We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location... but not for light sleepers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Ranked #90 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in early April (Wed & Thurs nights).

A shuttle from Cape Town airport will cost 230ZAR
A taxi will cost 260ZAR

Upon arrival, I discovered the bar and restaurant was getting renovated so it should be better than before.
Breakfast was at a restaurant called Arriba down the road and full breakfast was fantastic.

Pro's:
- Comfortable King bed
- Well functioning amenities eg shower water pressure was good
- Deep bath
- Contemporary and new décor
- Convenience stores & Spar very close by up the road towards Kloof

Con's
- I was in Room 203 which was directly above Long st. Be warned that the crowd if you are a light sleeper, you won't sleep til after 2am. eg cars/bikes doing burnouts & general drunk crowd.

I booked knowing this but the bikes doing burnouts was a bit much.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We booked this hotel based on the reviews on Tripadvisor so we knew more or less what to expect. Being situated in a busy main street you would expect it to be slightly noisy at night as it was. We were there on a monday night and most of the clubs were closed se we did not have all the music playing into the night, we had some jazz music but that was actually nice.

The parking is limited so if they are full you might gave some trouble getting a space in the covered parking next to the building. However it is free of charge which is nice.

The location makes it great for exploring the inner city by foot, we were walking distance from the hop on hop off bus tours, one reason we booked there in the first place. We stayed only 1 night.

The room is very stylish and the bathroom is superb, can not fault them on the room. One thing to look out for is the window seals, if you do not close it properly you will get a whistle from the wind. Also we were rather tired coming back and did not notice the blinds behind the curtain to block out the street lights, our bad...

The room has nice aircon and man did we need it as it was supper hot in February.
We were on the second floor and you could see a bit of the mountain, i guess if you are on the top floor you will get a better view.

The breakfast is included, not the best but also not the worst. The price was pretty good for a boutique hotel. Free wifi and the bed was large and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room if they have, you can see more of the mountain and will be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaco182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on the 18th and 19th March. The room was the highlight of our stay - big, comfortable and great bathroom - this alone would deserve a better rating. The location is fabulous if you want to be able to go out on Long Street, it is in the heart of the action. The downside of course is the noise. We were expecting this however I do think the hotel could double glaze the windows to at least help reduce it and tinted windows could help improve privacy - we just had to keep the curtains closed. The biggest disappointment was the strange behaviour of the staff on reception. We were told by one member that we would be given a buzzer to use for the car park to get our car in/out after the gates were closed in the evening - then for some reason when we asked for the buzzer later on another staff member was acting like he knew nothing about it. He was really reluctant to give us one. He eventually gave in but it was just a weird encounter - not sure why he didn't want us to have access. The restaurant and terraced area was undergoing renovations when we stayed - it wasn't the end of the world and breakfast was served in a great place down the road - however I can see for some guests this would be annoying if there weren't warned in advance, which we weren't. For a party trip on Long Street this would be perfect. Otherwise, perhaps not the best option.

Room Tip: Maybe try a higher floor to reduce the noise if you think it will bother you?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClairePrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We knew we needed to expect lots of noise on this street and that was certainly the case (regardless of the day of the week, it's extremely loud outside at night), but what we weren't expecting was the basic nature of this apparently '4 star' hotel. While the room was a great size and very clean, it was a good 3 star perhaps, with all bar one staff member needing a serious reminder on how to do customer service!

Bizarrely, the hotel was in an argument with its neighbouring restaurant, so we had to walk about 100 yards for breakfast. While this is not really a huge problem, it does remove the ease of being able to 'pop in' for a quick piece of toast or similar, and meant that we only actually had breakfast on one of three days.

The location is great (if you're a good sleeper) and it's definitely clean, but go expecting 3 star and you'll be pleased... 4 star, and you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is a good hotel in the centre of Long Street. Stayed for 10 days. Got a room in 4th floor. Some noise during weekend nights, but less than expected. Normal for a hotel in the centre for cities. Nice and clean room. Ok bed. Best of all: A very large and relaxing bathtub, used every evening. And separate shower. Friendly staff. One small minus - not all of the bath items was replaced every day. There breakfast during most of my stay was served in another hotel because of an issue with the company serving in the hotel, but I never eat breakfast anyway... :-) Recommend this hotel young people of all ages.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AirbusTronn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Overall, a very good value hotel in the heart of Cape Town. Being on Long Street, it was bound to be noisy - especially at the weekend. Hotel staff are friendly, and non-intrusive. Reception staff were happy to assist with travel arrangements/sightseeing. Housekeeping staff deserve praise for their attention to detail, returning each evening to see if anything else was required. Evening turn-down service was a very nice touch, especially after our long days out in the unforgiving African sun. Cooked breakfast was sufficient, but felt the cold buffet could have offered a little more, and perhaps have been better maintained. Hotel was kept well, clean and tidy. Room was comfortable, with plenty of storage and spectacular views.

Would certainly recommend to those who don't mind the buzz of Long Street - take ear plugs. A very nice hotel all round.

Room Tip: It's going to be noisy at night, but a room on the 6th floor may help to minimise sleep disrupti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed for 7 days and enjoyed. I found the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms are 4 star , but the rest of the hotel is a 3. The noise is very very loud as you are right in the heart of long street. The music stops at around 4am. It is certainly an experience to visit Long street by day and by night. It changes dramatically.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spinksy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
226 reviews
City Bowl
Ikhaya Lodge
Ikhaya Lodge
#82 of 110 in Cape Town Central
77 reviews
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#102 of 110 in Cape Town Central
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
#106 of 110 in Cape Town Central
89 reviews
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
#78 of 110 in Cape Town Central
360 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#53 of 110 in Cape Town Central
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Chic Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Chic Boutique Hotel

Address: 172 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £64 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Urban Chic Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban Chic Hotel has 20 bedrooms and luxurious en-suite bathrooms that offers everything that an overseas tourist or corporate client could want, in the form of comfort and state-of-the-art amenities. The well-appointed rooms all have air-conditioning, and wireless communication ensure instant internet access for laptop users. Our Rooms have large windows that offer breathtaking views of Table Mountain, Lions Head and Signal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Urban Chic Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing