We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Shabbat”
Review of Dunkley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunkley House
Ranked #93 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Cape Town
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tranquil Shabbat”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Due to health circumstances we had to stay close to the Synagogue and Dunkley House was the most charming guest house. Rooms very beautiful and so peaceful. Staff very friendly. It would be my ideal place to stay if I was on holiday in Cape Town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenecruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    73
    21
    9
    10
See reviews for
29
87
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Dunkley Its in a good location for walking to restaurants and the even to the city.
You can count whit the help, from Dunkley Staff, for everything you need to enjoy your stay in cape town, tours, safaris, taxi, etc...
Its a very nice place to enjoy everything, very good family environment, awesome breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for the new ones, and not to close from the kitchen / reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kloof, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times and received excellent service from all of the staff. The modern, large air-conditioned bedroom with open plan bathroom and giant bath was very comfortable and quiet. The location is very close to Gardens Shopping Centre, an Engen convenience store and various restaurants (Dunkley Square within walking distance has Maria's Greek restaurant and Vandiar's Indian restaurant). Also nearby: the Company Gardens, Parliament, Tuynhuys, the South African Museum and Art Gallery, the Old Synagogue, the SA Jewish Museum and the Cape Town Holocaust Centre. There is a very attractive outdoor area with a small, sheltered swimming pool with seating under and around a large bougainvillea. Breakfast is taken in the diningroom which opens out onto the pool area. On offer are a large selection of cereals and fresh fruits followed by a cooked breakfast and coffee. There is an honesty bar with complimentary coffee and home-made biscuits, which is very convenient. Security at this small guesthouse/B&B is good. However, parking is on the small side street and unreserved. There is a car guard present at night. However, the last time we stayed there not one of the street lights was working. The receptionist told me that the security company would sort that out. I believe it is Dunkley House's responsibility to report such outages to the municipality and ensure the fault is repaired so that their guests can feel secure on returning 'home' late at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

First, this is a guest house or bed & breakfast, not a hotel. When we arrived it was late and the airline had lost our luggage. The street was very dark & our driver had difficulty finding it. Needless to say our first impression was not very good. The room was nice but we were expecting a hotel. The word house in the the name should have been our first clue. Our emotions were running high when we arrived & we were concerned about the location so we had planned to check out the next day even though we had paid for 5 nights. We were very surprised and delighted when we got up the next morning. We were assigned to Bay 1, which is a large room with a comfortable king size bed. If you require a lot of bathroom privacy please understand this is a residential house converted to accommodate guests. The ensuite in bay 1 is separated by a partition wall so you can hear & smell everything going on in the bathroom. This didn't bother me & my husband but when we told some friends about this they said that would be a deal breaker for them. So I thought it would be good to include it in the review. I am unsure if this is the same in all the rooms.

This is an excellent Cape Town location within walking distance to downtown. Even though the street tends to be dark at night, the area is safe. The service we received from the staff was wonderful. Eunice, Gibson & Cynthia made us feel very comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful. I really enjoyed the eggs benedict. The courtyard area was very nice & relaxing. There is a pool but it was too cold during our stay for us to use it. If you decide to stay here, ask your driver if they've been there before because it is difficult to find and there are a lot of one way streets. If they are unfamiliar with it or a taxi driver is driving around looking for it tell them to go to the corner of Hatfield & Orange. There's an Engen station (gas station) on the corner of Gordon Street. BTW, a taxi ride to or from V & A Waterfront shouldn't be more than 60 or 70 Rand. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we'll definitely go back. It was quaint and cozy and they offered us all the comforts of home.

Room Tip: Bay 1 is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlkleyWYorksEngland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Our 5th stay at Dunkley and it was as good as ever. Its in a good location for walking to restaurants and the city and an easy drive from the airport. We are given a wonderful welcome by all the staff who look after us so well and we feel it is home from home. The breakfast are still the best, Eunice so thank you.
We shall be returning next year again for a wonderful start to our 6 week holiday in South Africa.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MairinaandTonyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Dunlkey House is well-located for the Cape Town night scene. Check out the restaurants a block away on Dunkley Square - all great. The service in the B&B is superb, breakfast is great (try the Eggs Benny!) and the accommodations very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

very nice hotel in the middle of city bowl. very safe place, you can walk to all places in the city. nice and clean rooms, excellent breakfast and service.
a small swimming pool is available and the welcome was very warm and friendly. definitely a place to stay when you love city life.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
The Cape Colonial
The Cape Colonial
#96 of 155 in Cape Town Central
39 reviews
City Bowl
Liberty Lodge
Liberty Lodge
#20 of 155 in Cape Town Central
378 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 155 in Cape Town Central
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
#24 of 155 in Cape Town Central
457 reviews
City Bowl
Gap Lodge
Gap Lodge
#67 of 155 in Cape Town Central
65 reviews
City Bowl
12 Hofmeyr
12 Hofmeyr
#62 of 155 in Cape Town Central
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkley House

Property: Dunkley House
Address: 3B Gordon Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunkley House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in Cape Town's crown, Dunkley House is a shining example of how modern design and styling can enhance a period property's original features. From a family residence built in the early 1900's, we have created an elegant, contemporary boutique guest establishment in a quaint Victorian street in Cape Town's historic old quarter offering luxury accommodation in the City Bowl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dunkley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkley House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing