We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant room, fab location and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Ranked #78 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Brilliant room, fab location and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

Hotel has a great funky look, in a great location in New Church Street, and is literally a stone throw away (less than 5 mins walk if that) to Long Street & Kloof Street, which is filled with restaurants and bars.

Had a superior room on the third floor, bed was massively comfy and the room was quite spacious. Yes we had a insuite shower but it was massive and great - did not look out of place. Swimming pool area nice – small but sufficient. Funnily enough for me one of the best things about the room was it had the biggest safe ever! Fitted my ample 15.4" laptop which isn't normal and still fitted everything else of value - quite a big deal for me. Never had breakfast as it was about 1250 ZAR per person - For that 2 people could eat at Crust round the corner for about 1100 ZAR for 2...or Depasco Bakery on the corner of Butien and Long Street. Also Lolas ,on Long Street was good. Only have breakfast in the hotel if its included in your rate. All the places mentioned are again less than 5 mins walk away. The hotel also has free internet, which are accessed via vouchers. They normally give you 2-3 to start off with and you just ask for more at no extra charge, its not a problem. The staff are also fantastic and receptionists Lyndsay and Jane were extremely helpful

FYI Taxi costs - 250 ZAR (one way) from Airport or less if you use Rikkis taxis. 40-50 ZAR incl tip to Waterfront. 2-3 blocks up Kloof Street would cost about 20ZAR in taxi. I would recommend taxis after 9-10pm but otherwise it was pretty safe around the hotel.

PS the lifts are interesting - in a good way and don't forget to have a milkshake,

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumotartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 13 July 2015
Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    358
    167
    93
    68
See reviews for
98
354
81
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

We stayed here for 5 days in August with 5 friends. WOW! The hotel is excellent, and here is why:

Location: 5mins drive from V&A waterfront, 5mins drive to Table Mountain. In the heart of the city.

Rooms: Modern, good storage, amazing views of table mountain. Big beds! In standard rooms, as previous reviews have mentioned, the shower cubicle is in the room separated by a shower curtain. Part of the hotels funkiness!!
However, we stayed in executive rooms, where the shower is in the bathroom, as we were a male & female group of friends and just wanted that extra bit of privacy!

Staff:
Friendly and always there to answer questions, offer advice, sort out a taxi etc.

The hotel is themed in a funky, but not tacky way. You must go and try all of the bar toilets and all of the lifts!! Fire and ice theme runs thoughout the hotel. This theme makes the hotel truly unique.

Restaurant served excellent food for reasonable price. The pound goes a long way over in SA. Gym good size, pool - adequate - not huge but then again it is a city centre hotel! Room service always quick. Lovely cocktails, and milkshakes, at the bar. Undergrounf car parking available.

My final note - SA is a beautiful country, cape town a vibrant city, and fire and ice was the icing on our cake.
Im happy to answer any questions you may have on this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wickedfairy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 13 July 2015
Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

The design of this hotel is great - very funky, and very fun. The bar downstairs does amazing milkshakes, which are perfect in the heat, and there's a small pool upstairs. The location is good, and I would have rated this hotel as very good if it hadn't been for the showers... which are in the middle of the room in the standard rooms. This is a feature the hotel is proud of, but if you are travelling with a colleague (as I was) it's not so good. We're happy to share a twin room, but the 'in-suite' shower was a bit much. The staff were great about sorting this out for us, but it's worth knowing about this in advance if you're travelling with a friend or a colleague.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiee_overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 13 July 2015
Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

My husband and I were in Cape Town last December. We booked our room at Fire and Ice online, and had no problems with that what so ever. The room was great! Super funky!!! We loved the theme of the hotel. And to however goes there, you have to check out the lobby bathrooms! So cool!
Great hotel, very clean, friendly staff, good food.
I recommend this hotel mainly to adventurous couples.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MohdAndSalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 13 July 2015
Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

I have to say, this was an amazing surprise. The whole layout is trendy and fun and relaxed enough that you can tell the hotel doesn't take itself too seriously with a fancy image. The room was very comfortable and even random details like the soap and shampoo they provide was memorable (some brand called Eartherapy). Location is as good as you'll get for the price and walkable to Long Street area and a short cab to V&A Waterfront which the very friendly staff will arrange very easily. Would unquestionably stay here again. Oh...and free wifi which is alone a winner for me!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asaramis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 13 July 2015
Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

We found the hotel via TripAdivisor. The hotel photos attracted my attention. It looked fashionable and modern. The location was greate too.
The service was the best. Everyone was so nice and friendly, furthermore really helpful in all means.
Room was a bit tiny though view of table mountain was fabulous.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yan_duran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 13 July 2015
Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

This is a unique hotel. It has a very different concept upon decoration. The hotel atmosphere is very nice and the staff is really friendly. Very good breakfast and a must-visit bar.

Restrooms and smoking lounge have a very nice sense of humor. Some rooms are not very comfortable if we consider the small space for 2 people and luggage. Some rooms have transparent showers and it will shock those who prefer a traditional standard.

Stylish sandwiches are part of the menu at the bar and restaurant. Located relatively close to the hot spot in town (Long Street), it is a very good alternative for party people.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRLUCAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneman B, Deputy General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town, responded to this review, 13 July 2015
Thank you for your feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Regards,

Rekha Sohun
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#55 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.2 mi away
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Town Hollow
Cape Town Hollow
#42 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town

Property: Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Address: New Church Street, Cape Town Central 8018, South Africa (Formerly Extreme Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#62 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you step into the lobby of this edgy Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Hotel, you will be greeted by the welcoming sounds of deep house lounge beats and immersed into a world of best GUEST service known to mankind. This ultra-chic hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town and is a mere 5 minutes from the V&A Waterfront. Set within walking distance of tourist attractions such as the hip night life of Long Street as well as 15 minutes from Cape Town's famous beaches, Camps Bay and Clifton. Mingle with fellow GUESTS and locals at the renowned Communal Table, or enjoy our crisp glass bar, a coffee brewery by day and party ticket by night featuring signature milkshakes and cocktails. Our snug yet sexy rooms are modern and trendy and features all the bells and whistles needed to ensure the comfiest stay. Your cheeky bedroom, ranging from 18 m² - 23 m² (remember that saying about dynamite?) comes standard with the most comfortable king size beds and is the base from which you can explore our slick social spaces and beautiful Mother City This is Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town, Cape Town's Hottest Place to Chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! By Marriott Cape Town South Africa
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Extreme Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing