We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Guest House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunkley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunkley House
Ranked #93 of 163 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
251 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lovely Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

I loved my stay at Dunkley house. Check in and check out were quick and efficient. Gibson was very attentive and helpful, answering all my questions about the hotel, tourism and the city. My room was spacious and comfortable with an excellent bed and breakfast a la carte is a delight! I definitely recommend Dunkley House. Tip: ask for the hotel to send someone to pick you up at the airport because the airport taxi drivers have trouble finding the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GabrielaGSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    68
    18
    9
    8
See reviews for
27
81
23
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I often use Dunkley House when I come to Cape Town on business. I find the staff very friendly and even after the second time I used this guest house they remembered my name and welcomed me using it.

The breakfast menu is small but when the food arrives it is excellent. The rooms are modern and clean. They also offer free wifi which I know should be expected but often is not provided.

It is also very central and close to restaurants, transport, museums and the city center but far away enough from the buzz to be quiet and tranquil.

I will keep coming back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oresti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Dunkley House is fabulous. It is modern, clean, comfortable, set in lovely surroundings and close to the city centre. An easy place to relax around the cute pool setting, most welcome after a busy day. Lovely helpful friendly staff. We've stayed before and we will again.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I had a lovely stay at dunkley house I can't forget that lovely breakfast and the location,service from staff, Grace, Gibson,Eunice and the cleaning ladies all ready to make your stay so comfortable. My room was so lovely and relaxing the only offside was the satellite channels weren't flexible because I would have loved to have more channels on days I didn't go out.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lilian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanneburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Great value for money, home away from home. Service is excellent, great staff. I always enjoy staying at Dunkley. Definately unique. Highly recommend it to any other guest. I cannot wait for my next stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Lovely small, modern hotel with friendly and helpfull staff. Nice room, excellent bed, spacious bathroom with separate walk-in shower and toilet. Excellent location, very near to Company's Garden. Waterfront 20 minutes walk.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell, On . Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Great location , warm welcoming staff. Staff were friendly and helpful in meeting my requirements during my stay. I would most definitely recommend Dunkley House to family and friends, and I would stay here again !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Frances N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Upperbloem
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
City Bowl
Radium Hall Guest House
Radium Hall Guest House
#56 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
City Bowl
Liberty Lodge
Liberty Lodge
#23 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
The Lions
The Lions
#83 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
The Blue House Guesthouse
#47 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
City Bowl
Villa Bianca
Villa Bianca
#55 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkley House

Property: Dunkley House
Address: 3B Gordon Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunkley House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in Cape Town's crown, Dunkley House is a shining example of how modern design and styling can enhance a period property's original features. From a family residence built in the early 1900's, we have created an elegant, contemporary boutique guest establishment in a quaint Victorian street in Cape Town's historic old quarter offering luxury accommodation in the City Bowl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Dunkley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkley House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing