We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay, tatty hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay, tatty hotel”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

although the hotel in well located in central down town Cape Town our stay was a comedy of errors. our key cards kept needing to be programmed as they lost their code. room was tatty and dirty and in a bad state of repair. would i re-visit NO!

Room Tip: do not chose W601, doors broken, balcony door broken, bins broken! lots of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William d, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Nicky R,
Thank you for visiting Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa recently. My Team and I have taken note of your disappointing stay with concern, to say the least.
I have read through all your comments via Tripadvisor, Facebook and our E-guest Survey, and did in fact inspect the Apartment myself afterwards. The maintenance issues mentioned have all been rectified, and yes fair enough this should have been done before your stay I agree. The marks requested to be cleaned meant removal of tiles and has been completed already, as well as the repairs to the louvers. The issue with the Key cards have also been rectified, and my Front Desk Team can only apologize for not having spare key cards at the Desk on that particular shift, as should be the case. I would very definitely like to correct what has gone wrong with your stay, to regain your confidence in our product and the quality of your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future, where I would be more than happy to offer you a complimentary upgrade into our newly refurbished Superior Apartments.
“Wamkelekile” (Xhosa – Your Welcome)
Best regards and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    344
    74
    33
    25
See reviews for
311
304
57
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a great hotel, in the heart of the city, with many services and facilities for customers. One of the few hotels that I can say that you get value for money!

My apartment on the 7th floor was very quiet, huge! with classy decoration, and very comfortable. It has a fully equipped kitchen. Vaddaboom!, very luminous and with great views of Table Mountain. The leaving area and kitchen were conjoined but were huge in size, with two couches, a big dining table, flat screen TV + DVD, three coffee tables, some coffee table magazines, and what is not. The bedroom had a full closet with a big sized safe (I almost fainted - a full closet!), plus several drawers and side tables in the room. The bathroom had separated shower and bathtub, a small selection of good quality toiletries and a hair drier.

Some of the heating buttons on the wall warm up the floor underneath the carpet and it is just wonderful walking barefoot! Not enough? All the apartment had plenty of power points, so recharging or plugging many gadgets at the same time was not a problem.

The apartment was spotless clean and fully serviced every day.

All the staff were very helpful, welcoming and lovely, especially the ones at reception. My especial thanks to Moses, with dealt with many of my queries and issues and did always so with attentiveness and professionalism.

GOODIES
++ Located in front of the cathedral, by the local gardens, the always busy St George Mall, and many of the must-see sights of the city, the Three Cities Rhodes was a home away from home during my stay in Cape Town.
++ Great gym
++ Wonderful pool and pool area
++ Great view of Table Mountain from the aviary.
++ An office of Cape Town Tourism in the building, in front of reception.
++ Most tour companies pick up and drop off this hotel.
++ Long opening hours classy good-quality South-African-made gift shop.
++ Intelligent and safe access to the lifts and floors.
+ Several supermarkets around.
++ Two cafes in the building: Doppio Zero and Motherland.
++ In-house Spa, the Wellness Club Spa. The Spa has fabulous premises, a glamorous reception, a very welcoming and lovely lady owner, and great staff. They open long hours, are very accommodating about anything, and accept cash, credit or in-room bill. I had one of the best remedial massage ever by a Chinese experience masseur, and a lovely Thalgo facial by a local therapist. The body scrub was sub par, though. I loved their steam room (perfect temperature!) and rest rooms.

SO SO
# The air-con and ventilation system were very noisy.
# Free Wi-Fi is limited to 100 MB per day.

UNACCEPTABLE
-- I tried to make some phone calls from my room. The line was engaged all the time. Upon checking out, I was told that I had to pay 12 Rands because it showed that somebody had replied, perhaps a voice mail service. Nothing of that happened. The sum is very small, but paying for not speaking is never good. The guy at reception was lovely and sorted out things for me, so I did not have to pay anything.
-- My last hours at the hotel were quite upsetting. Checking out time is 11am. At 9am the lady at the tour desk called to tell me to be at the lobby at 10.45 to get my transfer to the airport ( I found it odd, as I had arranged things the previous day) A few minutes later one of the ladies working at housekeeping tried to open the door, when I opened from inside she apologised and said that she thought I have left... well it was not 11am and I had not checked out, how on earth did she come with that idea? Ten minutes later a couple of guys rang the bell asking to enter the apartment to fix whatever, I told them NO, to come after I vacate the room. Ten minutes later, again!, a cleaner rang the bell and asked me when could come to do the room. I felt that they were trying to speed up my departure. This sort of behaviour is unprofessional and unacceptable for a four star hotel, as this is not a charity shelter. I don't want to feel pushed out of my room, one I paid, because housekeeping wants to hurry up.

IF THIS WERE MY HOTEL I WOULD...
>> Provide customers with disposable sleepers and wardrobe. This is a four star hotel and one expects these things to be there.
>> I would have a scourer and better quality dish-washing liquid in the kitchen.
>> I would add a lamp in the living room area, as the light is dim and not good in the evenings for people with poor sight, like me.
>> I would live up the apartment regarding colours.
>> I would make sure that you have more power adaptors for Australian customers. This is a problem throughout Southern Africa, as many of the Universal adaptors would fit the two-pin plugs, but not the three pin ones, which are standard in Australia.
>> I would provide a shuttle to the Waterfront is great, but then guests have to return by taxi. It would be great if the hotel had its own van, at scheduled times, even if they charge you a few Rands per head.
>> I would place the safe mid level in the shelves not in on the floor one as using it tourned out to be a bit of a nuisance.
>>I would give strict instructions to housekeeping not to disturb customers until they check out and reception has the keys of the apartment.

Room Tip: The upper you go the better view you have of Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spaussiesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William d, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Spaussiesh,
Thank you for visiting Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa recently. My Team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us! 
It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “Ubuntu” and by doing so, created an exceptional experience for our Guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that Mandela Rhodes Place becomes your “home” when visiting Cape Town. I will also be sure to pass your kind words to my Staffing compliment, and a big thank you for this. I did however read through your comments about my Housekeeping Team with concern, and can only humbly apologize for their behavior. This truly is not our standard, and I'm sure the standard you are used to, and it has already been rectified through my Executive Housekeeper. We always strive towards respecting our Guests' privacy and honoring their requests as far as possible. Thank you for your comments about how you would change things at our Hotel, they do come in handy with regards to our Guests' preferences and "likes" ..... and will be taken into account with future planning of facilities etc.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
“Wamkelekile” (Xhosa – Your Welcome)
Best regards and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I recently attended a conference in CPT and decided to stay near the conference venue rather than in family accommodation. The Three cities Mandela Rhodes Place was a perfect stay! The apartment was HUGE and the area amazing with a incredible view of Table Mountain from my balcony. The area is quiet and safe and the convenience of location, in- house parking for the rented car was perfect.
The staff was PROFESSIONAL, helpful and extremely pleasant!!!
Accommodation was affordable and great value for money
Thank you 3 cities Mandela Rhodes!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank globaltraveller20110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William d, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear globaltraveller20110
Thank you for visiting Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa recently. My Team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us! 
It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “Ubuntu” and by doing so, created an exceptional experience for our Guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that Mandela Rhodes Place becomes your “home” when visiting Cape Town. I will also be sure to pass your kind words to my Staffing compliment, and a big thank you for this.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
“Wamkelekile” (Xhosa – Your Welcome)
Best regards and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I had one of the best hotel stays in this hotel! I had one of the best apartments.. The apartment style is perfect when traveling for longer periods and with friends or family what with separate lounge, dining, kitchen and bedroom. It really feels like home away from home. It has all the amenities such as washing machine, a stove, crockery and cutlery, you can actually cook in a hotel! Comfortable space all around. Best views of Table mountain and the City from the 10th floor. Perfect location in the City, you can walk pretty much to everywhere. Long street with its nightlife is one street away.

Will definitely be coming back again!

Room Tip: Like everyone has said, be sure to ask for a room on the Chambers side and preferably higher up in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyageuse-GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William d, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Voyageuse-GP
Thank you for visiting Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa recently. My Team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us! 
It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “Ubuntu” and by doing so, created an exceptional experience for our Guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that Mandela Rhodes Place becomes your “home” when visiting Cape Town. I will also be sure to pass your kind words to my Staffing compliment, and a big thank you for this.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
“Wamkelekile” (Xhosa – Your Welcome)
Best regards and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I really loved the rooms. The hotels location is great. The staff are very friendly. The Taj is next door and you have your food there charged to your room.

The only things stopping me from giving this hotel 5 stars the very expensive internet and poor amount of hot water. You get 100mb a day free and it's 174 rand for 3 gb. I eat data so this wasn't ideal. The shower is hot for approximately 5 mins too.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rocknrollah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William d, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Aziz S,
Thank you for visiting Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa recently. My Team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us! 
It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “Ubuntu” and by doing so, created an exceptional experience for our Guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that Mandela Rhodes Place becomes your “home” when visiting Cape Town. In response, we are increasing the Complimentary Wifi to 200 Megs per day, and will attend to the cost of additional vouchers. I have asked my Maintenance manager to look into the hot water supplies and why the amount is so limited, which it really should not be. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, as we need this sort of detailed feedback, good or bad.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
“Wamkelekile” (Xhosa – Your Welcome)
Best regards and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
österreich
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent staff and room service. You get so much for a little price. Breakfast is very good. No problems with the rooms. Perfect service. The location is very good and a very good place to start sightseeing tours :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cityhopperin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William d, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Cityhopperin2014
Thank you for visiting Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa recently. My Team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us! 
It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “Ubuntu” and by doing so, created an exceptional experience for our Guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that Mandela Rhodes Place becomes your “home” when visiting Cape Town. I will be sure to pass your message to my Staff, thank you.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
“Wamkelekile” (Xhosa – Your Welcome)
Best regards and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. But the start was not so good. We booked our rooms via an agency in Cape Town. Then we add another room the day before check in for our another friend. We went to hotel but unfortunately they couldnt find the last room altough we have confirmation number and paid in advance. After an hour later, they offered to send our friend to another hotel nearby which we didnt accept. We said that then cancel all rooms we will find another hotel but they didnt accept. So more or less we waited 2 hours in reception. On the other hand, the apartment rooms was comfortable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ece B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William d, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Ece B
Thank you for visiting Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa recently. My Team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us! 
It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “Ubuntu” and by doing so, created an exceptional experience for our Guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that Mandela Rhodes Place becomes your “home” when visiting Cape Town. I have taken note of your comments on the difficulty with Reservations, and can assure you I am looking into this and will rectify what has gone wrong. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
“Wamkelekile” (Xhosa – Your Welcome)
Best regards and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#52 of 109 in Cape Town Central
358 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
791 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#39 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,280 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#49 of 109 in Cape Town Central
817 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel

Property: Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Address: Wale Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Mandela Rhodes Place Cape Town
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing