We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sweet Orange Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$356
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$698
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$665
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$859
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$448
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$856
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$776
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
98
61
37
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
61
37
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea pointb bbig bedmueslilovely guesthousenice roomexcellent breakfastsouth africa trippleasant stayperfect place to stayhonesty barsmall poolsafe areaevery morningcentral locationreturn to cape townenjoyed our stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We went to sweet orange for an relaxing weekend and that's what we got. Everything was perfect, the service, the food, the room everything. It was a bit cold so we stayed inside but we wanna go in summer time again to enjoy the pool and the outside. We really had an amazing time at sweet orange and guarantee that you will to. We will make a booking again sooon. Thank you for everything. Love ashley and Laurelle

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laurelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

We Thank Laurelle P for the effort to place the review, and we are happy that you had a relaxing weekend at Sweet Orange Guesthouse. Winter is indeed a bit chilly in Cape Town, when you will be visiting us in Summer you can make full usage of our garden with it’s cozy chill out areas and take a cooling dip in the pool.

Your review is valuable for us and we are looking forward welcoming you again during your next visit.

Kind regards,
Bridget Jack
Reservation Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This was a lovely little guest house. The breakfast was served in a communal kitchen around a huge wooden table. It consisted of fresh bread, cereals, fresh fruit salad and yoghurt, smoothies, bacon and eggs etc. Amazing good quality and service. Excellent showers too! We loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank capsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Capsen,
We Thank you for your time and effort to place this review as it is very valuable for us. The entire team of Sweet Orange is delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast, that shows us that our staff shows their personal effort daily to satisfy our guest.

Again we appreciate your comments and we hope to accommodate you again during your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind regards,
Bridget Jack
Reservation Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The room was adequate and spacious but the whole reception as a guest was poor and uninviting. I was expecting a more personal feel from a B&B but felt more like a hotel. The "Double Bed" was actually 2 singles. There is NO allocated parking, you are lucky if you can park near the place at all. I don't think it is value for money, especially as it's a B&B but you must pay extra for the second B. I won't go back or recommend it to my friends. No DSTV

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Dear Mark A

We would like to thank you for your valuable Review. We do regret that you did not feel welcomed at the Guesthouse. We would have appreciated if you would have been a bit more precious that we could work on this.

The parking situation is difficult and unfortunately the circumstance does not allow us to provide parking for every customer. We would like as well to mention that we do communicate on the website and as well on all booking engines that we do not have parking slots.

It is indeed true that we do have in each room two single beds which are connected with a king size mattress protector. This method is approved by the South African Tourist councilor.

We from the Sweetest Guesthouses Team do regret that Mark A never took the time to approach one of our Senior Manager with his needs. We would have been more than happy to upgrade Mark A to one of our other Guesthouse where he could have enjoyed DSTV.

Kind Regards
Evelyn and the entire team of
Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Over the weekend I was privelledged to spend a night at Sweet Orange Guesthouse and wow! Best nights sleep I've had in ages, the beds are nice and big and super comfortable. The shower was absolutely fantastic and the staff were unbelievable friendly and helpful. Yummiest breakfast ever! Definitely going back with friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YourMajesty007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear YourMajesty007

We thank you for the time you took to write a review about Sweet Orange on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast, here at sweet orange we delight our guest with a delicious breakfast that caters for all discernible taste and every morning has its own special.

Thank you again for your comments they are very valuable to us.

Kind Regards
Evelyn and the entire team of
Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My husband and I loved our stay at the sweet orange. Amazing staff, great warm & cosy rooms with a delicious breakfast! We have a teething toddler, so this was a great break for us. thanks to you.....



  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SASonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear SASonja

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Sweet Orange Guesthouse.
we greatly appreciate the time you took to write the review and your nice comments about Sweet Orange. Hope to accommodate you again the next time you visit Cape Town.

Kind Regards
Evelyn and the entire team of
Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews