We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed in a 2 bed room apartment for 3 Night/4 Days . It is a very good Hotel with great service & Nice food at "Azura" . Location wise it is fantastic & even the room service was very good. so the overall experience was fantastic. it is well maintained & the staffs are all very friendly &helpful. highly recommended ....

Room Tip: corner suite are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avi559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmond4, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Avi559,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel as your accommodation provider whilst you visited Cape Town recently. I was most impressed when I read your lovely comments as posted here on TripAdvisor.

I trust that you will come and visit again someday and hopefully not too long from now.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

Wonderful place to stay and great value for money. Close to everything. We walked to the V&A Waterfront, the tour bus is just a few blocks away and the fab Food Lovers Market. The staff was great and helpful. Cannot fault anything

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alichenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmond4, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Alichenge,

Thank you for choosing Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel as your "home" whilst visiting our beautiful city. I am delighted to have note that you enjoyed your time here.

We look forward to you r next visit from all the way "Down Under"

Kind regards

Desmond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at Mandela Rhodes Place in July 2012. The location in the middle of the city was good, easy to walk to a number of restaurants/bars/shops, but definitely busy. The room was fine, I liked that there was a washing machine and dryer in it. The hallways and lobby area of the hotel were quite cold. The restaurant in the building was enjoyable, we ate there twice. Overall, a decent stay to be in the middle of it all for a good price, but I preferred staying closer to the waterfront. Didn't like that we had to pay to use wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmond4, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Melissa R,

Thank you for visiting Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel and Spa recently. My team and I are delighted to note from your review , that you enjoyed most of your stay with us here at the Hotel.
I noted your comments about the cold passages and the fact that Hotel is a little away from the Waterfront and trust this did not detract too much form you stay and you will continue to make Mandela Rhodes Place be your “home” when next in Cape Town.

Kind regards

Desmond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in a 3 bedroomed apartment on the seventh Floor. The rooms had a kitchen, 2 bathrooms one with a bath,a living area and a fab view of table mountain.
I decided to not pay extra for the breakfast on booking room. It was a buffet and if im honest, the food was 10 times nicer and cheaper on the normal menu. It was about 129 rand for the buffet.
The location was fab, 2 seconds walk from the companys garden and slave lodge museum. 10 minutes drive from the V&A waterfront and table mountain cable ride. We were recommended by locals to not walk to the cable car as it can be unsafe but you can get a good "hop on hop off" tour bus literally outside the hotel which takes you to the cable car.
I cant fault the hotel, lovely friendly staff, very good price and very clean rooms. Had a lovely stay and would stay again x

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenski-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmond4, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Jenski-Bob,

I have just read your review as posted here on TripAdvisor and must admit it warmed the heart. It is always so nice to hear that our guests enjoyed the rooms and facilities of the Hotel and most importantly that my team looked after them.

Now that you know who we are and where we are, we hope you will not be scarce and come visit again soon.

Kind regards

Desmond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We booked a two bed prem apartment and was very happy with the accommodation. Situated at the top end of the CBD just infront of Companies Gardens, we were very impressed with the views and the layout of the apartment. They were serviced everyday and nothing was too much trouble for the efficient staff.
Will be returning to this hotel / apartmenthotel every year for sure.

Room Tip: 2 Bed prem (with balcony) are 04 and 02. Choose the 04 apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarPANAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmond4, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear StarPANAMA,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our Hotel and sharing it here on TripAdvisor.

I am excited about your idea to come visit again and hope that you will be able to do so soonest.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed in a Studio at this hotel for two weeks. Downstairs restaurant serves breakfast, delicious coffee and freshly baked bread in the mornings. If you want to buy groceries or just quick meals there is a small delicacy store with food (by weight) and fruits, breds, sweets etc just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iminzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmond4, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Iminzon,

Many thanks for letting us know that you had a great stay here at Mandela Rhodes Place. It is always nice to hear that our guests had a good time and found the facilities and nearby attractions to have met their requirements.

We look forward to having you visit us again and hopefully not too long from now.

Kind regards

Desmond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is a modern hotel across the street from the cathedral--so within walking distance to all the city sights. The rooms are like having your own condo. We had a two bedroom/2 1/2 bath
Suite with a fully stocked kitchen, washer/dryer and living room. Was wonderful for the 3 of us.
Rates are surprisingly inexpensive through the Internet sites. Included marble baths with separate
Tubs and showers. Free water in your room daily along with teas and coffee. Good security at night as you needed your key card to enter the elevators. Has a gourmet coffee shop in lobby and an Italian restaurant if you wanted a quick pizza.

Room Tip: The higher rooms are quieter. They have some rooms with great views of table mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmond4, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Joan880,

Thank you for visiting Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel and Spa recently. It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “Ubuntu” and with this have created an exceptional experience for our guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that Mandela Rhodes Place becomes your “home” when next in Cape Town.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel and Spa in the hopefully not too distant future.

Kind regards

Desmond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 110 in Cape Town Central
811 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 110 in Cape Town Central
369 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#41 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#36 of 110 in Cape Town Central
214 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,287 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel

Address: Wale Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £73 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Mandela Rhodes Place Cape Town
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing