We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Ranked #40 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just back from Cape Town where we spent 12 days at the Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel and Spa. We booked a deluxe suite which came with two baths and two bedrooms, more space than two people required but lots of fun never the less. The suite was huge and well equipped with almost everything you could think of and if it wasn't there they would probably get it for you. The staff make the place and all are friendly and welcoming to the hotel and city. The roof top pool was a very nice perk as the weather was in the 40's Celsius some days and a dip in the cold pool was very refreshing after a day out. The suite's layouts vary according to the building that you are located in, as the hotel is made up of two older historic and two newer buildings that are all interconnected. In the lobby is a fantastic coffee shop, Motherland Coffee, with some of the brews in the city. We did eat at the restaurant Doppio Zero several times, just because we were too lazy to venture farther afield some nights. The food is great with a wide variety from light to serious fare and a great pizza oven as well. The tour office in the lobby works directly with the hotel and will organize any tour you want. We took both a day trip to the Cape as well as a Wineland tour. Both well worth the money spent.
Cape Town is an amazing city with lots to do and see and wonderful people as well.
Everyone at the hotel was a great ambassador for the city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William d, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear nroe,
Thank you for visiting Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa recently. My Team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us! 
It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “Ubuntu” and by doing so, created an exceptional experience for our Guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that Mandela Rhodes Place becomes your “home” when visiting Cape Town. Many thanks for all your kind words, and I will be sure to pass these on to all of my Staffing compliment, including those based at Doppio Zero restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
“Wamkelekile” (Xhosa – Your Welcome)
Best regards and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

552 - 558 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

We entered the hotel lobby via the convenient and secure car park, and first impressions are not great- it seems a bit characterless like an airport terminal or shopping complex, nothing very luxurious. But when we went to our 14th floor apartment in the tower, we were wowed!! Really well laid out and spacious, everything you could need for a holiday and in fact we could see that you could easily live there permanently, though we generally only spend a few days right in the city bowl area of Cape Town.

The two bedrooms were very well separated (ideal for two couples) and each with a bathroom, which in the case of the master was very swish indeed. Kitchen had dishwasher and washing machine and full range of cutlery and crockery, we did n't self cater but you easily could and there is a great looking food store round the block; bar to spacious living area with vertigo inducing views of Green Market square from the furnished balcony.

Breakfast was included at the fairly spartan looking but comprehensively catered ground floor restaurant, where you could dine at a supplement but we saw near by places we preferred for the evening. The restaurants at the Taj Hotel adjacent can be charged to your room here (though no one told us!) and Mint was good; probably the Brasserie is too but we waited ages for a table and couldn't get one as no one moved out; we will book another time. The lobby and the lounge bar at the Taj, which you can use, are very swish but the room prices are to match, without the advantages of the full size apartment which we had right next door.

Pool area is good and little used. It is a bit noisy outdoors in this central location, largely it seems from all the air conditioning units at neighbouring properties. The ones here certainly kept the apartment very comfortable.

Wife and youngsters used the spa facilities and raved about the Chinese massage and facials and so on, at prices which are unbelievably low by any European standards, already talking about having more comprehensive treatments next time.

And the staff were helpful and charming and the apartment was very fully serviced, including room service from the hotel.

This area of Cape Town is full of interest but even though security aspects have improved, with many street marshals, it can still feel a bit challenging at times, more so at night;- there is still evident poverty and occasional abuse. Having stayed locally before on a Saturday and enjoyed the vibrant night life on nearby Long Street, we were surprised at just how quiet it was on a Sunday and Monday night in height of season February, which can make it feel uncomfortable when a few unsavoury types appear. In the day you are well placed for the Company Gardens and a whole array of museums and sites- Slave Museum and Jewish Museum both fascinating, and Bo Karp not far either. And for a novel dinner try the Ethiopian Restaurant at the Pan African market in Long Street but don't go late like we did last time because they had run out of food.

Would we go again- we certainly hope so, in fact planning our next trip now!!

Room Tip: Definitely go for a Platinum Tower Room, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelfromhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William d, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Travelfromhamps,
Thank you for visiting Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa recently. My Team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us! 
It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “Ubuntu” and by doing so, created an exceptional experience for our Guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that Mandela Rhodes Place becomes your “home” when visiting Cape Town. Many thanks for all your kind words, and I will be sure to pass these on to all of my Staffing compliment, including those based at Doppio Zero restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
“Wamkelekile” (Xhosa – Your Welcome)
Best regards and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Myself, husband and another couple visited Mandela Rhodes March 31-4/4/14 and it was a great experience.

We rented a car from the airport and parked in their garage...roughly $5 a day..not too bad and it's guarded.

Hotel / Apartment room was clean and had everything we needed including coffee for each morning as well as a washer and dryer...we did have to buy detergent at the local grocery store.

We drove in late at night...around 11 pm and the area looked kinda sketchy.

We were all hungry and asked about dining options and were advised by the front desk that we not go out at night....scary....
Instead they offered to have someone make a run for us.
In the end we had a bell hop hit McDonalds for us and tipped him for doing so.

We ventured out the next morning and loved the area. On Thursday's there is a food/ vendor fair right outside the hotel at lunch...great experience and food!...and shopping.

On Thursday night's they have an art walk....felt totally safe walking around and loved the vibe in the area!!!

Would definitely stay here again...you do need to cab it to the waterfront as it's a bit of a walk...$5.00 cab ride so not too bad. The hotel does offer a free shuttle down there like 4 times a day but you need to get a ride home.

Room Tip: Ask for the apartments..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Campbellfam04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William d, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Campbellfam04,
Thank you for visiting Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa recently. My Team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us! 
It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “Ubuntu” and by doing so, created an exceptional experience for our Guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that Mandela Rhodes Place becomes your “home” when visiting Cape Town. In response, I would like to assure you that the area is more than safe to walk at night, as we have a great deal of CCID officers also patrolling the area, which is very much part of the inner city safety initiative. I would like to apologize if my Staff created a different impression.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
“Wamkelekile” (Xhosa – Your Welcome)
Best regards and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had an executive 2 bedroom apartment and enjoyed the spacious rooms. The 2 bathrooms were spacious and both ensuite with each bedroom The receptionists were all very helpfull. The location was perfect and very centrally. It is highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenteM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William d, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear BenteM_11,
Thank you for visiting Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa recently. My Team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us! 
It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “Ubuntu” and by doing so, created an exceptional experience for our Guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that Mandela Rhodes Place becomes your “home” when visiting Cape Town. We always appreciate your feedback, good or bad, as we love hearing form our Guests and exactly which aspects of the Hotel they enjoyed most / least.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
“Wamkelekile” (Xhosa – Your Welcome)
Best regards and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Fabulous stay in a great city hotel. Central position with easy access to city centre etc...
The room was terrific with a view of table mountain C320.
We booked an apartment and this was a real bonus as we were able to get all our clothes washed and dried. After 6 months working in the dust of Rwanda the washing machine was really useful.
Breakfast was to die for with a huge choice.

One small criticism was the wi-fi. you were entitled to 100mb free per day but after that you had to pay for it. I would expect free wi-fi given the quality of the rest of the experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in C302 this had a balcony with a great view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William d, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear G W,
Thank you for visiting Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa recently. My Team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us! 
It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “Ubuntu” and by doing so, created an exceptional experience for our Guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that Mandela Rhodes Place becomes your “home” when visiting Cape Town. We always appreciate your feedback, good or bad, as we love hearing form our Guests and exactly which aspects of the Hotel they enjoyed most / least. Many thanks also for the feedback on the Complimentary Wifi, and I can assure you we have recently increased the daily amount from 100 to 200 Megs. The cost of additional vouchers thereafter is also being looked at.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
“Wamkelekile” (Xhosa – Your Welcome)

Best regards and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We rented a suit with kitchen facilities (1 bedroom apt). Perfect for a 1 week stay. Location is central, close to all major visiting sites. Easy to get to waterfront by cab or bus. On the St George's mall with lots of weekend activity.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Danielle_Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William d, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Danielle_Roger,
Thank you for visiting Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa recently. My Team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us! 
It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “Ubuntu” and by doing so, created an exceptional experience for our Guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that Mandela Rhodes Place becomes your “home” when visiting Cape Town. We always appreciate your feedback, good or bad, as we love hearing form our Guests and exactly which aspects of the Hotel they enjoyed most / least.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
“Wamkelekile” (Xhosa – Your Welcome)

Best regards and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We rented the suite style room. Two separate bedrooms and shower/baths, living room, patio, kitchen (well stocked with utensils, purifying water pitcher, coffee pot and even a toaster), washer/ dryer, and dishwasher. Hotels location is perfect! It is in the center of down town. You have restaurants, grocery, cafes, bars, shopping, markets, and vendors all just steps from the hotel. A 5 minute drive to the V&A waterfront and Table Mountain. A 20 minute drive from the airport and less than 5 minutes to major highways. We were pleased with this hotel. There are a few things that could be improved. They have covered and guarded parking, but you must pay a daily rate. Housekeeping needs to pay closer attention to the small details.We had some hair and dust/dirt in the floors corners and glass rings on the counters that just needed to be wiped off. Nothing major, but it does matter! No televisions in the bedrooms, but beds were very comfortable! The robes in the rooms were much to short! I believe that they may have ordered or we were given child sizes instead of adult sizes. We did not have time for the spa, but maybe next time! We would definitely stay here again. We found the price to be very reasonable especially for a large suite like this one.

Room Tip: We were on the 14th floor and had great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William d, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Cristin 1,
Thank you for visiting Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa recently. My Team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us! 
It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “Ubuntu” and by doing so, created an exceptional experience for our Guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that Mandela Rhodes Place becomes your “home” when visiting Cape Town. We always appreciate your feedback, good or bad, as we love hearing form our Guests and exactly which aspects of the Hotel they enjoyed most / least. I did note of your comments about Housekeeping services, and would like to assure you that this has been dealt with and the quality of services sharpened up. We always strive towards the best for our Guests, and this really is not our standard, or the standard I'm sure you are used to.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
“Wamkelekile” (Xhosa – Your Welcome)

Best regards and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#56 of 110 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,375 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#49 of 110 in Cape Town Central
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
226 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,316 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel

Address: Wale Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £93 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Mandela Rhodes Place Cape Town
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing