We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky hotel in a great location and good knowledgable staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Ranked #80 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Funky hotel in a great location and good knowledgable staff”
Reviewed 16 December 2009

We have just stayed here for 3 nights and booked it as it was recommended and the reviews on Tripadvisor. It really is very crazy in style and the big glass walld shower next to the bed is like something you would find in a Brothel in Amsterdam but works brilliantly in this hotel. The decor is loud and off the wall. The rooms were very practical, fantastic bed and very clean.

The breakfast was excellent and I has a full fry up and continental breakfast each day. The location is not fancy but great for driving to anywhere you need to get to. The staff are very helpful although the bar staff were a little arrogant and took ages to serve us and everyone it seemed. You must look at the toilets in the lobby, very funky!

Good value hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haggisinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 13 July 2015
Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    364
    169
    94
    70
See reviews for
101
359
82
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and I have to say, it was spotless. It has so many special touches, ranging from a "shark-cage-diving"- decorated elevator to wonderful chandeliers, the right colour settings, and a wonderful view on the Table Mountain. We stayed in an Executive Non-Smoking Room. We could check in early and found flowers decorated on the bed as I had indicated before that this was a special trip for my partner and myself. There was a sign next to the reception with our names and a welcome, which was a nice touch! The Breakfast Buffet includes a hot plate where they individually, free and on request prepare any omlette, scrambled egg... anything. They simply had it all. Because I was a bit sick when we arrived we couldn't go out at night, but stayed at the Hotel Bar. The barkeeper remembered us already on the second night, including the drinks that we had and was happy to see us again. All questions, requests, advice was always given in an extra friendly way and we truly enjoyed our time there. When looking for good hotels in Cape Town, I was surprised about the costs - and this hotel is (still) a hidden gem in terms of value for money. If there is anything to critizise... thinking hard.. MAYBE the rooms could have been more spacious. But that was made up with a wonderful walk-in shower and a Bose Radio system. Quality over Quantity. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reddogredrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 13 July 2015
Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durban
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Protea Fire and Ice for 6 nights. We normally stay on the watefront but this year opted to stay in the city centre. The Protea F&I was ideally situated if you want to stroll down to Long Street to the bars and restaurants, the Slave Lodge and government buildings and company gardens is within easy walking distance. The Staff was very friendly even the car parking attendant who was the first to greet us when we parked our car in the undercover parking lot. I was expecting the romms to be very small after reading the other reviews, but I didnt think they were that small at all, after all, if you are visiting Cape Town do you really want to be stuck in your room all the time. They are more than adequate. The shower was fantastic but one day it did overflow. We didnt eat breakfast in the hotel as we tend to eat out in Cape Town, but we did order room service and the food was good. The room service we were told is open 24hr of the day which is a real bonus. You must try the milkshakes in the F&I they are to die for!!
Bar staff was very friendly also, and there was a nice atmosphere in the evening, it seemed liked people came into the bar from outside just to have a drink. The hotel is quirky as other reviewers have already commented on, which is something different.

The only thing I wou;ld have to say against the F&I woould be that the maid service kept forgetting to replace towels and the tea& coffee making facilities for our room, after a few days I left a note to remind them.Also in the room it says that you have 12 channel tv but infact it is only 5 channels. There is no dstv. When we enquired about this we were told the channels were locked, then why have a tv guide saying you can get Sky news etc? Not that we watched alot of tv but still should advertise if they dont have it. The hotel also provided free internet of which they didnt seem to monitor and we used it frequently on checking out sights to see etc. I would suggest that they have tourist brochures in the hotel and or in the room as I did not see any. It would be helpful for people on holiday to have maps of Cape Town, where to go etc.

Apart from these minor mixups it was a really enjoyable stay, and I would definately stay at the Protea Fire & Ice again. It was well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmadurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 13 July 2015
Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2009

It's been a nice stay in the hotel. Room was in the fifth floor, unfortunately not with sight of the table mountain. Decoration was modern, very cool shower. What I really liked: Breakfast in front of the fishes, free internet (but you had to get a code after using up 35 MB traffic), the location (well situated more or less at the end of Long Street). What I didn't like: Nothing in particular.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franziskript
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 13 July 2015
Thank you for your feedback.

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
164 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2009

At the top of long street, easy to walk down to long street, bar is quirky and rooms are just big enough to stay for 4 nights, there is a small pool and deck which is nice to chill out. The room was really quiet and had a great view of table mountain. Easy to get cabs and to hop on and off the tour bus from here.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbieJLpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 13 July 2015
Thank you for letting us know you had a great stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Reasonably priced (I paid £65/night) hotel that is within easy walking distance of Long Street’s bars, as well as museums and government buildings and the fort. The hotel has attempted a funky vibe and I think they have achieve this in the bar/restaurant (try their milkshakes). However, maybe they went a little bit too far (where funky meets tacky) in the themed elevators, and “fire carpeted” hallways.

The lobby always felt very chaotic to me, but the service was friendly and professional. They also allowed me an early check-in, which after an overnight flight from London was fabulous. The rooms are a little small, but functional with that “funky” feel and a couple nice additions (Bose i-pod docking system, free wifi). However, glass divider between shower and bedroom might put people who like their privacy off. Overall, good value for money (I wouldn’t pay much more than £65 though) and good location.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CANINLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 13 July 2015
Thank you for letting us know you had a great stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
94 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

I booked at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice for 4 days in September on the basis of all the good reviews i read on Tripadvisor . Unfortunately, i had to check out after one day and move to another hotel. The rooms at Fire & Ice are very small and extremely average.
Firstly, the rate this hotel charges, being a 3-star hotel is ludicrous. For 300 Rand (USD40) more you can stay at the Westin, which is a 5-star hotel.

Secondly, this hotel is situated in the city, which is not the greatest place to be staying in, especially at night. The hotels situated around the convention centre (about 3 of them) are far more convenient for getting around in Cape Town, and a lot safer.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolskjaerZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 13 July 2015
Thank you for letting us know you had a great stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#55 of 109 in Cape Town Central
602 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#38 of 109 in Cape Town Central
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 109 in Cape Town Central
960 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
796 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 109 in Cape Town Central
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town

Property: Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Address: New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8018, South Africa (Formerly Extreme Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#63 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you step into the lobby of this edgy Tamboerskloof, Cape Town hotel, you will be greeted by the welcoming sounds of deep house lounge beats and immersed into a world of best GUEST service known to mankind. Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town is ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town and a mere 5 minutes from the V&A Waterfront. Set within walking distance of tourist attractions such as the hip night life of Long Street as well as 15 minutes from Cape Town's famous beaches, Camps Bay and Clifton. Mingle with fellow GUESTS and locals at the renowned Communal Table, or enjoy our crisp glass bar, a coffee brewery by day and party ticket by night featuring signature cocktails. Our snug yet sexy rooms are modern and trendy and features all the bells and whistles needed to ensure the comfiest stay. Your cheeky bedroom, ranging from 18 m² - 23 m² (remember that saying about dynamite?) comes standard with the most comfortable king size beds and is the base from which you can explore our slick social spaces and beautiful Mother City This is Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, Cape Town's Hottest Place to Chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! By Marriott Cape Town South Africa
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Extreme Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing