We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Restaurant - Substandard Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Ranked #79 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Restaurant - Substandard Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We ordered the La La Lamb (French trimmed lamb cutlets, marinated, grilled and served with a mint raita) for R130 and the Man Eater (300gram Sirloin steak, dusted in biltong and chilli powder, served with a merlot and rosemary jus) for R115

Our food took 40 minutes to arrive. First thing we noticed was that the food was luke warm and not hot as one would expect. We wondered whether the food had been left at the pass to get cold.

Both the lamb and the steak had been ordered "medium". Unforunately there was no pink anywhere in sight. Both arrived well done. In my opinion there is nothing worse than overcooked meat.

The steak was tough, cool, flakey and tasteless. The only thing which made it edible was the accompanying sauce.

The lamb was slightly more tasty - possibly due to the mint raita. When I'm expected to pay R130 for 3 small lamb cutlets, I expect it to be tasty and cooked to perfection.

An incredibly disappointing experience.

This was our first visit to the restaurant, so we have nothing to compare our experience to, but we were so disappointed we can't justify wanting to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank udivasdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Valued GUEST

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, thus assisting us in continually improving our standards and levels of service.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the disappointment after your recent dining experience at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town. I would like to assure you that this is not our normal standard.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong!
I confirm therefore that your concerns have been addressed with the relevant STAFF and that corrective action is being taken to rectify future shortcomings.

It would be my pleasure to assist you with your next reservation and to ensure that you are well taken care of during your next visit.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Johan Cronjé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    359
    167
    94
    69
See reviews for
100
355
81
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

I stayed alone at The Fire & Ice Hotel in June 2012 on the 5th floor for business. I really enjoyed my stay and found the hotel to be convenient for a CT trip.

Positives:
- Good location
- Modern decor
- Great food (breakfast & dinner)
- Clean
- Stunning views of Table Mountain if you stay in an "odd numbered" room
- Nice staff

Negatives:
- Hotel room access card kept erasing (I tried to keep it away from phone & cards)
- The rooms are really really small
- Very bright blue light when TV off (just stick something over it)

Room Tip: Choose an Odd numbered room on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Valued GUEST

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for pointing out some of our very unique selling points and mentioning how centrally located we are.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town again soon.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Johan Cronjé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I had a misfortune of having to stay 2 nights in June 2012 at this hotel. First impression, as I made my way to the check-in desk, was nothing but positive: lifts designed in a form of a shark cage, neon lights gave a groovy vibe, and so on. I was issued a key for room 422 and that's when troubles began:
1. Shower tap was loose;
2. Data plug (Ethernet connector) was not attached to the wall, which left a hole for little fingers to wonder in close proxinity of 220 V.
3. The wall mounted LCD emited a shinning blue light when it's switched off. I found it incredibly difficult to sleep under those conditions;
4. During breakfast, the bread offered was not even close of being fresh (I never toast my bread);
5. Beef sausages were starting to have an intolerable smell.

I have used numerous Protea Hotels in RSA, however, this experience was definately disappointing and I will probably never visit this place again.

The rooms are also very very small - I chose the standard room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronnie_RSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear GUEST,


Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, thus assisting us in continually improving our standards.

We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the disappointment you experienced due to the size of the room, the loose shower handle and Reception not informing you that we offer every GUEST 150MB complimentary WIFI per day, which can be used throughout our Hotel. Your feedback about the breakfast items has also been noted. We would like to assure you that this is not our normal standard.

We appreciate you bringing the shortcomings and problems that you experienced to our attention and the constructive way in which this was done. We can assure you that your comments have been taken to heart and addressed with the people concerned, and that corrective action has been taken.

Should there be anything we can assist you with in the future, please contact me directly. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea hospitality at its best.


Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Johan Cronjé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Albany, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed April 1. 2012 through April 7, 2012, thence again after a three-night stint in Durban. We upgraded to a two-bedroom (w/breakfast) suite to accommodate our accompanying adult daughter. Table Mountain is visible from just about any corner in Town so ‘view’ out the window was unimportant.

All staff, without exception, is courteous, friendly and helpful. In fact this appears to be the hallmark of South Africa. Emphasis is on style; outstanding but practical – does not stop with living quarters but pervades the dining area, lobby and bar. Bar is an extension of the lobby, lending this area an air of openness. Privacy in the bar is offered by little cubby spaces, each with eloquent décor, comfortable furniture and a flat screen television that drowns intimate conversation. Air-conditioning is excellent. The lavish breakfast takes the cake. Smoking room at the end of the bar is a must-see: Nice, stylish furniture and accoutrements. Look up. The ceiling is adorned with a beautiful, life-size painting in 3D, depicting a grave. One is immersed among folks gathered at an internment. A sinister message to smokers. Smoking also available outside the bar, on left as one exits the front door.

The small street to the hotel is a cul-de-sac of sorts. Local traffic only. Out of the main entrance and to the right is the four-lane main drag running downhill towards downtown. There, one finds alternative breakfast spots, a grocery shop and laundry – all within a stone’s throw. A few feet uphill at the traffic light and you hit the four-lane highway that connects the VA (about two miles) to the East with Western Cape to your left. Bus stops located half a block from this crossing. Taxicabs to the VA Waterfront can be waived down at this crossing but be prepared to get honked at as the green traffic light releases a surge of anxious motorists. The little street serving this hotel houses a tourist bureau – very helpful and available during regular business hours.

Couple of tips:
-Lots of private vehicles masquerading as cabs. Willing to bargain, these guys remain over-priced by about 30 percent. Metered cabs remain the way to go.
-Haphazard roadside parking causes the already narrow roads to become even narrower. Visitors from right-hand drive (US) countries might prefer to rent cars with scratched/scraped left front wheels. I say this because, in avoiding the centre/dividing line I was constantly doing low-speed curb bumps. Rental agency would have difficulty in differentiating added wheel rim damage since previous rental, provided this damage is duly noted.

This hotel consists of two separate buildings with separate entrances, though linked via the basement garage. Since garage is accessed from the back street and is sort of all-inviting, use of street-level entrance is recommended during late hours. We stayed in the second, adjoining building which is separate from Main that houses the lobby, bar, restaurant, etc.

A feature of the street-level electronic door to the second building, where we stayed, baffled the heck out of me. The door is timed, has no sensors (as is standard fare in today’s elevators where door refuses to shut if……..) but can be held open from an inside switch. It seemed one could be seriously hurt if oblivious to mechanical door timing. To crown this, there is no posted instruction on the timed feature, nor is the inside switch clearly identified. Additionally, the raised, bottom door track offers a potential for tripping. Security, obviously, took precedence over physical safety. Door opens with room key. Otherwise, it is not monitored. I would not be surprised if this entry point entertains unpleasant history. Following a few surprises and coffee spills, after three days we caught on somewhat. Not complaining. Just being fair in this review.

A layman’s suggestion if management is listening: Substitute mechanically timed closure feature of door - with remote camera link that is monitored at main building.

Would I stay at this hotel again? Yes, I would……..this time in the Main building.

Room Tip: Telephone and speak directly with the hotel manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 20 July 2015
Thank you for your feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We mainly chose to stay at Protea Fire & Ice because it was so reasonably priced and centrally located. The hotel is right by Long Street (which does mean there is some bar noise from the outside on weekend nights), next to the Company Gardens, and only a 20 min walk to the waterfront.

Pros: The staff was extremely friendly. After the first breakfast, all the waiters remembered that I drank a latte in the morning – I never had to ask for one again!
-Breakfast was wonderful. There was fresh fruit, eggs made to order, cereals, pastries, juices, etc.
-The bar and restaurant were very trendy. The milkshakes were delicious!
-The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

Cons: The rooms are very small. We could barely walk by our bed to get to the other side of the room. We didn’t mind too much, since we didn’t spend much time in our room (there is so much to do in Cape Town).
*Note: The shower is in the room… which would have been awkward if we were not a couple.

Overall, we would definitely go back to Protea Fire & Ice. It was very reasonable for the quality of service and accommodations.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCandSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 20 July 2015
Thank you for your feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed at the Protea Fire and Ice in May following a business trip to Cape Town. This is a somewhat unusual hotel. We were in the standard room, but I believe they have studios/lofts which are pretty special.

For starters, they have amazing milkshakes! And their dinner is excellent too!

Our check-in was very disappointing, but this is down to an individual, and not a reasonable representation of the quality of the establishment necessarily. The restaurant and bar staff were all great.

The two elevators, one of which is decorated as a shark cage, and the other like the cable car up to Table Mountain, are old and rather slow. These do show the true age of this building.

The rooms are furnished in the most interesting fashion. This hotel makes a point of being different, but in our standards room, I counted 23 light bulbs - in a single room! The shower was most disappointing with little to no pressure and the basin so small you can hardly wash your face in it, let alone leave your toiletry bag beside it.

That aside, the decor is VERY DIFFERENT, but fun and funky, the views of Table Mountain from the restaurant outside deck or pool lounge deck was awesome and the breakfast selection excellent. Speaking of the restaurant, it has a koi pond with the glass walls of the pond being a window into the restaurant. It's really soothing having a morning cappuccino while watching the fish gracefully drift past.

I personally prefer their Victoria Junction sister hotel which is on the doorstep of the V&A Waterfront and offer superb views of the harbour.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 20 July 2015
Thank you for your feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize City, Belize
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

The hotel came recommend by a friend. The location was great and the hotel was nice.
Its near a lot of bars a couple of blocks away (on Long Street). Mix of crowd from leisure travelers to business travelers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gxg189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 20 July 2015
Thank you for your feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.2 mi away
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#34 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#52 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Town Hollow
Cape Town Hollow
#46 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town

Property: Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Address: New Church Street, Cape Town Central 8018, South Africa (Formerly Extreme Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#62 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you step into the lobby of this edgy Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Hotel, you will be greeted by the welcoming sounds of deep house lounge beats and immersed into a world of best GUEST service known to mankind. This ultra-chic hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town and is a mere 5 minutes from the V&A Waterfront. Set within walking distance of tourist attractions such as the hip night life of Long Street as well as 15 minutes from Cape Town's famous beaches, Camps Bay and Clifton. Mingle with fellow GUESTS and locals at the renowned Communal Table, or enjoy our crisp glass bar, a coffee brewery by day and party ticket by night featuring signature milkshakes and cocktails. Our snug yet sexy rooms are modern and trendy and features all the bells and whistles needed to ensure the comfiest stay. Your cheeky bedroom, ranging from 18 m² - 23 m² (remember that saying about dynamite?) comes standard with the most comfortable king size beds and is the base from which you can explore our slick social spaces and beautiful Mother City This is Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town, Cape Town's Hottest Place to Chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! By Marriott Cape Town South Africa
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Extreme Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing