We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal, but!!!”

Castle Street Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Street Backpackers
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Well, I stayed a few nights. First impression, the dirtiest place ever been to. Needs complete make over but so will the tariff. Staff polite. Can list a while lot of things that are bad, the silver lining is that the location is so ideal and central. Noise from Long Street and inside is not as bad as other hostels. For a R100p.p.p.n, can't actually complain.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1st_tyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012

I stayed here back in October and the staff were absolutely terrible. The reception area had no-one in it for most of the day, so if you wanted to ask any questions, like where are the towels etc, you had to wait a long time...on 2 days I could not find a single staff member, I came back every couple of hours and sat in the lounge room reading for 4 hours at one point, but there was no appearance of a receptionist. The pro's are that if you are after a dirt cheap single room, then this is it at around 220 rand per night for a double sized bed and shower in the same room, right in the middle of the city center, then this place is great. Some of the floor boards upstairs look like they are ready to collapse...I walked on one and the whole piece of timber gave way. As for the dorms, they are 3 beds to a bunk and are very old and squeeky...the bed kind of just collapses, under you...I'm guessing the mattresses are at least 10 years old. My back was sore for days after sleeping here. As for the room, I do not think it had been vacuumed in a long time. The hostel is also very loud at night because it is right on Long Street. Due to the lack of popularity of this hostel, I can say that it had quite a relaxed feel about it...the lounge room was comfortable and often only had one person (if any) in it...I found it nice to relax and read here. As for leaving your luggage...there is no security...if you leave your bags there for the day...you just leave them in the lounge room, or next to what they call the bar area...not at all secure. If you just want dirt cheap place for the night, in th heart of town, then book...if you care about security, staff, cleanliness and comfort then I would not recommend it.

Room Tip: It doesn't cost anything to take a look...so I'd recommend you check it out yourself. The ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Castle Street backpackers were clean, staff friendly, to a point!
It’s a very noisy place as all window view on to Long St, the night life of the capital, there are fans but you still need the window open to try and stay cool.
They boast CCTV cameras everywhere, however they don’t tell you it not recorded!
All the staff leave at 17:00 hrs and return at 09:00 hrs, there is a door entry system, which all the local shop owners have the code to as they use the toilets in the backpackers.
When I had me camera stolen; I was told even if they had recorded the event on the CCTV it would not be admissible in court, as “All black people look the same on black and white recording”.
The Castle St. Backpackers is owned and run by the same people who run The Two Oceans Backpackers on Long St. I could not get the owner/manager to speak to me.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1-RestlessSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I stayed in this hostel over the busy christmas period and was our last choice! on arrival we had to pay the balance i cant quite remember the total, but they double charged us, and as i was travelling for a further few months i found it disgusting they wouldnt give us back our money as we would need it further along our trip..

we all got bitten to death by bed bugs, it was the most horrible experience. room was messy, toilets disgusting and the shower didnt work properly.

definately a waste of money and would never stay here again! i wouldnt recommend it at all, even the staff are miserable and unhelpful.

in order to get the money back we had to email the boss several times to which he only answered once saying he would give us the money back, nothing was done and we were later ignored. so i stopped pestering!

to end my rant ill give you one positive, the location was great! right on top of long street the best road in capetown....amazing!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lozbird123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I was horrified to be told the night before arrival that they had double booked our room (having booked three months prior) but thankfully they had a 'cancellation' after multiple attempts via email and phone to clear up the situation.

The double room was £25 per night, which considering it's proximity to the backpacker nightlife of Long Street seemed reasonable for south africa. It's also within a short walk of the train station. The room had fresh bedding but hadn't been properly cleaned in a while and the shared bathroom and toilets were pretty grim. The hostel does have a decent common room and balcony and the code activated security door also reassured us. Staff were generally absent during our 4 nights but did let us use the phone to book activities when around and there is also a shared computer.

As long as you don't expect too much it's quite a convenient base when exploring cape town and seemed reasonably priced to us considering it was New Years Eve when we stayed.
Whilst the hostel is down the quieter end of Long Street it's still very noisy and for some reason we had to endure a bloke insistently shouting "oi!" all night long (earplugs advisable!).

www.castlestreet.co.za

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ben f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

I stayed here during the world cup for several days and got eaten alive by bed bugs!!! Do not stay here...much better and cleaner options in Cape Town!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James33UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

I've traveled quite a bit to various countries and lived in hostels and I can safely say Castle Street Backpackers was the worst stay ever. Its the ugliest, most tiny, unclean and claustrophobic room one could stay in. As soon as we saw the room we knew our experience in Cape town was ruined and unfortunately there were no other rooms available as it was the World Cup time. So we just sucked it up and came to the room late in the night to sleep. So please save yourself the misery of a bad stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lajja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,375 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#10 of 130 in Cape Town Central
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,351 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
A Sunflower Stop
#9 of 130 in Cape Town Central
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Street Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Street Backpackers

Address: 57 Castle Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £9 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Castle Street Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Street Backpackers Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing