We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Ranked #79 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Arrived at 8 am after night flight from London and checked in straight away
Great staff , good location and great bar

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROB13Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear GUEST,

Thank you for your awesome review of the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town.

I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient.

Your comments are much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape town again soon.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Johan Cronjé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed here as part of a package vacation through South African Airlines Vacations. We had no idea what to expect, bit we were certainly not disappointed.
The staff was wonderful. The place was spotless. The food was good. I could go on.
This is one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in and to point out the very few faults would be a disservice.
I would have to say that part of what was good for us was the strong US dollar vs the SA rand.
It makes most everything a bargain for us.
That said, this was still a wonderful place to stay and we will stay there again the next time we are in Cape Town.

Room Tip: We were at the end of the hall near the storage room. Likely the rooms further from where the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear GUEST,

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations.

I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay with us, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered, and for highlighting some of our unique selling pionts. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

We hope to be welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town in the not too distant future

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Johan Cronjé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

had themost wonderful time in capetown beautiful hotels lovely service and best of all nice clean fresh sheets everytime you come to your bed @ night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stelio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear GUEST,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us.

I will be sure to congratulate our TEAM on the great service mentioned and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Johan Cronjé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We have spent three nights in one of the executive suites located in the adjacent building to the Fire & Ice Hotel. The two floor suite was amazing with very stylish interior. The basement bedroom as well as the upper floor second bedroom with ensuite baths were absolutely stunning, each equipped with a big flat TV screen at the end of the bed. We really appreciated the complimentary coffee machine with fresh beans in the kitchen area and loved the living room area with cosy sofas and another TV. The huge window from floor to ceiling (over two floors!) was awesome and we could spot Lion's Hill from there. The breakfast was wonderful, offering everything you could wish for and the cappuccinos were fantastic. We also ate one night at the restaurant and were not disappointed either. Very good food in a lovely environment, with a big fish tank stretching along one side of the restaurant. Although very many employees, service is sometimes a bit slow in the restaurant but always nice. And don't forget to try the milkshakes - they're outstanding and a definite must do thing in the bar area. Last but not least: Don't miss the toilets in the hotel, each with its own motto :-)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear GUEST,

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed the experience and thank you for highlighting some of our very unique selling points.

Your comments are much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town again soon.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Johan Cronjé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

It was truly a pleasure to stay at this hotel. They over exceeded our expectations . The Loft apartment was amazing and surprisingly as good if not better than the pics we saw online. It is conveniently located near long street. Would surely recommend any family or group of friends to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TammySanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear GUEST,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town. I am very pleased you enjoyed the experience.

I would like to thank you very much for your awesome comments and assure you that i will congratulate the TEAM for a job well done!

Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town and to hearing from you again!

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Johan Cronjé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I have already stayed in the Standard room, Superior & Apartments and have been very pleased with all three settings. This Hotel to me is a true icon of Urban Lifestyle with a fun Protea feel. One of the receptionists remembered me from a prior stay assisted me perfectly. All the staff have been extremely helpful whilst the hotel was extremely busy I never once got the feeling that I wasn't important in any way.

I truly love this hotel and have made it my first choice when visiting Cape Town.

Keep it up guys I think you are writing the rules for a very demanding and ever changing industry.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clint C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear GUEST,

Thank you so much for your awesome review on the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town. I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us!

Thank you for your words of appreciation. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town and to hearing from you again!

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Johan Cronjé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This hotel has some nice themes, a good bar and restaurant and is well situated. My room was brand-new and clean and I slept like a log. Good shower. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I was surprised to read some of the negative reviews as I did not have any bad experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wintberg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear GUEST,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town. I am very pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us.

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Johan Cronjé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#56 of 112 in Cape Town Central
667 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#74 of 112 in Cape Town Central
368 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,392 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#60 of 112 in Cape Town Central
393 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 112 in Cape Town Central
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town

Address: 64 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Extreme Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#61 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £88 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you step into the lobby of this edgy Tamboerskloof, Cape Town hotel, you will be greeted by the welcoming sounds of deep house lounge beats and immersed into a world of best GUEST service known to mankind. Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town is ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town and a mere 5 minutes from the V&A Waterfront. Set within walking distance of tourist attractions such as the hip night life of Long Street as well as 15 minutes from Cape Town's famous beaches, Camps Bay and Clifton. Mingle with fellow GUESTS and locals at the renowned Communal Table, or enjoy our crisp glass bar, a coffee brewery by day and party ticket by night featuring signature cocktails. Our snug yet sexy rooms are modern and trendy and features all the bells and whistles needed to ensure the comfiest stay. Your cheeky bedroom, ranging from 18 m² - 23 m² (remember that saying about dynamite?) comes standard with the most comfortable king size beds and is the base from which you can explore our slick social spaces and beautiful Mother City This is Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, Cape Town's Hottest Place to Chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! By Marriott Cape Town South Africa
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Extreme Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing