We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, unusual, great value, excellent breakfast and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sweet Orange Guest House
Ranked #54 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Delightful, unusual, great value, excellent breakfast and staff”
Reviewed 8 May 2010

For something different, it is a guesthouse, lovely ambience, interesting art work, great breakfast, helpful staff Stayed in a room called Moon, Friends stayed in Star, lovely lounge out by the pool artefacts such as a quicksilver wetsuit and surf board great large table for breakfast outdoors. Treed private garden area in front, another great lounge on the veranda and table and chairs with lamp pleasant lighting at night in both front and back gardens system of honesty box for beer and soft drinks also make own coffee tea hot chocolate when ever. Didnt have any concerns re clealiness great pillow choice etc We were there for 3 days Safe Walking distance to Sea Point Promenade lots of shops and eating areas as well used taxis at night

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    60
    35
    7
    5
See reviews for
35
90
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Not very appealing, place needs a proper clean

We stayed in April 2010 for one night at Sweet Orange. I booked our stay with Hotel Reservation Service and had a booking confirmation. On arrival we were told there has been a mix up with our booking and would have to go to another guesthouse. After I persisted on staying there, as it was already 6 pm, bizarrely they offered us a free room. I dunno what this was all about.

I begged a staff member to order a taxi for the following morning and was told if we do that the following morning, it is going to be ok. The staff member did not tell us about the transfer option (of the guesthouse) to the airport. On our departure day, while we waited for our taxi we met the driver of the van (with a logo of the guesthouse on his van). He was a very friendly guy, had no appointments at the time and drove us to the airport.

The location of the guesthouse in Seapoint is not very appealing. You enter through a scruffy front yard, into a dark place with furniture that seems like it is cobbled together from flea markets. On the homepage this style is described as “Shabby Chic”.

Our room was spacious but dark, the bed was comfortable though. There is a great choice for Breakfast in a big kitchen to start the day.

One has to give this place a proper clean, clean the entrance, the front yard, the garden, put in more lights, give it a fresh paint to create a more welcoming atmosphere.

Glad we stayed only one night, it was enough.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelsFromAtoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent,UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

Staying at Sweet Orange is a real joy, with a community feel as you sit round the large breakfast table meeting and telling stories with fellow guests.The staff are most welcoming and the food delicious.Having a drink in the garden is a delight.
Although our room was a bit small. others were larger with very pleasant decor. Sea Point is a great location, a few minutes walk from the beach and 10 minutes by car.Yopu can walk to the V and A along the sea front in 45 minutes.
For dining, the Boheme Wine Bar and Restaurant round the corner from Sweet Orange is a real gem with superb food ( far superior to the over rated La Perla) situated nearby.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger130850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

I bought a package on Expedia and this place is a great value. The rooms and the whole property is spotless!. The breakfast in the morning is of high quality and with the other guests at the table it can seem to be like having breakfast with friends. The neighborhood (Sea Point) is quiet at night and there are many restaraunts, bars, laundries and internet cafes nearby. The ocean is only a short walk away and the bus routes to Cape Town and the Waterfront are close by. The cab fare ride to and from Long street is about 50 Rand.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CiderRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

Found Sweet Orange Boutique on Expedia. Value for Money? You bet!!!!!
Great place to stay on a budget, not at all what we expected for the money. Lovely rooms
with very fresh towels and bedding. Flat screen tv and on-suite shower room. Nicely decorated with super king sized beds,fresh bedding and plenty of towels.
Safe area with lots of places to eat close by. Last but not least The Breakfast!!!! I cannot begin to describe it all. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels who do not produce a breakfast of this quality and scale. Plunge pool and outside seating.Would highly recommend you try it

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbarapagesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2008

What a lovely place to stay. We stayed in the "Sky room" which was extremey comfortable and clean.
The staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast's were amazing !
We spent a bit of time sat on the porch watching the world go by while having a few Castle largers - this place is brilliant and very close to everything Cape Town has to offer whist still being in a quiet safe location.
I would 110% definately recommend this place.

  • Liked — The relaxing and chilled atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Streets23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2008

We stayed 3 nights at the Sweetest Orange and absolutely loved it! The room was simple but very nicely decorated with modern bathroom - both very clean. The kitchen and outside areas of the guesthouse were also very welcoming and cozy. Breakfast was outside when it was sunny and it was delicious - fresh orange juice, real German-style bread, eggs, cereal, fruit salad and yogurt with muesli.

The best part was being able to talk to the other guests at breakfast as it was around one big table.

Location is good - Seapoint is a safe and convenient neighborhood, and it felt much quieter and safer than the center where we also stayed (Long Street). A car or taxi is needed to get to town.

Stefan and his wife were very helpful - they booked a table for us at a restaurant and gave us some helpful hints on Cape Town.

Overall, great value for money and I would definitely recommend it!

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — a little noisy
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Houb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.3 mi away
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
#63 of 109 in Cape Town Central
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spring Tide Inn
Spring Tide Inn
#55 of 109 in Cape Town Central
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Verge Aparthotel
The Verge Aparthotel
#130 of 203 in Cape Town
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Break...
#70 of 155 in Cape Town Central
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sweet Olive Guesthouse
Sweet Olive Guesthouse
#51 of 155 in Cape Town Central
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sweet Berries Holiday Houses
Sweet Berries Holiday Houses
#87 of 155 in Cape Town Central
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Orange Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Orange Guest House

Property: Sweet Orange Guest House
Address: No. 1 Bellevue Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweet Orange Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweet Orange is a beautiful classic Victorian home that was built in the early 1900’s. The wooden floors, ceilings, windows and doors have all been lovingly restored, emanating style and elegance at its best. Each of the six large rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, have been individually designed and furnished with flat screen TV’s, hairdryers, mini-safes and other essentials for a relaxing stay. Our tranquil garden complete with a small pool is the perfect place for a further relaxing African sun-soaked experience.Let us treat you to a superior service in this elegant environment. We guarantee you a friendly, warm, relaxing atmosphere for an absolutely comfortable stay in our guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Sweet Orange Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Orange Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing