We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Ranked #38 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The staff were extremely helpful and efficient in assisting us. We were really impressed with the customer service and how good the rooms were. They were large and very tastefully decorated. By only grip is that we were told that they no longer had washing machine and dryers in the room which from reading the reviews is clearly not correct. Having paid for an apartment with this facility it was quite disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmond4, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Dear Caroline G,

Thank you for letting me know that you had a great time here in my Hotel. I am very proud that my team lived up to our ethos of UBUNTU and made sure you had a great stay.

Look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Desmond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

Mandela Rhodes Hotel

The rooms are extremely nice and big, including a kitchen with all facilities, a big bathroom and the possibility to wash clothes in the room. It looks like a nice little apartment. They also have a training room that is okay and an outdoor swimming pool, but at the time the water was to cold for a swim. Internet was not included, and this is quite expensive. Breakfast was not included, but with a kitchen at the room that was not a problem at all.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilledur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmond4, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Dear Hilledur,

Thanks for the very nice feedback. I am delighted to let you know that the Hotel now offers complimentary internet. It is a pity we could not offer ti when you were here, but maybe this is an incentive for you to return.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed at the Mandela Rhodes Place from 2nd-9th May, 2011. Apologies for the tardiness of the review!

The hotel facilities and more importantly the first class service we received from the staff during our stay, really made our trip. We had a lovely 1 bed apartment (C302) with a large balcony and view of Table Mountain. Kitchen was fully equipped, and even had a washer/dryer, very handy. TV had a few news, 2 movie channels and a few sports channels also. For an iron/ironing board just call reception.

Mapule in Guest Services was particularly helpful. We had been corresponding with her prior to our arrival and we found her to be very informative and knowledgeable. On arrival and during our stay she did everything she could to make us feel welcome and to make our stay enjoyable and hassle free, making us feel that we had found a home away from home and a friend in a foreign land. She also arranged our airport transfers with the onsite travel agency, which were little more than the price of a cab.

The service that we received from the team at breakfast, especially from Samuel and Amanda was amazing. There was an array of juices, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, cold meats, breads, porridge, scrambled eggs, sausages, mushrooms, tomatoes, bacon etc. You could also order eggs cooked to order from the menu.

The gym was also excellent, with a wonderful view of Table Mountain. We had the whole gym to ourselves, every morning except Sunday. Towels and water cooler are provided, with two of most cardio pieces, weights machines, free weights and mats. We also managed to squeeze in a few mornings at the pool, which we also had to ourselves.

With regards the position of the hotel, it is one block from Long Street. We did walk the few minutes to Long Street on quite a few nights, even though it was by then dark. We didn't have any problems, except for a few persistant beggers, however, we did feel a bit uneasy on a few ocassions. I would say that if you are there during SA summer, when it is still light you will be fine. A few places to mention are: The Royal Eatery (great burgers and shakes), the Clay Oven (Fab Pizza), Yours Truly (Great Sandwiches and Coffee). There is also the usual MacDonalds, KFC, Wimpy!! on Waverly street if you want to catch something quick for lunch. At the bottom of Burg is a supermarket (pick and pay) where you can pick up snacks and the odd bottle of wine (also a supermarket under MacDonalds on Waverley).The Market is worth a rumble, but to be honest we found the prices for souvenirs better at the big store beside the Gateway to Robben Island at the V&A (the one with lots of large carved animals outside). We got a cab to the V&A, which was normally about £10 return. Ask at reception and they will call you a cab, you can catch a return one from the taxi rank. A large underground mall can also be accessed via Waverley Street, just opposite MacDonalds.

Hop on, hop off buses are great value for money and we also did a one day cape tour with Cape Convoy, which was great fun! Make sure to pre-book your Robben Island tickets though, as we met several people who were unable to get tickets when they arrived.

We have been very fortunate to travel extensively and stay in, what are considered to be some of the top hotels in the world, but we will find it hard to top Mandela Rhodes for the welcome, hospitality and personal service we received. It really enhanced our Cape Town experience and will leave us with some fond and lasting memories.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmond4, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Travekboo2,

The fact that your review was slightly late does not matter, as the saying goes "better late than never...." We trust you will come see us again soon.

Kind regards

Desmond and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The appartments in Mandela Rhode Place are excellent for a family with two children. You can really feel at home in this hotel. I never was in a hotel where you coud do your own laundry. Yes a washing machine is available in every appartment. This is very handsome if you travel with children for three weeks in South Africa. We also had a warm welcome in the cold winter period of 2012. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. The location is perfect to visit Capetown and surroundings. Parking is very handy (carpark in the basement) . All restaurants and bars in longstreet are just around the corner. I worked in Capetown 20 years ago, the city changed a lot (in a positive way) compared to that period. A place like Mandela Rhodes really helps to promote the city centre as a world class tourist environment. I would certainly book again this hotel my next visit. I recomend you do the same.

Room Tip: Try for a room facing table mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmond4, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Bart G,

My team and I are delighted to have noted that you enjoyed your time here with us at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel and Spa. We trust that you will come and visit again soon and perhaps this time you should do so in summer.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This was an awesome place to stay. We actually got into the room and thought we had mistakingly been upgraded! But the staff were friendly and very helpful. Allister definitely made our stay easier getting us places! I would definitely recommend going to this hotel and even more so when you do a camping safari first! This 4 star hotel almost felt like 5 star it was so gooooood!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmond4, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear StephenYu,

Thank you so much for letting us know about your experiences. Glad to hear you enjoyed it and come visit again and soon.

Kind regards

Desmond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We spend six nights in Mandela Rhodes Place and all three of us left with the best impressions. We had booked an apartment for three people, which was really spacious as described and tastefully furnised. The kitchen had all appliances and you could just shop from a super market \(prices are pretty low) and cook inside your appartment if you feel like staying in. Actually we never cooked inside since cape town was incredble and even the good restaurants were pretty cheap. Nevertheless, we enjoyed staying inside the apartment at cold nights, and talking or having a drink. The apartment also includes washing machine. The service is very good and all the stuff is polite, helpful and with a good energy. In the lobby of the hotel you can find fine restaurant, spa, hair salon, while it includes spa and gym. Would definately recomment to anyone going to cape town, since its right in the middle of the town and has excellent facilities in a good price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nafsika a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmond4, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear Nafsika A.,

Thanks you for taking the time to let us know about your experiences here at our Hotel. We are also delighted to hear from our guests that they had a great time.

We trust that you will come visit again soon and look forward to it.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We loved our stay at the Madela Rhodes Place. We were constantly taken aback by the service. Everyone including at the desk, the concierge and all staff went out of their way to take care of us. Guests are assured of great value, incredible safety (with uniformed staff everywhere in the hotel,) and large modern and very clean accomodations.

We enjoyed the Madela Rhodes and Capetown. North American hotels could learn about service from the likes of the Mandela Rhodes.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimbagirlVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmond4, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear SimbagirlVancouver,

Thank you for staying with us recently. I must admit your comment about the service levels were well received and makes me extremely proud.

Having said this, we hope that you will come back and visit us again and rather sooner than later.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,406 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,352 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#58 of 112 in Cape Town Central
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,860 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,830 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 112 in Cape Town Central
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel

Address: Wale Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £77 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Mandela Rhodes Place Cape Town
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing