We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Nearby Hotels
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hippo Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The One 8 Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$180
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$276
US$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$238
US$230
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parliament Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rockwell All Suite Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$156
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,044)
Filter reviews
1,044 results
Traveller rating
314
380
179
97
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
380
179
97
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshark cagelong streettrendy hoteltable mountainstandard roomthe general managercable carbars and restaurantscamps baykloof streetmilkshakeswaterfrontloftsexecutiverandlaptopct
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
725 - 730 of 1,044 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2011

A buddy and I stayed here during the World Cup. Excellent value. Only 3-4 blocks to Long Street, yet the hotel was far enough out of the way to be quiet at night. The interior has an interesting design. Really nice breakfast, the bar was happening while I was there. Our room had a great view of Table Mountain, I completely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shen_Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2015

Thank you for your feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

This is a "snaks" hotel (snaks is afrikaans for funny). So is the elevator actually a shark cage and the toilets on the ground floor are an advemture on itself. Try the "theater fear" or the "temptation" toilets... This, next to friendly staff, open swimming pool on 1st floor, free wifi, big and complete breakfast buffet, etc etc.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2015

Thank you for your feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

This hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of Long Street with its bars and restaurants but also short driving distance from the Table Mountain cable car and Atlantic Coast. The staff are super helpful and the hotel decor is great - if you do stay here make sure you check out the toilets next to the bar! We had a great stay and would recommend this as a base in the city.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honeybadger3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2015

Thank you for your feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We have just had a 12 day stay at the Protea Fire and Ice so I feel that I can give a very accurate and fair report about the quality of the service and facilities of this hotel.
Our family group consisted of eight people, ranging in age from 17-84, spread across 4 rooms (two superior and two standard) on three separate floors.
I cannot stress how delighted we were with all aspects of this wonderful little hotel. It is perfectly placed at the top end of Long Street, close to all the little shops, quirky/vintage boutiques and bars.
Before we stayed at the hotel, I had read all the reviews, some good, some not so good so now that I have stayed at the Protea Fire and Ice, I am a little confused about the negative comments.
The main criticism has been that the rooms are small so we were well prepared for this; however, despite their size,the rooms were very stylishly decorated, extremely well-equipped and beautifully clean. The bed was very large and very comfortable, and the sheets were changed daily. My father-in-law's pillows were replaced immediately with hypoallergenic pillows once we realised that he was allergic to the feather pillows. Our room had an in-suite shower cubicle but this wasn't a problem at all for us. More importantly, the shower was larger than normal with excellent water pressure and heat. The toilet is in a separate cubicle with a door. The coloured lighting in the room was very funky yet there was still enough normal lighting for putting on make-up. There were some lovely touches in the room like the massive safe big enough to accommodate an ipad and my large handbag! The safe also had a power point so that phones etc could be charged whilst in the safe. I also loved the pin-up board in the room so I could display our itinerary, pamphlets, maps etc. Tea and coffee making facilities were handy. Towels and hand-towels were very large. We used the gym daily and although small, it was modern and well-equipped. The bar prices were a little high but this wasn't a huge problem. Capuccinos and hot chocolate drinks were very reasonably priced. We also loved the tasty complimentary generous bar snacks! One of the nicest areas of the hotel was the lounge. What a buzzy and beautifully comfortable area this was! Trendy decor with lots of large soft sofas and comfortable arm-chairs. We really enjoyed relaxing in this area whilst waiting for each other or at the end of an evening for a quiet drink.
There were occasional problems with our room, for example, the light globe in our toilet needed replacing and our shower was not draining properly but all these problems were dealt with immediately and efficiently. In the time that we stayed there, we became very familiar with all the staff from the doormen and cleaning staff, to the reception and bar staff. The service given was of the highest standard possible and we were always treated with respect and great warmth.
As breakfast was not included in our room rate (we got an amazing internet deal), we had breakfast almost every morning at Crust down the road. What a fantastic and brilliantly priced little coffee shop run by such a friendly owner. We had the most superb freshly cooked full English breakfast every morning for around 50 Rand per person including tea, coffee etc. The creamy oats with sliced banana, honey and cinnamon was to die for!!
Undercover parking is available at the hotel. Although it was reasonably priced, it was simpler and easier for us to park our hire car on the road outside the hotel within view of the doormen.
All in all, the Protea Fire and Ice was a fantastic place to stay in Cape Town and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank saljb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2015

Thank you for your feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Nice Hotel. The check-in was fast and friendly. The room was clean and the overall experience fun. The Milkshakes are great.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GAP15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2015

Thank you for your feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews