We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sweet Orange Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$360
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$348
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$846
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$484
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$627
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$485
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
99
61
37
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
61
37
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea pointbig bedmueslilovely guesthousenice roomexcellent breakfastsouth africa trippleasant stayperfect place to stayhonesty barsmall poolsafe areaevery morningcentral locationreturn to cape townenjoyed our stayshort walk
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The room was adequate and spacious but the whole reception as a guest was poor and uninviting. I was expecting a more personal feel from a B&B but felt more like a hotel. The "Double Bed" was actually 2 singles. There is NO allocated parking, you are lucky if you can park near the place at all. I don't think it is value for money, especially as it's a B&B but you must pay extra for the second B. I won't go back or recommend it to my friends. No DSTV

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Dear Mark A

We would like to thank you for your valuable Review. We do regret that you did not feel welcomed at the Guesthouse. We would have appreciated if you would have been a bit more precious that we could work on this.

The parking situation is difficult and unfortunately the circumstance does not allow us to provide parking for every customer. We would like as well to mention that we do communicate on the website and as well on all booking engines that we do not have parking slots.

It is indeed true that we do have in each room two single beds which are connected with a king size mattress protector. This method is approved by the South African Tourist councilor.

We from the Sweetest Guesthouses Team do regret that Mark A never took the time to approach one of our Senior Manager with his needs. We would have been more than happy to upgrade Mark A to one of our other Guesthouse where he could have enjoyed DSTV.

Kind Regards
Evelyn and the entire team of
Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Over the weekend I was privelledged to spend a night at Sweet Orange Guesthouse and wow! Best nights sleep I've had in ages, the beds are nice and big and super comfortable. The shower was absolutely fantastic and the staff were unbelievable friendly and helpful. Yummiest breakfast ever! Definitely going back with friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YourMajesty007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear YourMajesty007

We thank you for the time you took to write a review about Sweet Orange on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast, here at sweet orange we delight our guest with a delicious breakfast that caters for all discernible taste and every morning has its own special.

Thank you again for your comments they are very valuable to us.

Kind Regards
Evelyn and the entire team of
Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My husband and I loved our stay at the sweet orange. Amazing staff, great warm & cosy rooms with a delicious breakfast! We have a teething toddler, so this was a great break for us. thanks to you.....



  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SASonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear SASonja

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Sweet Orange Guesthouse.
we greatly appreciate the time you took to write the review and your nice comments about Sweet Orange. Hope to accommodate you again the next time you visit Cape Town.

Kind Regards
Evelyn and the entire team of
Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Good service, nice rooms, helpful staff and fantastic breakfast which is served at a large table with all travelers. Can be noisy at night when other travelers come back though. But in general, the area is a situated in a nice quiet residential neighborhood where restaurants and grocery shops are located nearby.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bee1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

Dear Bee1007

we thank you for your review, here at Sweet Orange Guesthouse we are continuously striving to provide the best service. We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast, every morning we delight our guests with delicious breakfast that caters for all discernible tastes and every morning has its own special treat.

We thank you again for your comments they are very valuable to us.

Kind regards
Evelyn and the entire team of
Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Situated on the Sea Point you'll find many good restaurants around. The staff is very helpful and gives good recommendations what to do and see in Capetown. As the huge breakfast is served at a big table you easily meet other travellers. Big, beautiful decorated rooms and nice garden. Unfortunately a bit badly soundproofed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Katharina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Katharina S


We thank you for your review. Here at Sweet Orange Guest House we always strive to provide the best service, our staff are constantly being trained to give the necessary assistant. Each morning we serve a huge breakfast that caters for all discernible tastes and every morning has its own special.
We greatly appreciate your review, your comments are valuable to us.

Kind regards
Evelyn and the Entire team at
Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews