We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT stay at this hostel, PLEASE!”
Review of Zebra Crossing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zebra Crossing
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Do NOT stay at this hostel, PLEASE!”
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I booked for two nights with the Zebra Crossing Hostel because it had a somewhat high rating of 83%. I found everything at the hostel to be in good order including the cozy living room, the kitchen, a nice little café, as well as the toilets and showers.
I booked a single room which was quite simple and rather small but certainly adequate for my needs: a double bed, a night table with a reading light and a few hooks for my clothes. What I found to be unacceptable and, in reality, quite awful was the filthy bedding including dirty, used sheets and pillowcases plus a duvet with something liked dried saliva melted into it. The sheets and duvet were smelly from a physically standpoint and uncomfortable from a psychological perspective. Still, I coped with the situation and slept well in the bed.
I am a well-traveled person and I am not particularly fanatical in cleanliness, but I do NOT enjoy sleeping in a filthy bed.
The hostel staff was helpful and very friendly, but honestly I would not stay at this hostel again. Instead, I might try The Backpacker Hostel which located just one block up the street from Zebra Crossing. At least from the outside, The Backpacker looked quite respectable.

Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyclopath43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    34
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
4
12
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

The Zebra has a good location, and the dorm is okay. Free wi-fi which makes up for a lot. The kitchen area is gross however, and the guests there for our 2 day stay were more interested in hanging out at the hostel than exploring the city. There is LOTS of smoking, and although they don't allow it inside the smoke still pervades the entire indoor space. There are also security issues that the staff is ill equipped to deal with. There is NO security guard or night porter it seems, and the last night we were there some guys brought 2 drunk ladies "home" with them who were not staying in the hostel. The ladies wouldn't leave, and caused a huge scene, yelling and screaming and waking the whole place up, and the staff of the hostel did absolutely nothing. Kind of scary and some of the other men staying there addressed the issue. So long story short, stay at the Africa Backpack next door, or the Ashanti (both locations), both are a better value and better run.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flashpacker07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

I stayed there for a week in a spacious twin room. The hostel was clean, very hospitable and apart for the road noise quite. I found it to be like a home from home and would go back next time I am in Cape Town. The restaurants in Kloof Street are within 5 minutes walking distance and the center of the city is just 25 minutes by foot.
A huge plus was the great view of Table Mountain from my rooms balcony each morning.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2009

I stayed there for 6 nights in a spacious double room with my toddler son. I loved the courtyard where it was pleasant to sit and chat with other travelers. The staff were really friendly. I got a good value transfer to and from the airport. The cafe was popular and I liked using the Internet in there. There were many steps to get my child's buggy up and down. I found the kitchen useful and the lounge comfortable. I met a couple with a young baby so it is so family and child friendly. It attracts pleasant people from different countries and all seem to get on well. A few people are staying long term which shows how lovely a place it is. There is some noise of traffic passing however it is peaceful compared to Long Street. It is comfortable walking distance to the center and the train station. The City Sightseeing Bus can be picked up nearby.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — traffic noise
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank maximax8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2008

Zebra crossing is in a good location in Cape Town, you can walk to many restaurants and activities. I stayed in a dorm room which was clean and very nice. The front desk was helpful when booking tours and letting us know that our cage diving tour is cancelled all week cause of bad weather. The washrooms were clean and kept nicely. I would definitely return to this hostel if i was back in Cape Town. I never experienced any theft while i was there and i did not hear about any theft from other travellers that were staying there as well. The gates were always closed and locked. It was a year ago so i do not know how it might have changed.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Devilsteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2008

I really liked this hostel, the only downside is that it's a bit of a trek from the waterfront, so if you're a lone traveller and have no transport it can be a bit of a pain.

Didn't have any security issues.

Bar and internet access both available.

Rooms and kitchen clean.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Distance from Waterfront
  • Stayed January 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank burgerdenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEI
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2007

Zebra Crossing would be a very nice hostel if they would address their very significant security issues. In the four days I stayed there I found the front gate open four different times, someone had a cell phone stolen from their locked private room and two cars were broken into in their parking lot (on two separate occasions). With such systemic security issues, I cannot recommend that people stay there. It's a real shame too, the accommodations themselves are great.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank ubergeek101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Long Street Backpackers
#35 of 127 in Cape Town Central
142 reviews
City Bowl
Cape Town Backpackers
Cape Town Backpackers
#31 of 127 in Cape Town Central
244 reviews
A Sunflower Stop
#8 of 127 in Cape Town Central
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#7 of 127 in Cape Town Central
512 reviews
Big Blue Backpackers
#49 of 127 in Cape Town Central
138 reviews
Never at Home Cape Town
#6 of 127 in Cape Town Central
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zebra Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zebra Crossing

Property: Zebra Crossing
Address: 82 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Zebra Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zebra Crossing Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing