We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upbeat and Chic Stay at Protea Fire & Ice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Ranked #80 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Upbeat and Chic Stay at Protea Fire & Ice Hotel”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Protea Hotel FIre & Ice Hotel is a very upbeat and chic hotel with a view of Table Mountain. The staff is courteous and very accommodating. The decor in the hotel is very nice and stylish. However, the rooms are small, so if you are looking for space you may want a room to yourself. You will also need an adaptor for your laptop computer and cell phone, etc. The hotel have them but may run out depending on high occupancy from foreign travelers that may need them. Also, there was only one outlet in the whole room so if you are sharing rooms you will have to share the one adaptor and outlet. It was a tad bit inconvenient but really not a big deal. The rest of the hotel made up for it. Each morning they had a lavish breakfast buffet with different foods, fresh cut fruit, eggs to order, and wonderful pastries. Two thumbs up!! It is very close and in walking distance to "Long Street" where clubs, shops, restaurants, are located. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OMGTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear Valued GUEST

From all of us here at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review. We highly value these reviews, as they are true reflections of our hotel, and provide us with more insight into what we can change to ensure our GUESTS have an all-round great experience. We pride ourselves in our fresh and funky menu and are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, and encourage you to try our new a la carte menu on your next trip. Looking forward to your return.
Many Thanks and Kind Regards,

Johan Cronjé

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    364
    169
    94
    70
See reviews for
101
359
82
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The worst hotel experience I have ever had.

I would vaeat the review by saying that we are fortunate to have stayed in some of the best towels in the world and equally have backpacked and stayed in $5 a night beach shacks. Everywhere has a price, charm and value.

None of that applies to fire and ice however. For a hotel that s presenting itself as a four star "boutique" and pricing accordingly, it is way off the mark. So many simple things simply weren't done - clean towels, fresh toiletries daily, broken A/C, new tea/coffee samples, emptying bins.... Not complex stuff!

Even more annoying is that staff simply do not care. I mentioned on numerous occasions throughout my week stay issues and I was told by different members of staff that these would be looked into and fixed whilst we were out.... Nothing ever happened and you got the distinct impression that as long as their shift had finished and they weren't there when you returned the that was acceptable. Phone requests such as clean towels or irons where not followed up upon etc. simply appealing service whatever standard of hotel in any part of the world.

Additionally, rooms and the pool are tiny.

Positive note, the hotel does a good BBQ chicken burger....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Byrneand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Valued GUEST


GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. We would, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town. I can assure you that your comments will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service levels and facilities.

The inconvenience which you experienced throughout your stay is most definitely not the standard we strive to achieve. Please be assured that your comments have been addressed in detail with the relevant management and STAFF.

I can assure you, should you stay at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town again, that every effort will be made to ensure that you enjoy our true hospitality! Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. It would be my pleasure to assist you with your next reservation and to ensure that you are well taken care of during your next stay with us.



Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Johan Cronjé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed at PF&I from June 15th through June 20th, 2012. We received an excellent value for our money. The hotel is hip, cool, chic and fun. It is located very conveniently within walking distance to Long Street - a main area for restaurants, shopping and bars. The standard rooms are small but well appointed (although I would have included a small mini-frig & bathrobes in the room when designed). We also had a lovely view of Table Mountain and the city from our room. We appeciated the free WiFi. The buffet breakfast (included in the price) was good and included enough choices. We ate hamburgers in the dining room for lunch one day and they were delicious. We wanted massages and they made us reservations at a spa located right next door to the hotel which was wonderful.

The main thing that makes this a good hotel choice is the staff. The cleaning crews did a great job with the rooms and were always greeted you pleasantly in the halls and common areas. The bar staff poured good drinks and actually made a good bloody mary (something that we usually don't get in other countries).

A special acknowledgement must be made to Fabien at the front desk. He is personable and should probably be a concierge rather than a front desk clerk. He suggested restaurants each night and made all of our dinner reservations. All of his suggestions were delicious. He procured taxis for us. He had the chef send us a special dessert for my birthday. He is enthusiastic and efficient and we appreciated his efforts to make our stay wonderful.

We only had two slight issues during our stay. We didn't realize that we had to completely log off of the WiFi in order to save the megabytes we used so we accidentally used up our days worth early in the morning and didn't have any left over for the afternoon. When we brought this up to the front desk and they informed us of our error, they immediately gave us another code that we could use that afternoon - problem solved. The second thing was that our shower drained very slowly. We mentioned this to the front desk upon leaving in the morning and by the time we returned back to our room that afternoon it was fixed - again, problem solved quickly and efficiently.

I would definitely return to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone who wants a small hotel with good value and good service.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz_Stelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Valued GUEST


Thank you very much for your awesome review about your recent stay at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations of Fabian in particular are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated him for doing such an outstanding job!

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations.

Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town again soon.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Johan Cronjé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We ordered the La La Lamb (French trimmed lamb cutlets, marinated, grilled and served with a mint raita) for R130 and the Man Eater (300gram Sirloin steak, dusted in biltong and chilli powder, served with a merlot and rosemary jus) for R115

Our food took 40 minutes to arrive. First thing we noticed was that the food was luke warm and not hot as one would expect. We wondered whether the food had been left at the pass to get cold.

Both the lamb and the steak had been ordered "medium". Unforunately there was no pink anywhere in sight. Both arrived well done. In my opinion there is nothing worse than overcooked meat.

The steak was tough, cool, flakey and tasteless. The only thing which made it edible was the accompanying sauce.

The lamb was slightly more tasty - possibly due to the mint raita. When I'm expected to pay R130 for 3 small lamb cutlets, I expect it to be tasty and cooked to perfection.

An incredibly disappointing experience.

This was our first visit to the restaurant, so we have nothing to compare our experience to, but we were so disappointed we can't justify wanting to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank udivasdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Valued GUEST

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, thus assisting us in continually improving our standards and levels of service.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the disappointment after your recent dining experience at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town. I would like to assure you that this is not our normal standard.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong!
I confirm therefore that your concerns have been addressed with the relevant STAFF and that corrective action is being taken to rectify future shortcomings.

It would be my pleasure to assist you with your next reservation and to ensure that you are well taken care of during your next visit.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Johan Cronjé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I stayed alone at The Fire & Ice Hotel in June 2012 on the 5th floor for business. I really enjoyed my stay and found the hotel to be convenient for a CT trip.

Positives:
- Good location
- Modern decor
- Great food (breakfast & dinner)
- Clean
- Stunning views of Table Mountain if you stay in an "odd numbered" room
- Nice staff

Negatives:
- Hotel room access card kept erasing (I tried to keep it away from phone & cards)
- The rooms are really really small
- Very bright blue light when TV off (just stick something over it)

Room Tip: Choose an Odd numbered room on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Valued GUEST

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for pointing out some of our very unique selling points and mentioning how centrally located we are.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town again soon.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Johan Cronjé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I had a misfortune of having to stay 2 nights in June 2012 at this hotel. First impression, as I made my way to the check-in desk, was nothing but positive: lifts designed in a form of a shark cage, neon lights gave a groovy vibe, and so on. I was issued a key for room 422 and that's when troubles began:
1. Shower tap was loose;
2. Data plug (Ethernet connector) was not attached to the wall, which left a hole for little fingers to wonder in close proxinity of 220 V.
3. The wall mounted LCD emited a shinning blue light when it's switched off. I found it incredibly difficult to sleep under those conditions;
4. During breakfast, the bread offered was not even close of being fresh (I never toast my bread);
5. Beef sausages were starting to have an intolerable smell.

I have used numerous Protea Hotels in RSA, however, this experience was definately disappointing and I will probably never visit this place again.

The rooms are also very very small - I chose the standard room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronnie_RSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear GUEST,


Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, thus assisting us in continually improving our standards.

We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the disappointment you experienced due to the size of the room, the loose shower handle and Reception not informing you that we offer every GUEST 150MB complimentary WIFI per day, which can be used throughout our Hotel. Your feedback about the breakfast items has also been noted. We would like to assure you that this is not our normal standard.

We appreciate you bringing the shortcomings and problems that you experienced to our attention and the constructive way in which this was done. We can assure you that your comments have been taken to heart and addressed with the people concerned, and that corrective action has been taken.

Should there be anything we can assist you with in the future, please contact me directly. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea hospitality at its best.


Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Johan Cronjé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed April 1. 2012 through April 7, 2012, thence again after a three-night stint in Durban. We upgraded to a two-bedroom (w/breakfast) suite to accommodate our accompanying adult daughter. Table Mountain is visible from just about any corner in Town so ‘view’ out the window was unimportant.

All staff, without exception, is courteous, friendly and helpful. In fact this appears to be the hallmark of South Africa. Emphasis is on style; outstanding but practical – does not stop with living quarters but pervades the dining area, lobby and bar. Bar is an extension of the lobby, lending this area an air of openness. Privacy in the bar is offered by little cubby spaces, each with eloquent décor, comfortable furniture and a flat screen television that drowns intimate conversation. Air-conditioning is excellent. The lavish breakfast takes the cake. Smoking room at the end of the bar is a must-see: Nice, stylish furniture and accoutrements. Look up. The ceiling is adorned with a beautiful, life-size painting in 3D, depicting a grave. One is immersed among folks gathered at an internment. A sinister message to smokers. Smoking also available outside the bar, on left as one exits the front door.

The small street to the hotel is a cul-de-sac of sorts. Local traffic only. Out of the main entrance and to the right is the four-lane main drag running downhill towards downtown. There, one finds alternative breakfast spots, a grocery shop and laundry – all within a stone’s throw. A few feet uphill at the traffic light and you hit the four-lane highway that connects the VA (about two miles) to the East with Western Cape to your left. Bus stops located half a block from this crossing. Taxicabs to the VA Waterfront can be waived down at this crossing but be prepared to get honked at as the green traffic light releases a surge of anxious motorists. The little street serving this hotel houses a tourist bureau – very helpful and available during regular business hours.

Couple of tips:
-Lots of private vehicles masquerading as cabs. Willing to bargain, these guys remain over-priced by about 30 percent. Metered cabs remain the way to go.
-Haphazard roadside parking causes the already narrow roads to become even narrower. Visitors from right-hand drive (US) countries might prefer to rent cars with scratched/scraped left front wheels. I say this because, in avoiding the centre/dividing line I was constantly doing low-speed curb bumps. Rental agency would have difficulty in differentiating added wheel rim damage since previous rental, provided this damage is duly noted.

This hotel consists of two separate buildings with separate entrances, though linked via the basement garage. Since garage is accessed from the back street and is sort of all-inviting, use of street-level entrance is recommended during late hours. We stayed in the second, adjoining building which is separate from Main that houses the lobby, bar, restaurant, etc.

A feature of the street-level electronic door to the second building, where we stayed, baffled the heck out of me. The door is timed, has no sensors (as is standard fare in today’s elevators where door refuses to shut if……..) but can be held open from an inside switch. It seemed one could be seriously hurt if oblivious to mechanical door timing. To crown this, there is no posted instruction on the timed feature, nor is the inside switch clearly identified. Additionally, the raised, bottom door track offers a potential for tripping. Security, obviously, took precedence over physical safety. Door opens with room key. Otherwise, it is not monitored. I would not be surprised if this entry point entertains unpleasant history. Following a few surprises and coffee spills, after three days we caught on somewhat. Not complaining. Just being fair in this review.

A layman’s suggestion if management is listening: Substitute mechanically timed closure feature of door - with remote camera link that is monitored at main building.

Would I stay at this hotel again? Yes, I would……..this time in the Main building.

Room Tip: Telephone and speak directly with the hotel manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 20 July 2015
Thank you for your feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#55 of 109 in Cape Town Central
602 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#66 of 109 in Cape Town Central
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#39 of 109 in Cape Town Central
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 109 in Cape Town Central
958 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
796 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 109 in Cape Town Central
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town

Property: Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Address: New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8018, South Africa (Formerly Extreme Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#63 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you step into the lobby of this edgy Tamboerskloof, Cape Town hotel, you will be greeted by the welcoming sounds of deep house lounge beats and immersed into a world of best GUEST service known to mankind. Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town is ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town and a mere 5 minutes from the V&A Waterfront. Set within walking distance of tourist attractions such as the hip night life of Long Street as well as 15 minutes from Cape Town's famous beaches, Camps Bay and Clifton. Mingle with fellow GUESTS and locals at the renowned Communal Table, or enjoy our crisp glass bar, a coffee brewery by day and party ticket by night featuring signature cocktails. Our snug yet sexy rooms are modern and trendy and features all the bells and whistles needed to ensure the comfiest stay. Your cheeky bedroom, ranging from 18 m² - 23 m² (remember that saying about dynamite?) comes standard with the most comfortable king size beds and is the base from which you can explore our slick social spaces and beautiful Mother City This is Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, Cape Town's Hottest Place to Chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! By Marriott Cape Town South Africa
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Extreme Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing