We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Ranked #83 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Protea Fire and Ice Hotel in Cape Town is a really fun hotel in Cape Town.
Although it is not on the beach front it is along the main road leading up to Table Mountain and only about 2kms/ 1.25 miles from the Waterfront Complex.
Their " milkshakes" and I have put that in " because likening their creations to a common or garden milkshake is like likening soda water to champagne.
You must try one, and definitely their speciality enormous ones. They come in a variety of flavours but undoubtedly the best is their Lindt chocolate shake.
Right, now that I have stopped salivating let's get onto the hotel itself.
The rooms are, whilst smallish, really well appointed and more than adequate for the stay.
The elevators themselves are done in different themes and the bar area is really great with alcoves, each with a different fun decoration.
You must also have a look at the themes in the downstairs loo's.
Whomever was the interior decorator had a wild and wonderful imagination.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floors are less noisy
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Clive V,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor about your experience at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town.

We are thrilled to hear you had such an awesome stay with us and enjoyed our milkshake offerings! Your positive review is greatly appreciated and has been shared with our TEAM.

We hope to see you back with us soon.

Kind Regards,

Johan Cronje
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is my favourite spot in Cape Town to enjoy a milkshake - fantastic flavours, fun vibe and creative decor. There are so many yummy and unusual flavours, you just keep having to go back to try another. The burgers are great too.

As for the hotel itself its conveniently located toward the 'top' of town, close to the night life of long street and the various attractions. The staff is always friendly and the service is good.

Room Tip: The standard rooms might feel a little small - the point is providing a comfortable place to sleep a...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear mmre,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor about your experience at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town.

Wow, we are extremely humbled by your feedback! We are glad to hear your enjoyed our Burgers & Milkshakes, with over 37 flavours we always keep things interesting.

We hope to see you back with us in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Johan Cronje
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed a lot in hotels in all of Africa but this place was beautiful, much character extremely good service and very very clean. The prices and quality of food services are exceptional. the rooms are above average with excellent view of surrounding area. I would definetly stay there again

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newfieboy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear newfieboy01,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor about your experience at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town.

We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay with us! Your kind words are greatly appreciated and will most certainly be distributed amongst the TEAM.

We hope to see you back with us in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Johan Cronje
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Surprising fun hotel in a traditional hotel chain. Very groovy decor and a great restaurant.
Rooms are small but sufficient for overnight stay...would not call it a family hotel but great for business stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antje H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Antje H,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Your comments regarding our decor and restaurant was well received (I hope you tried our famous burger and milkshakes!).

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town on your next visit!

Kind regards

Johan Cronje
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Myself and six friends spent 3 days here this month following a weeks golf. A perfect base for visiting Cape Town. 15 walk from theWaterfront and right next to Long and Bree Street. The rooms are spacious and clean and the service is 5 star. Well done to all.

Room Tip: 5th Floor..
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciaran O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Ciaran O,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town. Your comments and praise regarding the service was well received by our entire TEAM.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Town and the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town.

Kind Regards

Johan Cronje
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We had a business lunch & the build your own burger option is fantastic. The meat was well seasoned & option of 150g or 250g available. Can recommend.
Wine selection by the glass okay. Waitress was friendly even though a little slow (in training).
Ambience is hip & different. Can recommend & would return anytime.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Miriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Miriam C,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor about your experience at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your business lunch with us and that this has gained your stamp of approval. Thank you for your positive feedback.

We hope to see you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Johan Cronje
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

When visiting Cape Town, I always stay at this hotel. Staff are friendly and it has a trendy feel. Rooms are comfortable and funky. The restaurant makes epic burgers and breakfast buffet is one of the best.

Highly recommended

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Dene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johancronje, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Dene D,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor about your experience at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and that our STAFF were able to meet & exceed your expectations.

On top of this all, we are happy that the food, décor and all round experience has gained your stamp of approval and recommendation.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Johan Cronje
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 111 in Cape Town Central
628 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#69 of 111 in Cape Town Central
343 reviews
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#40 of 111 in Cape Town Central
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 111 in Cape Town Central
342 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 111 in Cape Town Central
361 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town

Address: New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8018, South Africa (Formerly Extreme Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#64 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £81 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you step into the lobby of this edgy Tamboerskloof, Cape Town hotel, you will be greeted by the welcoming sounds of deep house lounge beats and immersed into a world of best GUEST service known to mankind. Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town is ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town and a mere 5 minutes from the V&A Waterfront. Set within walking distance of tourist attractions such as the hip night life of Long Street as well as 15 minutes from Cape Town's famous beaches, Camps Bay and Clifton. Mingle with fellow GUESTS and locals at the renowned Communal Table, or enjoy our crisp glass bar, a coffee brewery by day and party ticket by night featuring signature cocktails. Our snug yet sexy rooms are modern and trendy and features all the bells and whistles needed to ensure the comfiest stay. Your cheeky bedroom, ranging from 18 m² - 23 m² (remember that saying about dynamite?) comes standard with the most comfortable king size beds and is the base from which you can explore our slick social spaces and beautiful Mother City This is Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, Cape Town's Hottest Place to Chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! By Marriott Cape Town South Africa
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Extreme Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing