3 star and you'll be pleased... 4 star, and you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    93
    61
    31
    34
See reviews for
22
131
31
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is a good hotel in the centre of Long Street. Stayed for 10 days. Got a room in 4th floor. Some noise during weekend nights, but less than expected. Normal for a hotel in the centre for cities. Nice and clean room. Ok bed. Best of all: A very large and relaxing bathtub, used every evening. And separate shower. Friendly staff. One small minus - not all of the bath items was replaced every day. There breakfast during most of my stay was served in another hotel because of an issue with the company serving in the hotel, but I never eat breakfast anyway... :-) Recommend this hotel young people of all ages.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AirbusTronn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Overall, a very good value hotel in the heart of Cape Town. Being on Long Street, it was bound to be noisy - especially at the weekend. Hotel staff are friendly, and non-intrusive. Reception staff were happy to assist with travel arrangements/sightseeing. Housekeeping staff deserve praise for their attention to detail, returning each evening to see if anything else was required. Evening turn-down service was a very nice touch, especially after our long days out in the unforgiving African sun. Cooked breakfast was sufficient, but felt the cold buffet could have offered a little more, and perhaps have been better maintained. Hotel was kept well, clean and tidy. Room was comfortable, with plenty of storage and spectacular views.

Would certainly recommend to those who don't mind the buzz of Long Street - take ear plugs. A very nice hotel all round.

Room Tip: It's going to be noisy at night, but a room on the 6th floor may help to minimise sleep disrupti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed for 7 days and enjoyed. I found the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms are 4 star , but the rest of the hotel is a 3. The noise is very very loud as you are right in the heart of long street. The music stops at around 4am. It is certainly an experience to visit Long street by day and by night. It changes dramatically.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spinksy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Other reviews I read complaining about noise were somewhat unfair, in my opinion - a tiny bit of research and a bit of common sense should tell you to expect some noise in a BUSY nightlife area; I had no real problems on that score.
The room itself was impressive, as was the view (central city buildings notwithstanding).
Service was a bit mixed - the day reception girl while I was there was friendly and helpful. The bloke on night duty was helpful enough without saying a word. Breakfast (without there being anything badly wrong) could have been better with a little attention, mainly on the service front.
Parking was definitely a plus for me, probably the reason I picked this hotel, though the shared parking area is small, and you have to park on the street and then get reception to open it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors will be further from the street-noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at Urban Chic for the first part of our trip. We requested a room overlooking Table Mountain and found that they were very accommodating to that request. The room was very nice and a good size. The breakfast that is included is delicious; it included a number of hot and cold options and we certainly weren’t disappointed. The staff was increasingly helpful, suggesting a number of restaurants and activities for us. They also helped us with transportation when we needed it. Most importantly, the staff were very friendly, which made our experience in Cape Town that much better. Also the bar located in the hotel was excellent. The bartender was very friendly and actually gave us a gift that I still have today. Would recommend to anyone looking for a great hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bigwillie343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The hotel has been upgraded and the room and bathroom is very nice. However, if you go there you will need earplugs as the nightclubs go on all night and early morning. The first night we did not sleep at all. The second night we had earplugs which helped.
The included breakfast was average nothing to rave over.
I left my jacket on the chair when we left. We called the hotel after lunch and said where I had left it and it was stolen. Obviously by the cleaning staff and you would think they would know who cleans what rooms and make enquiries as to where the jacket was. But no customer service in this area.

Room Tip: Small hotel and all rooms face the nightclub areas. If you are looking for a good nights sleep, thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigercruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#38 of 109 in Cape Town Central
208 reviews
Cape Diamond Hotel
#78 of 109 in Cape Town Central
257 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 109 in Cape Town Central
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
986 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#50 of 109 in Cape Town Central
229 reviews
Cape Town Lodge
#74 of 109 in Cape Town Central
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Chic Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Chic Boutique Hotel

Property: Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Address: 172 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Urban Chic Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban Chic Hotel has 20 bedrooms and luxurious en-suite bathrooms that offers everything that an overseas tourist or corporate client could want, in the form of comfort and state-of-the-art amenities. The well-appointed rooms all have air-conditioning, and wireless communication ensure instant internet access for laptop users. Our Rooms have large windows that offer breathtaking views of Table Mountain, Lions Head and Signal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Urban Chic Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing