We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place and a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zebra Crossing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zebra Crossing
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely place and a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Great place, feels safe and secure. Good location too. About a 5 minute walk too long street. Not noisy at night either so you get a good night sleep. Would definitely come back here when I come through Cape Town on my own again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbrown_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    34
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
4
12
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I came here many times, it is a well located, 5 walking minutes to long street and it is a cheap place. The staff is really friendly and helpfull. They will help to you organise your week end and to make it a success. It is the most famous in CT but you are well welcomed compared to the other ones.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I basically signed up for TripAdvisor just to review Zebra Crossing after I stayed there. That should tell you all you need to know about how much I enjoyed my stay here. Susan, and everyone of the workers there, are incredibly polite, helpful, and inviting. They'll help direct you with where you need to go, book whatever you need, and make sure you're taken care of. Highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean and quiet. Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

This place is phenomenal. DO NOT miss it!! They have different options for different budgets, and the self catering option is a great way to save. Their communal kitchen is well equipped and a super place to meet the incredible people Zebra Crossing attracts. I have cherished friends from all over the world from various stays here! Helpful, friendly, and interesting staff, too. The lemon trees in front yard and cozy library are icing on the cake...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qtownfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

The place is cool. With a mix of being outdoors with how the place was designed and planned, and with the relaxing living room... It made my stay very comfortable. i loved how the dining area gave me a feeling of eating al fresco minus being by the streets. The staff was very friendly. Backpackers would truly love the place!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qtyAbigail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Our family of 7 was made to feel at home in great hostel where friendly staff create an excellent atmosphere. Quality of the rooms was very good, bathrooms were clean and the cofffee house is a warm, relaxing & friendly place to start the day. The kids loved it , we felt at home !

Very well located, just a two-minutes walk from Long Street, where you can safely find restaurants, even lat eat night. Will go back !!

Agnès & Géraud & kids

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We only planned to stay here for a couple of days and ended up staying for 7, which sort of says it all. Fantastic location as far as we were concerned, and some of the most helpful staff (thank you Susan and Stacey) that we encountered. The place has a nice, relaxed feel to it and runs along very pleasantly. Not a party place, but friendly and easygoing. Great if you're a little bit older perhaps...and like being sociable over a couple of beers without needing to get totally smashed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderstevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Cape Town Backpackers
Cape Town Backpackers
#27 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Big Blue Backpackers
#56 of 125 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Forty8 Backpackers Hotel
#53 of 125 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A Sunflower Stop
#7 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#8 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Never at Home Cape Town
#9 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zebra Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zebra Crossing

Property: Zebra Crossing
Address: 82 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Zebra Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zebra Crossing Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing