We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the place not to stay in Cape Town on this budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Ranked #91 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 21 September 2008

Sort of shadowy reception where they gave me some 30 minute internet vouchers after sending me an email that there was 24 wi-fi for free.

The rooms were nice but all the talk on their website about soundproofing is nonsense, it was incredibly noisy all nights.

The breakfast was decent but if this is you budget, stay near the Waterfront or closer to Table Mountain. Long Street is great if you a backpacker looking for fun and $20 room.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank saint77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2007

The hotel overall is good, nice rooms, good parking and extrmely more affordable than V&A hotels.

So a good choice for cape town.

The position is central, the area is safe only 5 min drive from waterfront (100 ZAR taxi)

The hotel overall is very clean...only thing that bed sheets are all old and sometimes have scratches and some dirt... so we asked them to replace the sheets a couple of time... but they were very kind.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Checco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2007

First, I have to give credit to Vanessa at the front desk. We had two fairly substantial mix-ups with our travel agent and she really did everything within her power to straighten things out. Considering neither were her or the hotel's fault, that's huge!

The hotel's design is lovely and very modern (perhaps too modern if design for design's sake doesn't appeal to you). Great bed and nice linens, bathrobe. Our room had a great view of Table Mountain. The location is good and very central (easy access to hop on/off tour bus, Greenmarket Square), but it's also "exposed" to the real city, as opposed to being cloistered behind a guard house. My mom called the evening walk home from dinner "scary." That may be a reaction to a new city, but we were approached for money. And when we got to the main revolving door, it was blocked with milk crates -- not exactly welcoming. We had to roust the evening attendant to let us in a side door.

These are the kind of things that make one feel they aren't exactly in a well-established sort of place. That and the fact that when we called to have amenities brought to our rooms (because there were none there when we arrived) we were brought half-empty bottles of shampoo. This happened to both my mother and me. The lounge wasn't open on Sunday, and the man at the desk when we arrive on Sunday was -- though nice and willing to try -- totally out of his element. It seemed like they popped the night watchman at the front desk.

Overall, with thanks again to Vanessa, I would try somewhere else on my next visit to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2006

We stayed for one night here when we arrived in Capetown enroute to drive the garden route. We were impressed with the cleanliness and modern style of the hotel.

We really didn't do much sightseeing from this location, however, found it to be quite central. We walked out during the day and felt quite safe. Across the street is a youth hostel and there must be a bar/club of some sort. Our room faced the front of the hotel and heard a lot of noise/commotion from the street at late night (it was a MONDAY!).

Everything was very clean and towels were fresh and new. Breakfast which was included was simple of breads, cheeses, fruit and meats, but satisfied us. If this hotel was in any North American city, you would find it quite nice. HOwever, in Capetown, due to the location, you perhaps could find some with nicer views (ie. Camps Bay/V&A waterfront) and more access to restaurants and activities.

Stayed: October 2006
5  Thank Trende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brunohgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Os quartos "de esquina" para a Long Street possuem belas vistas da Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiagomolnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Gdduarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#40 of 110 in Cape Town Central
215 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#50 of 110 in Cape Town Central
239 reviews
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#89 of 110 in Cape Town Central
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Diamond Hotel
#76 of 110 in Cape Town Central
272 reviews
City Bowl
Grand Daddy Hotel
Grand Daddy Hotel
#64 of 110 in Cape Town Central
367 reviews
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
#79 of 110 in Cape Town Central
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Chic Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Chic Boutique Hotel

Address: 172 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £63 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Urban Chic Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban Chic Hotel has 20 bedrooms and luxurious en-suite bathrooms that offers everything that an overseas tourist or corporate client could want, in the form of comfort and state-of-the-art amenities. The well-appointed rooms all have air-conditioning, and wireless communication ensure instant internet access for laptop users. Our Rooms have large windows that offer breathtaking views of Table Mountain, Lions Head and Signal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Urban Chic Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing