We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Howzit? Awesome hotel, great location, helpful staff...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Ranked #90 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Howzit? Awesome hotel, great location, helpful staff...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

Pros: Great little hotel with a helpful, knowledgeable staff. The location right on Long Street means restaurants, bars, and clubs are right outside your front door any night of the week.

Cons: Internet was a little pricey.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TekTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanChic172, Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2010
Thank you for your valuable feedback!

We are delighted that you have scored us 4/5 for Value, Rooms, Cleanliness, Service and Sleep Quality and 5/5 for Location. As stated in your review we are conveniently located and are situated among restaurants, bars, and clubs in Cape Town, all within walking distance. We often are commended by our location

With regards to the Internet, we offer our guests the first 20 mega bytes at no cost thereafter we charge 60cents per mega byte i.e. R 30.00 for every 50 mega bytes. We have made comparisons with nearby internet cafes and they are relative to industry prices, our internet service provider (which is outsourced) service a number of restaurants and businesses in Cape Town so thier prices should remain fixed to accommodate all thier clients.

Thanks again for your wonderful review and we hope to accommodate you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Urban Chic Boutique Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    90
    57
    30
    34
See reviews for
22
127
30
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
johannesburg
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

i've stayed at Urban Chic several times, its a regular location for me when on business in Cape Town.
Generally - friendly, if a little fumbling, staff, clean rooms, excellent cold & hot breakfast included in the price- which, based on the usual R950 room price, is very good value. Usual breakfast in a CPT hotel is going to set you back around R85.
Location cannot be beaten - 2 minutes to anywhere interesting on Long Street. Yes, it can be a little noisy - especially on Friday / Saturday nights- but this is a city hotel, right in the middle of the entertainment area, and that's why you're staying there.
No room service, which is agravating, but approx 15 places to eat on Long Street, so get out the room.
Nice modern rooms / bathrooms, floor to ceiling glass with mountain views.

For about 65GBP - what more do you want? I've stayed in more than a few hotels in Cape Town, this is the only one that doesn't double its rates in tourist season!

recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndySmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanChic172, Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2010
Thank you for your enquiry!

We appreciate your valued feedback which allows us to constantly improve our services and facilities to promote our guest satisfaction.

We noticed you scored us 5/5 for Value and Location. 4/5 for Rooms, Cleanliness and Sleep Quality and 3/5 for service.

We take pride in our location as we are in the middle of the city centre, surrounding restaurants, bars, clubs and as you stated 2 minutes from interesting spots in Long Street and the Central Business District. Yes, on Friday and Saturday nights Long Street becomes populated by locals and visitors alike wanting to experience the vibe of the city which can lead to higher volumes of noise, approx 5% of our guests complain about the noise whereas others expect the noise levels because of the location of the hotel. We offer Room service in the evenings, perhaps it might have been a Sunday night when our restaurant was closed in the evening that Room Service might not have been available. Our Front Office staff have many recommendations for nearby restaurants in the area. Thank you for acknowledging our competitive rates, this we have been commended on by tour operators and travel agents in the industry who have all said that our rates offered consumers value for money and not forgetting our free value-adds for complimentary parking, full english breakfast and 20 mega bytes free internet during the stay.

We appreciate your review and hope that you will consider staying with us again when you plan your next business trip.

Kind regards

Urban Chic Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

This charming hotel has a great location in Long Street. That's nice if you are looking for a a lively and exciting party of town. If you are however looking for a quiet night sleep, you may want to book elsewhere. We stayed two nights and found the noise to be hardly noticeable on the first night, but annoying on the second night when it went on until about 3 am.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drifter_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanChic172, Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2009
Thank you for taking the time to right your review! Your feedback is vital to the success and growth of our business.

We noticed that we scored 5/5 for Service and 3/5 for facilities and location.

We take pride in our location and market ourselves as a Chic City Hotel, we aim to attract guests who visit Cape Town to experience the rich culture and vibrancy of the city.

Sincerly,
Urban Chic Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights in January. A very stylish hotel. Great service. Secure parking in a nearby garage. I didn´t get the wifi to work so I had to use the computer at the front desk. But beware, the street outside (Long street) is very noisy and none of us got any sleep any of the nights we stayed there.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying_Marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanChic172, Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2009
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback which is vital to the growth and success of our business!

We noticed that we scored 5/5 for Service, Rooms and Cleanliness and 2 for Value and 1 for Location.

We are located in the hubbard of Cape Town's City Centre and January is known to be peak season with more visitors to the area. Thank you for choosing to stay with us

Sincerly,
Urban Chic Management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

close to city centre, helpful staff, nice rooms but extremely noisy from 7am and all night!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anushka10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanChic172, Manager at Urban Chic Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2009
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback which is vital to the growth and success of our business.

We noticed that we scored 5/5 for Rooms, 4/5 for Service, Cleanliness and Value and 2 for location.

We are situated in the City Centre and we market ourselves as a Chic Urban Hotel where one can experience the vibrant culture in the heart of Cape Town. We thank you for selecting us and trust we made your stay a memorable one.

Sincerly,
Urban Chic Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

Sort of shadowy reception where they gave me some 30 minute internet vouchers after sending me an email that there was 24 wi-fi for free.

The rooms were nice but all the talk on their website about soundproofing is nonsense, it was incredibly noisy all nights.

The breakfast was decent but if this is you budget, stay near the Waterfront or closer to Table Mountain. Long Street is great if you a backpacker looking for fun and $20 room.

  • Liked — cool rooms, good view, decent breakfast
  • Disliked — noise all night, dodgy area
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank saint77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padova, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2007

The hotel overall is good, nice rooms, good parking and extrmely more affordable than V&A hotels.

So a good choice for cape town.

The position is central, the area is safe only 5 min drive from waterfront (100 ZAR taxi)

The hotel overall is very clean...only thing that bed sheets are all old and sometimes have scratches and some dirt... so we asked them to replace the sheets a couple of time... but they were very kind.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — bed sheets
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Checco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#44 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Town Lodge
Cape Town Lodge
#71 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#39 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#37 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#49 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#79 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Chic Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Chic Boutique Hotel

Property: Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Address: 172 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Urban Chic Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban Chic Hotel has 20 bedrooms and luxurious en-suite bathrooms that offers everything that an overseas tourist or corporate client could want, in the form of comfort and state-of-the-art amenities. The well-appointed rooms all have air-conditioning, and wireless communication ensure instant internet access for laptop users. Our Rooms have large windows that offer breathtaking views of Table Mountain, Lions Head and Signal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Urban Chic Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing