We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why only three stars?”
Review of Dunkley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunkley House
Ranked #95 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We have stayed here many times over the past nine years, both on our own and with various overseas visitors. The rooms are comfortable and well furnished, the area is generally quiet, the location is excellent, being within two or three minutes walking distance of Maria’s Greek cafe, and the Aubergine, one of the best restaurants in Cape Town. Breakfasts prepared by Eunice are legendary. Why then only three stars instead of five? Over the past couple of years we had noticed a gradual deterioration in various aspects, an increasing number of maintenance problems, and now, since the new owner took over, the tragic removal of the honesty bar, evening snacks, and daily newspapers, with the fridge now containing only wine of uncertain provenance. Anyone staying here for the first time will undoubtedly be pleased, but the new owner needs to make a number of improvements otherwise he will lose loyal customers like ourselves.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xairu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have been staying at Dunkley House for more than 10 years and during our previous trip lat year noted the maintenance of the rooms had gone down. We stayed again this month after the property had changed owners only to see that the issues have still not been resolved and even have gotten worse. Eg shower head broken , concrete floor chipped and now even the honesty bar has gone to the dogs. The only thing that is constant is the staff who try very hard and are like old friends. We really love the location of this guest house but if things don't improve we won't be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

this is a great hidden gem in a very attractive low key area, perfect for walking around the city, and superb small local restaurants a few steps away. The style is full-blown Boutique Hotel, but the service is friendly old school and couldn't be more helpful, and the ambiance relaxed and chilled. Also very good value for the quality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

After having stayed a few days on Long St., the peaceful setting the Dunkley House provided was just what we needed. We stayed in Bay 3 and thoroughly enjoyed the splash pool. The breakfasts were excellent and I can't say enough about the staff! Grace, in particular, was a tremendous help. An added bonus is that you are steps away from Aubergine, one of the best restaurants in Cape Town. I highly recommend staying here!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Donovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stay at Dunkley House regularly when on business is Cape Town. On this occasion I had guests for breakfast and I want to commend the kitchen staff for their excellent service and the way they accommodated us. I love the modern interior of the guest house and it is always a treat to stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marlett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The most expensive room in the hotel opens out onto the dining room. With all of the breakfast noise, count on never sleeping in after 7am. The dustbins are also right outside the bedroom windows, and the kitchen staff start rattling those around 6:30.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Matt3372014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

What a lovely place to stay. The staff were very helpful and the breakfasts, delish. Especially the giant pancakes. The apartment was clean, although the bathroom plumbing link did give me a heart stopping moment or two. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Russell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel
#72 of 110 in Cape Town Central
313 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa
#29 of 110 in Cape Town Central
317 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,786 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#10 of 129 in Cape Town Central
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkley House

Address: 3B Gordon Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £53 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunkley House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in Cape Town's crown, Dunkley House is a shining example of how modern design and styling can enhance a period property's original features. From a family residence built in the early 1900's, we have created an elegant, contemporary boutique guest establishment in a quaint Victorian street in Cape Town's historic old quarter offering luxury accommodation in the City Bowl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Dunkley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkley House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing