We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always happy to stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Ranked #35 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always happy to stay here”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We are often on business here and its always a pleasure to stay at Mandela Rhodes Place. The staff is always willing to help and they go out of thier way to make us feel at home, away from home!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    333
    72
    31
    25
See reviews for
299
298
57
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Located in the heart of central Cape Town, the hotel is right where the fun and action is, metres from Greenmarket Square, Parliament and the Company Gardens and Long Street. Built within the facades of a number of old buildings, the core of the hotel is ultra modern, chic and highly functional. Rooms are large, modern and fully equipped down to your own washing machine. You couldn't ask more from a room. Breakfasts downstairs at the franchised cafe Doppio Zero are efficient and good with friendly staff. Reception staff are friendly and helpful. We would happily stay there again and it's an ideal place for an extended stay. It certainly added value to our Cape Town experience which was outstanding!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterbendheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmond4, Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Peterbendheim,

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. It makes me very proud of my team, the property and the city.

We look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Kind regards

Desmond and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This is a really good hotel. Myself, wife and kids (14yrs and 12yrs) stayed here for 3 nights in July 2011.

The rooms are fantastic. We had a 2 room apartment which was brilliant for the family. There is a washing machine and the amenity of each room was great. The airconditioning was a bit noisy at night, but not enough to keep me awake (if you are a light sleeper take ear plugs).

The location is 2nd to none in the Capetown city area. You can walk to the Slave Lodge, the V&A Waterfront (where the Robben Island tour departs), the mall and all the restaurants in Long Street. It is a safe area (we walked to the restaurants at night) because there are tourist police.

It has a great gym, a sensational pool (too cold in winter!!), and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenMilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmond4, Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Darren Milne,

I must admit your review was very well written and thank you for the compliments. My team and I are delighted that you and the family enjoyed your time here with us.

Look forward to having the Milne family staying here again soon.

Kind regards

Desmond and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Mother, Son and Daughter-in-law stayed two weeks in a very spacious, beautifully appointed modern 2-bedroom apartment with balcony and view over the pool. We enjoyed the well-appinted kitchen facilites with oven, stove, microwave, dishwasher, and washer/dryer. The hotel staff was very personable, friendly and very keen to meet all our needs. Our apartment was cleaned and provided clean linens every day. The location in the middle of the city was perfect for us as we could easily walk to museums and parks. Or as needed, take a taxi. To our delight we did not have to hire a car -- leftside driving would have been a challenge. We all have wonderful memories of this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britawolffram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmond4, Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Britawolffram,

We are always delighted to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and had a good holiday. We trust that you will come visit again and hopefully soonest.

Kind regards

Desmond and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Very comfortable apartment with 2 bedrooms and en-suite bathrooms, kitchen and lounge/diningroom. Near nightlife in city and very centrally located to visit local landmarks.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeleCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmond4, Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear Adele,

What a pleasant surprise that even Cape Town residents take the time to come and visit our Hotel and stay over! I am very happy to hear that you found your experience a good one and hopefully on those special occasion s you will do this again.

I look forward to having you stay here again and hopefully not long from now.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

booked 2 bedroom apartment, got great deal via octopus travel on internet. very spacious well appointed apartments, house keeping daily. excellent kitchen dining room lounge, just like staying in hotel, only much better. everything u need and more. great position (just off long street) and safe parking for R45 a day. would definitely stay again, highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmond4, Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear Farid,

I want to thank you for staying here and my team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I am also very happy to see that we get lots of "local" guests who come and stay here and am pleased that our pricing is fair and affordable. It is with this in mind that I hope you will be back sooner rather than later.

Take care and be back soon.

Kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

I stayed in the hotel from 04 July - 09 July. The hotel is a 4 star hotel. It has an excellent location in the middle of a shopping area and a block a way from museums. A small park full of lovely sight seen is only a block behind the hotel. The apartment is very good for a family of 4 people. We were 3 adults and two child, We needed to use one of the Sofa in the sitting room. For the period we stayed, it required an AC in the apartment as it is very cold at night.
Make sure you get your apartment facing the SE direction for a good view of the street. The apartment I stayed at was in the corner of the 4th floor at SE where we enjoyed view of two streets.
The hotel restaurant is not very expensive. There is a lot of choices around with similar or little higher fees. Bring your electric converter to avoid any pitfalls charging your mobile or laptop.
The staff is very kind and welling to assist you. I hope you will enjoy your trip as I did.

Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nturkestani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmond4, Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear Nturkestani,

Apologies for using your pseudo TripAdvisor name but alas it sounds better than "Dear Guest..."

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel and Spa recently. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that your expectations of the property where met.

I trust that you will be visiting us soon again and hopefully not too far away in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#50 of 109 in Cape Town Central
345 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 109 in Cape Town Central
779 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
799 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,243 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#41 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel

Property: Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Address: Wale Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Mandela Rhodes Place Cape Town
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing