We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, kind staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sweet Orange Guest House
Ranked #55 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Situated on the Sea Point you'll find many good restaurants around. The staff is very helpful and gives good recommendations what to do and see in Capetown. As the huge breakfast is served at a big table you easily meet other travellers. Big, beautiful decorated rooms and nice garden. Unfortunately a bit badly soundproofed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Katharina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Katharina S


We thank you for your review. Here at Sweet Orange Guest House we always strive to provide the best service, our staff are constantly being trained to give the necessary assistant. Each morning we serve a huge breakfast that caters for all discernible tastes and every morning has its own special.
We greatly appreciate your review, your comments are valuable to us.

Kind regards
Evelyn and the Entire team at
Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

I chose B&B because I like to have company during my stay. I have met very interesting and nice people during my stay. Further as a business man I have liked the quality of the wifi. The B&B is located very near to a nice restaurant and shopping street.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Johann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, General Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

As Johann F, many of our guests visiting the restaurant “La Boheme” which is just around the corner and we are happy to hear that you liked the bandwidth of our WiFi as we continuously strive to improve our services we thank you for your review and hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Cape Town.

Kind Regards

Evelyn and the entire team of
Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here for a night recently. Fabulous guesthouse with tremendously elegant rooms, extremely personable service, and excellent breakfast! I am planning to go back here in a few weeks. Definitely recommend this place as it is right by the sea, close to table mountain, and easy to access.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nuwan_samaraweera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear nuwan_samaraweera
Thanks nuwan_samaraweera for your next trip to Cape Town, we recommend that you take advantage and communicate with us for your booking. We honor direct and personal inquiries always with a price rebate. On your next visit four of our rooms will welcome with new touch ups we are looking forward to welcoming you again and we thank you for your review.

Kind regards,

Evelyn and the team of
Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Sweet Orange. The staff are all so friendly, helpful, and very professional. The house is decorated beautifully and we enjoyed sitting outside in the courtyard for breakfast each morning. The location could not get any better! It's within short walking distance to 2 of our favourite restaurants in Sea Point: La Boheme and La Perla. Not to mention the seawall which is totally safe to walk along to watch the sunset. The shower was nice - felt like we were outside with the open window and trees next to it.
A few cons: the pool didn't get much sun during the day, so it was freezing cold and only good for a quick plunge, and there was construction (or a car workshop, we never did find out) nearby and it was noisy during the day.
My fiance and I have also stayed at The Sweet Olive Guest House and we honestly preferred that property (only a few blocks away), it feels more like a 5 star for the same price. For one thing, the bathroom is about 3 times the size. However, if the Sweet Olive isn't available, definitely go ahead and book at the Sweet Orange. You won't regret it :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Dear Melissa C,

We appreciate your review for Sweet Orange Guesthouses, especially that you took the time to write some personal comments. Thanks as well for the brief comment of Sweet Olive Guesthouse, which is our youngest baby in the Guesthouse Group. It is true that the Interior Design is completely different to Sweet Orange Guesthouse, but accordingly to the South African Grading Council the Standards are the same and it is as well credited with 3 Stars. At least that shows the traveller the high standards the Tourism Council is setting for the accommodation sector.

Kind regards,
Therry and the entire staff of
Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Excellent location, close to main city, in fact you can just use a taxi! Rooms were tastefully decorated and houses were very private. Staff gives attention to finest detail. Breakfast was exquisite and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornecoetzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Dear Cornecoetzee,

We appreciate you review and hopefully we will have the opportunity to accommodate you again, when you visit Cape Town again.

Kind regards,
Bridget and the entire team of
Sweet Orange Guesthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Sorry, I wrote a review already to Booking.com, should have done it only to you: It was wonderful to stay there, everything was good. But would have liked to have a little chair in the bathroom to put cloth etc on while showering.
The decor was nice, breakfast fantastic, was not hungry for the whole day afterwards, the staff was friendly and accommodating to our wishes. Thank you very much, Gerlinde Seuring

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gerlinde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

We would like to Thank Gerlinde S for her valuable time to place two reviews for Sweet Orange Guesthouse, one on Booking.com as well as on Tripadvisor. Thank you as well for the comment that you missed a chair in the bathroom, we already took action and placed chairs into our bathrooms were the space it allowed.

Bridget for the
Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Sweet Orange was a perfect place to stay for our family ( with a 9year old daughter). The place is quaint, comfortable, helpful friendly staff who went out of their way to get us a taxi to the airport when ours didn't show up. Great location, walking distance to lots of restaurants and the breakfasts were sublime! I will recommend and if ever in Cape Town again will stay there.
Thanx Sarah Alex and Ava

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SAA1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Hi SAA1111, many thanks for your review as well as we want to Thank you for spending your valuable time to review our Sweet Orange Guesthouse. It is very valuable for us. We are happy to hear, that you arrived at the airport on time with your family. We looking forward to welcoming you again and we wish you all the best.

Kind regards,
Bridget for
Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
#65 of 110 in Cape Town Central
209 reviews
Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Break...
#76 of 156 in Cape Town Central
118 reviews
Sweet Olive Guesthouse
#64 of 156 in Cape Town Central
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sweet Berries Holiday Houses
#86 of 156 in Cape Town Central
38 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#11 of 156 in Cape Town Central
521 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Orange Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Orange Guest House

Address: No. 1 Bellevue Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £50 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweet Orange Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweet Orange is a beautiful classic Victorian home that was built in the early 1900’s. The wooden floors, ceilings, windows and doors have all been lovingly restored, emanating style and elegance at its best. Each of the six large rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, have been individually designed and furnished with flat screen TV’s, hairdryers, mini-safes and other essentials for a relaxing stay. Our tranquil garden complete with a small pool is the perfect place for a further relaxing African sun-soaked experience.Let us treat you to a superior service in this elegant environment. We guarantee you a friendly, warm, relaxing atmosphere for an absolutely comfortable stay in our guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sweet Orange Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Orange Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing