We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location i Cape Town”
Review of House on the Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
House on the Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location i Cape Town”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

B&B and self catering guesthouse.
We stayed in the self ctering part. Lovely decorated rooms in African design. Entry to a small courtyard with tables and a braai (barbeque). Shared kitchen (for a total of 4 rooms).
Lovely experience with a good location near the Waterfront, yet in a quiet culde-sac. Could use a little more attention (shower door was partly missing, wobbly chairs - but they added to the laid back feeling).
We would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are in hte self catering part try to get a room with a door leading to the court yard (like r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin-Oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    45
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
45
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The hostel is at walking distance from the world cup stadium and the waterfront. Very safe and quiet! We had a private room, and it was perfect. The room is clean and nicely furnished, inside you have a tv, hair dryer and coffee/tea maker. The online drawback is the bathroom: the sliding door does not close completely and the privacy is somewhat compromised. No problem if you are travelling with friends/intimate people. Breakfast was included in the price: coffee/fruit/croissants/bread/cheese/marmalade. The owners made our stay comfortable and they adviced us on restaurants/things to do. Great value! I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pastraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

If you want to combine quality, location, and price, this is the best place we have found. It isnt far from the Waterfront - walkable if ambitious but a 2 min drive. The stadium is right there, as are a bunch of shops and some places to eat. The road is close to main drives. We have not stayed in the hostel-like rooms but instead rent the apartment affiliated with this place just up the street. Two large beds, tv, kitchen, washing machine. It is a solid place when visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JutWags7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed in room 1 for 6 nights in the bed and breakfast side. This room is downstairs with a common wall with the reception area. It was a very quiet and comfortable room with great free wifi reception. It can get stuffy so use the fan at night. If you leave the French doors open during the night you will wake up to to a cigarette smell from the neighbor smoking at 6 am so keep the door closed. The breakfast is perfect and the service is great! Lots of food, breads, meats, cheese, granola, yogurt, milk and fruit. We absolutely loved this place! The owner arranged for us to be picked up at the airport at 10 pm and for a rental car company to get us the next day as we wanted a car. I loved being able to walk to the V & A Waterfront. This was a perfect place to stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suncube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greifensee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed roughly a week in Cape Town. The B&B is very well-situated close to the Waterfront, Long Street and many other interesting locations. Security in that area is vey good, so if you want to walk a little, that is no problem at all. The staff is very friendly and helpful with booking some tours etc. plus with giving recommendations what to do, where to go etc. There are different types of rooms available, so when you book a room it might help if you check what type of room you are about to book. The booking site we used had a very accurate description of the size of the room, facilities provided etc. Cleanliness, quality of the bed(s) was really excellent. It was really an very good choice we made when opting for "House on the Hill"!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whatever007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Had a great four night stay here. Great Location. Nice Rooms. Friendly and helpful owner. Bed was comfortable, ensuite bathroom was nice. Exactly what you'd expect and want a small guesthouse in Cape Town to be. I'd come back the next time I am in town.

Room Tip: Room 7 or 8 :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amitai_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soest, Utrecht, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This year I visited House on the Hill for the third time. It is absolutely an accomodation which I highly recommend to people who want to visit Cape Town. They offer different accomodations such as rooms, guest house and an appartment. Cludi an Deon, the people who run house on the Hill are really nice people. No matter what you want to know or want to be arranged, they wil do. The quality of the accomodations is very good relative to the price you pay for it. House on the Hill is situated in a very nice neighbourhood, so there is absolutely no nuisance. From House on the Hill it is only a 15 minute walk to the famous and popular V&A Waterfront and even the city center is on walking distance (for young people). But taxi's are very cheap, so you can also choose for the easy way :-). And lost but not least, the famous and must visit italian deli Giovannis, Irish pub The Slug and Lettuce and some nice restaurants are literally around the corner. So if you want to go to Cape Town and stay at a good place, just book House on the Hill!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arjan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
639 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Backpackers in Green Point
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
489 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avatara Guest House
Avatara Guest House
#71 of 155 in Cape Town Central
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Altona Lodge
Altona Lodge
#2 of 125 in Cape Town Central
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
A Sunflower Stop
A Sunflower Stop
#7 of 125 in Cape Town Central
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Never at Home Cape Town
Never at Home Cape Town
#6 of 125 in Cape Town Central
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House on the Hill

Property: House on the Hill
Address: 5 Norman Rd | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your House on the Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House On The Hill Hotel Cape Town Central
House On The Hill Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing