We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money - super location”
Review of House on the Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
House on the Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value for money - super location”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This accomodation really does give good value for money. We stayed in the house with the shared kitchen and it did the job well for our 3 night experience of Cape Town. Our room (although not ready on arrival) was cleaned each day and we were provided with a travel cot for our toddler. There is a nice patio at the back and comfortable living space. Kitchen was adequate and other guests never seemed to use it for cooking like we did, so there was never a queue for facilities. It is away from the main road but convenient for getting to all the main attractions. The parking is a big bonus. We felt very safe here.

Room Tip: Room 6 is closest to the kitchen and living space with a window facing the road, it is ideal if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mowzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    45
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
45
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I recently stayed for a week at House on the Hill during my visit to Cape Town. It was a great location near the waterfront, and the house is quite historic and has a lot of charm. The bedrooms are very clean and the staff is really accomodating, and the prices are reasonable--- what more could you want? The staff even went out of their way to help me find an eye doctor. I highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone who wants a clean quiet place to stay located in a convenient area of CT.

Room Tip: The guesthouse I chose had a kitchen for those who wished to make their own meals. All rooms come w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tpeace01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Area is quite nice - up and coming with a super deli on the main street nearby with nice places for breakfast and a coffee (Miss K is in lonely planet book and worth a breakfast visit).
Nearby restaurants good and access to Waterfront etc is easy.

Don't expect friendly or good service at all. Our room was average and could have done with a thorough clean. 'En suite' is stretching it a little, yes there is a shower and toilet but the sliding door with 2 inch gap means no real privacy which was all a bit awkward. Having been on safari, fortunately we had bug killer with us to kill the cockroachs on day one and all the mossies each night - which to be fair to House on the Hill was as much to do with the windows having to be left open during the day (burglar bars meant this was ok to do) more than anything - given the heat.

Got home at 11pm on our final night to find our double bed had been changed for 2 single beds which was disconcerting and worried us at first because all our things and room had been moved around. No mention of this in advance or even in the morning. When I casually alluded to the change on check out I was curtly told that they were changing the room because they had new mattresses or something and that 'at least we had a new mattress'. Apparently someone in another room needed the double, it was all a bit confusing and frankly should have been of no concern to us given that we had booked a double room but given it was our last night I didn't have the will to respond. The lady knew this was wrong and was defensive about it but not so much as an apology which is a signpost to the general service/attitude we received on check in from the guy at reception. Was pleased it was our last night as would have immediately checked out at this stage. Felt more like house guests of people who weren't particularly happy to have us there. Cost wise this place is ok and the area is fine from a safety point of view so if you are on a budget and manage your own expectations then it is an option. Personally I'd spend the extra couple of hundred rand next time and look elsewhere.

We found our room hot and noisy so didn't sleep well during the 3 nights and the bed change on the final night was indicative of the general attitude / service really. Shame as the rest of our trip included some really great places to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OJWTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia B, Owner at House on the Hill, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hi there
thanks for taking the time to write a response

I am terribly sorry about this incident, but hand on heart, we got brand new mattresses and beds that day. We would have loved to inform you before, but they phoned us during the day to tell us that they were on their way... and as they did take the old beds and mattresses with them, we had no choice! We decided to change this room from a double bed to a twin bed to have more sleeping space. I am sorry that you couldn't enjoy that last night on the new beds with much more space!

if I can assure you one thing, we don't have cockroaches in the house. they might manage to get in a few inches, but drop dead immediately as we have pest control in on a regular basis.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietarsaari, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights, great place at a good, calm location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnkiUppgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
281 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

House on the Hill was a perfect accommodation for my friend and I while we were in Cape Town for the weekend. Our double room was spacious, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was plentiful, with lots of fresh fruit, breads, cheeses, meats, juice, coffee and tea. The staff was helpful and friendly.
The location was nice, as it was away from busy streets-- it's not right in the center of it all, but it's a short walk to restaurants and the waterfront, and a cab only costs about 4 euros.
Though it was hot during the day, it cooled off at night, and rooms are supplied with a fan.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mollyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We arrived late in the evening in Jan. 2012, and because we had to deal with missing luggage with SA agent we got out of the gate almost midnight there. The pickup the hotel arranged was there and got us in the hotel smoothly. Claudia was there waiting for us and when she knew we did not have our luggage she brought soap and shampoo! The hotel was very clean and quiet since it's not facing the busy Main St... Although it was summer the evenings were cool and we needed to cover ourselves. Deon and Claudia were so helpful for tracking our luggage while we were out site seeing that we got them on the 2nd day. They also helped us to book a Kruger Park Safari trip, and gave us much useful information. There was a kitchen available you could make tea or a bowl of soup or cook up something simple which was working well for us. In about 100 feet away you can find good restaurants, shops and a mini-supermarket. Walking to VA Water front is about 15min where you can do and see lots of things.
We only have hoped we could have 2 more days (we stayed 3 days) to see more. Cape Town is gorgeous much like Rio.

Room Tip: Communicate through emails with them if you have any questions. They reply back quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AsianLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

my partner and i stayed for two nights and absolutely loved the place..it was clean bright and big...
the owners were very friendly and helpfull and we did not have to walk too far for anything..
we will definitely be back next year,,

thank you so much guys..
colleen davison

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank colleen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#2 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Backpackers in Green Point
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Never at Home Cape Town
Never at Home Cape Town
#9 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oxford House
Oxford House
#10 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avatara Guest House
Avatara Guest House
#72 of 155 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingslyn Guesthouse
Kingslyn Guesthouse
#26 of 155 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House on the Hill

Property: House on the Hill
Address: 5 Norman Rd | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your House on the Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House On The Hill Hotel Cape Town Central
House On The Hill Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing