We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - funky and modern. Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Ranked #82 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We stayed here for 5 days in August with 5 friends. WOW! The hotel is excellent, and here is why:

Location: 5mins drive from V&A waterfront, 5mins drive to Table Mountain. In the heart of the city.

Rooms: Modern, good storage, amazing views of table mountain. Big beds! In standard rooms, as previous reviews have mentioned, the shower cubicle is in the room separated by a shower curtain. Part of the hotels funkiness!!
However, we stayed in executive rooms, where the shower is in the bathroom, as we were a male & female group of friends and just wanted that extra bit of privacy!

Staff:
Friendly and always there to answer questions, offer advice, sort out a taxi etc.

The hotel is themed in a funky, but not tacky way. You must go and try all of the bar toilets and all of the lifts!! Fire and ice theme runs thoughout the hotel. This theme makes the hotel truly unique.

Restaurant served excellent food for reasonable price. The pound goes a long way over in SA. Gym good size, pool - adequate - not huge but then again it is a city centre hotel! Room service always quick. Lovely cocktails, and milkshakes, at the bar. Undergrounf car parking available.

My final note - SA is a beautiful country, cape town a vibrant city, and fire and ice was the icing on our cake.
Im happy to answer any questions you may have on this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wickedfairy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

743 - 749 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2010

The design of this hotel is great - very funky, and very fun. The bar downstairs does amazing milkshakes, which are perfect in the heat, and there's a small pool upstairs. The location is good, and I would have rated this hotel as very good if it hadn't been for the showers... which are in the middle of the room in the standard rooms. This is a feature the hotel is proud of, but if you are travelling with a colleague (as I was) it's not so good. We're happy to share a twin room, but the 'in-suite' shower was a bit much. The staff were great about sorting this out for us, but it's worth knowing about this in advance if you're travelling with a friend or a colleague.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiee_overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

My husband and I were in Cape Town last December. We booked our room at Fire and Ice online, and had no problems with that what so ever. The room was great! Super funky!!! We loved the theme of the hotel. And to however goes there, you have to check out the lobby bathrooms! So cool!
Great hotel, very clean, friendly staff, good food.
I recommend this hotel mainly to adventurous couples.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MohdAndSalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I have to say, this was an amazing surprise. The whole layout is trendy and fun and relaxed enough that you can tell the hotel doesn't take itself too seriously with a fancy image. The room was very comfortable and even random details like the soap and shampoo they provide was memorable (some brand called Eartherapy). Location is as good as you'll get for the price and walkable to Long Street area and a short cab to V&A Waterfront which the very friendly staff will arrange very easily. Would unquestionably stay here again. Oh...and free wifi which is alone a winner for me!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asaramis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We found the hotel via TripAdivisor. The hotel photos attracted my attention. It looked fashionable and modern. The location was greate too.
The service was the best. Everyone was so nice and friendly, furthermore really helpful in all means.
Room was a bit tiny though view of table mountain was fabulous.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yan_duran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

This is a unique hotel. It has a very different concept upon decoration. The hotel atmosphere is very nice and the staff is really friendly. Very good breakfast and a must-visit bar.

Restrooms and smoking lounge have a very nice sense of humor. Some rooms are not very comfortable if we consider the small space for 2 people and luggage. Some rooms have transparent showers and it will shock those who prefer a traditional standard.

Stylish sandwiches are part of the menu at the bar and restaurant. Located relatively close to the hot spot in town (Long Street), it is a very good alternative for party people.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRLUCAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Stayed here for the World Cup and felt the staff provided hospitable service, even having a sign welcoming us! From the dracula-like hallways to the creative elevators, we really enjoyed staying in this hotel. We especially enjoyed watching the football games on the bar hallway tv's that looked homey.

The room was of average size but the room was squeaky clean and tidy. Having the shower in the same room as the bedroom seemed odd but there was a curtain that can serve as a divider. Room service menu is quite extensive, especially the milkshake selection. Ferrero Rocher milkshake one was yummy.

The gym equipment is all new with 2 flat screen TVs and is open 24 hours. A big plus for me. Only downside is the pool is not heated, which means it will be freezing during the winter.

Free wireless internet but you have to get a voucher from reception. There are 3 computers in the business center that is available 24 hours! Free!

We got a superior room overlooking the Table Mountain area. The hotel is one block off the main street so it is quiet in the evening.

The hotel is in Tamboerskloof area and is a 5 minute walk to Long Street and roughly a 20-25 minute walk to Greenpoint stadium. I'd come back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joey0530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 110 in Cape Town Central
640 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#70 of 110 in Cape Town Central
349 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 110 in Cape Town Central
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 110 in Cape Town Central
371 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town

Address: New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8018, South Africa (Formerly Extreme Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#63 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £86 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you step into the lobby of this edgy Tamboerskloof, Cape Town hotel, you will be greeted by the welcoming sounds of deep house lounge beats and immersed into a world of best GUEST service known to mankind. Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town is ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town and a mere 5 minutes from the V&A Waterfront. Set within walking distance of tourist attractions such as the hip night life of Long Street as well as 15 minutes from Cape Town's famous beaches, Camps Bay and Clifton. Mingle with fellow GUESTS and locals at the renowned Communal Table, or enjoy our crisp glass bar, a coffee brewery by day and party ticket by night featuring signature cocktails. Our snug yet sexy rooms are modern and trendy and features all the bells and whistles needed to ensure the comfiest stay. Your cheeky bedroom, ranging from 18 m² - 23 m² (remember that saying about dynamite?) comes standard with the most comfortable king size beds and is the base from which you can explore our slick social spaces and beautiful Mother City This is Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, Cape Town's Hottest Place to Chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! By Marriott Cape Town South Africa
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Extreme Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing