We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to sleep do not go there. I doubt if it a hotel or a nightclub?!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Ranked #81 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 4 January 2012

A New Year’s party for non guesses was disrespectful to the hotel guess who was not informed about that at the moment of the reservation.
The invitation received was, in fact, a “faire-part” meaning: You will have a terrible noise in your room until 4pm, it will be impossible to buy anything to eat or to drink, and the room service will not be available.
In my opinion Protea should decide whether they want to be a Hotel or a nightclub.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertaSAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2015

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments have been noted.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

666 - 672 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights recently and found the hotel, location, and staff to be very good.

The problem is the terribly cramped parking for which you have to pay R40 a night for.

On our second night we ordered room service and dialed the number on the pamphlet. We waited 1 & a half hours, all the time calling two different numbers which went unanswered! Eventually my partner had to go to reception to find out what the problem was. Needless to say the order hadn't been attended to and another half hour later at 11 pm, we received our plate of chips and milkshake - minus the bottled water we ordered.

The hotel was also out of ice cream so they couldn't offer their famous milkshakes and they were also out of certain alcohol spirits. Not what you would expect from a hotel of any standard.

Our room door was also found wide open when we arrived back at the hotel and on reporting this the reception said they would view CCTV cameras. No one bothered to get back to us. Luckily nothing was stolen.

I will definitely try other hotels next time, however I would go back if I was stuck for accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SadieSteytler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Dear Sadie Steytler,

Thank you so much for tanking the time to write a review about your recent experience at the Protea Hotel Fire and Ice ! Cape Town. Your feedback is the one true yardstick by which we can measure our facilities and services. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel in general, that you liked the hotel and that you found the STAFF to be pleasant.

I was however quite concerned about the service related issues that you experienced. Please be assured that you concerns will enjoy our very urgent attention and that whatever lapses you experienced are certainly not in line with our GUEST service vision and would have been as a result of a shortfall on our part.

I would like to formally apologize for any inconsistencies experienced and sincerely thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Fire and Ice!

If you have any further questions or suggestions in this regard, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Many Thanks and Kind Regards

Johan Cronjé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Great Hotel, funny way to make the rooms. Bar , smoke room and toalets.
Hade a great stay in Oct 2011

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paven66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

We glad you had a wonderful stay !

See you soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in early December.

From the moment we arrived in reception to the morning we left the staff at Fire & Ice were just fantastic. Nothing was too much and Sharon who checked us in went that extra mile as she moved us so that we had a view of Table Mountain from our hotel room and this was at no extra cost.

Having read several negative comments on TA about this hotel these proved to be unfounded for our stay.

The surroundings and furnishings were funky if not quirky and the location was about a 3 minute walk away to the top of Long Street (were all the bars are) and about a 5-10 minute taxi journey to the V & A waterfront.

One slight downside is that in our opinion the bar did lack a bit of atmosphere.

However that did not distract from our stay at the Fire & Ice.

Thanks.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear GUEST

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent experience of Protea Hotel Fire and Ice! Cape Town.

I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations of Sharon in particular is highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated her for doing such an outstanding job!

I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town, in the not too distant future.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,

Johan Cronjé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My stay at this hotel was quite comfortable. The only issue i had was when i initially arrived, it took a while for my room to be ready. I must admit that this was eventually sorted out and during the entire duration of my wait and eventually my stay, the staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and it was niceto come back to a clean room at the end of each day. The hotel decor is also quite interesting.

The hotel is located near long street and Bo Kaap area whic provides loads of options in terms of restaurants and shopping and to some extent sight seeing. The V&A waterfront is also not too far away, being approximately 10/15 minutes drive (maximum) by taxi.

The room i was in was on the 5th floor and had a fairly good view of table mountain which was nice.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAOI82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Deat GUEST,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. We assure you that your comments are therefore, being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town again soon.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,

Johan Cronjé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

The hotel is well positioned, easily accessib to drive to anywhere in Cape Town-Table mountain, Waterfront, etc. There is a great restairant in the hotel and a great bar with the most awesome milkshakes You can even walk to other restaurants nearby if you dont want to eat in the hotel. The Executive suites are to die for. You really get a 5 star experience in this hotel, The people are amazing and so is everything!

Room Tip: The Executive suites are the best and for the price you get 5 star experience at a 3 star rate. Amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmadi888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear GUEST,

Thank you so much for your awesome review of the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the experience and thank you for highlighting some of our very unique selling points.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Johan Cronjé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Protea fire and Ice, the hotel was decorated very well, had a secure car park and was very central and easy to get to, more reasonably priced than other hotels but still fairly expensive.

The breakfast buffet was very good and enjoyable, the rooms were small, but spacious enough and well decorated.

The staff were friendly and always willing to assist. I was a quick walk to long street where there are a lot of restaurants and bars.

It was a very enjoyable stay at a great and convenient location, you will probably have a car in CT so getting around from here is really easy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear GUEST,

Thank you for your words of appreciation. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town and to hearing from you again!

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Johan Cronjé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 110 in Cape Town Central
637 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#70 of 110 in Cape Town Central
349 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#57 of 110 in Cape Town Central
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#47 of 110 in Cape Town Central
701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#50 of 110 in Cape Town Central
370 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town

Address: New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8018, South Africa (Formerly Extreme Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#63 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £86 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you step into the lobby of this edgy Tamboerskloof, Cape Town hotel, you will be greeted by the welcoming sounds of deep house lounge beats and immersed into a world of best GUEST service known to mankind. Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town is ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town and a mere 5 minutes from the V&A Waterfront. Set within walking distance of tourist attractions such as the hip night life of Long Street as well as 15 minutes from Cape Town's famous beaches, Camps Bay and Clifton. Mingle with fellow GUESTS and locals at the renowned Communal Table, or enjoy our crisp glass bar, a coffee brewery by day and party ticket by night featuring signature cocktails. Our snug yet sexy rooms are modern and trendy and features all the bells and whistles needed to ensure the comfiest stay. Your cheeky bedroom, ranging from 18 m² - 23 m² (remember that saying about dynamite?) comes standard with the most comfortable king size beds and is the base from which you can explore our slick social spaces and beautiful Mother City This is Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, Cape Town's Hottest Place to Chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! By Marriott Cape Town South Africa
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Extreme Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing