We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky ambience, comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Ranked #83 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 14 March 2010

I stayed in the Protea Fire n Ice hotel a few times while passing through Cape Town for work in 2009. Centrally located, the hotel is excellently designed with very funky interiors and good use of the available space. While some may find the dark corridors and lighting a bit too nightclubby (for lack of a better word!), it keeps the young crowd happy. The beds are fantastic and the rooms comfortable and well-equipped. Good food at the restaurant as well and great service at the reception and elsewhere. All-in-all, well worth its price.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
Thank Anu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

779 - 785 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2010

Clean tidy with a fun theme running through it. The bar staff and reception were excellent even the cleaning staff gave you a happy good morning when ever they passed in the corridors. Pleasent small balcony pool apart from the Russian yob who though it was clever to dive (badly) right in front of us! The rooms were a bit small with limited storage but the views of the mountain and excellent showers made up for this and after all this was not the Ritz and we were not there to see the inside of a hotel room.

The bed linen was the best I have ever seen but this turned out to be a recurring theme throughout our South African trip. Cotton sheets like thick cool silk. I recommedn the Jack Black Beer in the bar BTW

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5cottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Although this is an excellent hotel with a great / quirly atmosphere, I was very disappointed with their service. I booked in August 2009 via expedia. When I arrived (Feb 2010) I was told that they were fully booked and had arranged accommodation for us in another hotel half an hour away. Make sure you double check your booking before travelling!!!

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Jim_Manchester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

I can only endorse the many wonderful reviews of this great hotel. The rooms are very comfy, the staff always courteous and helpful. I was on business and expected to have to do some work, and so I opted for an Executive Rom. I suspect this was unnecessary - all the times I did do work, I sat in the comfy downstairs lounge area, or even better - in the huge room that forms part of the pool deck. The hotel design is wacky but wonderful. At this price in CT it has to be one of the best value hotels I have stayed in. I cannot imagine I would ever stay anywhere else in CT.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveMLOndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Situated reasonably centrally on the edge of the backbacking zone, but with a much higher standard of creature comforts than this implies. We were first timers in Cape Town, and wanted somewhere reasonably chilled and welcoming for a 25th anniversary break together. Many other reviews have referred to F&I!'s high concept features, which gave a fun ambience to the whole experience. But the main reason we had a great week was the commitment and helpfulness of staff, the availabiity of good food (Miller's Thumb restaurant was within easy walking distance), and a reasonable but not waterfront location. Rooms were small, and not wildly suitable if sharing with someone you didn't feel comofrtable about seing through a glass wall on the shower. It soon steamed up, and after 25 years of marriage we were OK about that, but it might not suit everybody. It was reasonably safe on the streets at this end of Long Street, especially in the day time, with a nearby ATM, and corner shop. There was free internet access, which helped with bookings and tickets, and we coud print out downloded tickets by emailing them to reception to print out for us, for free Friendly and approachable staff, but very professional. All in all we had a a wonderful time together, and F&I! was a major part of the experience.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan_wilson49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

I can't say enough about this hip hotel with the clever little hotel rooms and the most imaginative rest rooms I have ever seen. I was traveling alone and the staff could not have been more attentive. They were sure to tell me the places in the city I should see; members of the staff welcomed me back to the hotel and inquired as to my level of satisfaction every time I returned. The hotel's location is awesome in that it is within walking distance of the many restaurants and clubs on Long Street. The youthful manager, Anton, has hired a dynamic, happy staff who really do their individual best to assure each guests comfort and to see that they are having an enjoyable stay. I would never consider another hotel if I return to Capetown.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

...who knew you could have it all! This place and the service doesn't take themselves too seriously but still maintain a sense of sophistication. The bar is all open with great lines and real ice built into it and a fireplace. The breakfast offering has more than you can possibly wish for including eggs made to order and a big variety of cereals, juices and fruits. The lattes and cappuccinos are available at an extra cost but so worth it. The rooms are wide open and many have a clear, glass shower opening into the bedroom so you better be comfortable with whomever you are sharing the room with but the beds are comfy. Closet is small which was fine for me as I was only there for a couple of nights. The location is killer with a lot of cool restaurants and stores nearby including a Woolworth's grocery store. Also, stumbling distance from Long Street if you want to go hit the nightlife although the hotel bar has a great vibe to it and, yes, you have to check out all the bathrooms and elevators. Cheers...

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leggman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria ...
#59 of 112 in Cape Town Central
671 reviews
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point
#75 of 112 in Cape Town Central
374 reviews
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfron...
#63 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,408 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 112 in Cape Town Central
860 reviews
Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wha...
#61 of 112 in Cape Town Central
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town

Address: 64 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Extreme Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#63 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £85 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you step into the lobby of this edgy Tamboerskloof, Cape Town hotel, you will be greeted by the welcoming sounds of deep house lounge beats and immersed into a world of best GUEST service known to mankind. Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town is ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town and a mere 5 minutes from the V&A Waterfront. Set within walking distance of tourist attractions such as the hip night life of Long Street as well as 15 minutes from Cape Town's famous beaches, Camps Bay and Clifton. Mingle with fellow GUESTS and locals at the renowned Communal Table, or enjoy our crisp glass bar, a coffee brewery by day and party ticket by night featuring signature cocktails. Our snug yet sexy rooms are modern and trendy and features all the bells and whistles needed to ensure the comfiest stay. Your cheeky bedroom, ranging from 18 m² - 23 m² (remember that saying about dynamite?) comes standard with the most comfortable king size beds and is the base from which you can explore our slick social spaces and beautiful Mother City This is Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, Cape Town's Hottest Place to Chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! By Marriott Cape Town South Africa
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Extreme Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing