We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa
Ranked #20 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Spent 3 weeks at the Romney over Christmas and New Year.. Staff were very helpful, polite and eager to please. They arranged all our requested restaurant bookings and transport there and back. Hotel is in an excellent location at Greenpoint, Close to V & A waterfront, city & suburbs. Rooms were kept clean and tidy & were spacious. Any monor problem were quickly resolved by the staff. Had a lovely holiday, our 3rd in fantastic Cape Town

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabethmcLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2010

I was slightly aprehensive following some of the reviews of this hotel, however i had no reason to be! the TERRIBLE steps i had read about that were no more than 6 steps were lined with stunning flowers! The suit was clean, bright and well equiped. After a long flight we ordered room service which was well presented and excellent standard. Views from our balcony were lovely overlooking a quiet area. We were a pleasant 20 min walk to the V&A and oinly five minutes away from more local shops and resturants. Great place to base yourself in capetown!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed at Romney Suites for 4 nights of our three week driving holiday and just loved it.
We arrived at night, and because it has hotel facilities like room service and restaurant we could order in and not worry about going out again to get supplies.
Had the suite on the top floor which had a fantastic balcony with great water views, fully furnished with couches and table setting, we could see the whole area including the stadium and Robben Island.

Location in Greenpoint was ideal for us having a car, as everything was just a few minutes drive, in particular the waterfront. Secure parking was provided in the garage just a few steps from the lifts to the room.

The room was lovely despite being a bit worn in spots, more like an apartment. Decor is traditional in style and very comfy and homely with plump couches to relax on in the evenings, plenty of storage in drawers and cupboards, as well as walk in robes. Kitchen was great, fully equipped for self catering, double door fridge, oven, microwave, hotplates, crockery, pots and pans etc, granite benches and so on. The room was massive, would really suit two couples or a family as the second bedroom had a queen bed, its own fully equipped bathroom, and walk in robe.

The restaurant and room service were very good, breakfast was included and had a full buffet plus hot food to order.

All in all a very enjoyable and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesandmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We decided to stay here to get closer to the beaches after spending a week at the Spier Hotel. We expected to stay in the Senator Suite but they upgraded us to the Ambassador Suite without really telling us... wow!!! The suite was on the fourth floor with unbelievable views of the ocean and the stadium. It has two bedrooms, two bathrooms with an extra guest toilet. The main bedroom has a huge tub and a shower with walk in cupboards.The decor alone is exquisite and incredibly tasteful. There is a huge balcony with outside furniture... I cannot wait to sit out there and have a glass of the wine I bought from Meerlust. We were very warmly welcomed at the front desk, and a porter was available and helped us with our massages. The complimentary back massage adn other spa treatments were amazing. The food was delicious... or at least the things we tried were.

Basically, we stayed here because my mother had a shopping agenda.... but after getting into the hotel, and seeing as it was a cold, overcast day, she cancelled all her shopping plans and sat on the balcony drinking copious amounts of tea as any english lady would! She is a hard to please woman and she was 100% satisfied!

In sum, this is an absolutely amazing hotel, a real gem in the area. It is especially perfect if you have access to a car or have a rental car, you will thoroughly enjoy it. They have a decent spread on their menus and their food is quite good. Service is amazing, with secure parking in a closed garage. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocJewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Very nice hotel, with good and very friendly staff. The location is good, although there are no restaurants and/or bars in easy walking distance of the hotel. However, by taxi the V&A Waterfront is easy in about 10' or euro 4. There is a very well equipped kitchen and a nice veranda to enjoy a good wine with view of the new Cape Town stadium. Our room was 506 and we recommend it.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Katerina78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights in a beautiful large 2 bedroom unit. It was a complete apartment with kitchen,dining, living rooms and 2 bedrooms and a guest toilet. We ad a gigantic balcony with great views of the Cape Town habour. Immaculate decor and very clean. Nice staff who were very helpful.

A couple of minor niggles. No restaurants within close walking distance really and also you had to drag your luggae up a flight of stairs from the street.

Overall strongly recommended if you want top quality serviced self catering apartment close to downtown Cape Town

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brodiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Romney Park Hotel is situated in Green Point, which is reasonably central. It is potentially walking distance to the Waterfront, but taxis are so cheap and convenient that we always got taxis. Our impression of Green Point was that it is lovely in parts and run down in others, but we did not feel unsafe in anyway.

When we arrived we were upgraded from a standard suite to a senator suite, which oddly enough they did not even mention, they just checked us into the room. The suite was fantastic with a huge lounge, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a fully equipped kitchen. We did not use the 2nd bedroom at all as there were only 2 of us. I think it would be a fantastic place to stay for a family of four. One bathroom had a huge bathtub and the other one had a powerful shower. The lounge was very comfortable and there are lots of details to the decor. The bed was really comfy as well. The kitchen has everything you need including a hob, oven and microwave. We only used it to make breakfast (as breakfast is not included) and we microwaved some lunch once.

We also had an outside terrace with patio furniture. We were on the ground floor so the only downside was we did not have a view. If you are on one of the upper floors I think you would have a great view of the sea.

We used the private parking facility which costs R60 a day and allows you to put your car in a proper garage. We did not get a chance to use the swimming pool which was quite small but looked quite nice.

The service at the hotel is good, but quite low key. Everything was always very clean and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinchy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,758 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#23 of 110 in Cape Town Central
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
425 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,073 reviews
1.4 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa

Address: Corner of Hill & Romney Roads | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Romney Park Luxury Suites & Wellness Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#12 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £108 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romney Park offers 30 sea facing suites, each with 1 or 2 bedrooms, private balcony, lounge/dining area and kitchenette. Hotel facilities include a restaurant, bar & spa. Free wi-fi access throughout the hotel. Awarded Best All Suite Hotel 2010 in RSA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romney Park All Hotel Cape Town Central
Romney Park All Suite Hotel And Spa
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing